网络犯罪分子利用中间人攻击窃取登录信息

网络安全是当今讨论最多的话题之一,难怪鉴于网上可用的敏感数据量每天都在增加,就像寻求获取它的黑客数量一样。然而,尽管越来越多的用户意识到如何保护他们的帐户,我们中的一些人仍然会遇到身份盗用,这可能是使用所谓的中间人攻击进行的。在这篇博客文章中,我们将解释如何在没有受害者意识到的情况下使用这种劫持技术来破解密码或窃取其他数据,以及如果您不想成为Man-in-the的受害者该怎么办 - 中间攻击

中间人攻击如何运作?

顾名思义,在这些攻击中,黑客成为两个通信用户或设备中间的人。一些IT专家称之为数字窃听 。在这些攻击期间,网络犯罪分子可以通过秘密查看用户设备发送到网站或服务器的数据来获取各种敏感信息,例如聊天消息或登录信息。信息仍然到达原始目的地,但攻击者可以复制它,甚至在交付之前对其进行更改。在许多情况下,它是不安全的互联网连接,例如为中间人攻击创造条件的公共Wi-Fi热点

什么是流行的中间人攻击技术?

IP欺骗

使用此方法时,黑客在攻击前获取某个合法主机的IP地址。稍后,应修改IP地址,使其看起来仍然值得信赖。伪造IP地址允许网络犯罪分子隐藏自己的身份并保持可靠的外观。此技术可与其他中间人攻击方法结合使用,以欺骗网站,劫持受害者的浏览器,甚至可以访问网络。

电子邮件劫持

当黑客攻击大型组织的电子邮件帐户时,例如银行或其他金融机构。在劫持目标帐户后,网络犯罪分子会观察受感染的电子邮件与其发送信息的客户之间的通信。它不仅可以更容易地找到完美的打击机会,而且还可以获得有关如何使骗局看起来更具说服力的知识。通常,攻击者会发送目标受害者电子邮件,其中包含伪造网页的链接并要求登录。因此,可能会发生Man在中间攻击中重置的假密码。

Cookie劫持

当您登录各种网站时,您的设备会在网站与自身之间建立连接。在此过程中,网页可能会要求放置能够使您的浏览体验更好的Cookie,例如带有位置或登录信息的Cookie。当然,获取包含用户登录数据的cookie会导致网络犯罪分子能够破解密码。攻击者可以通过几种方式获取此类cookie:通过劫持会话(网站与计算机之间的连接)或通过拦截通过网络传输的信息,从您的设备中窃取它们。

Wi-Fi窃听

在这种情况下,网络犯罪分子可能会建立一个与现有连接名称相似的公共Wi-Fi热点,希望有些用户不会注意到任何差异,而是连接到他们的热点。. 不幸的是,如果用户陷入陷阱,伪造的Wi-Fi连接背后的黑客可能会获得访问设备的权限并破解密码或获取用户在使用攻击者的热点时可能提交的任何其他敏感信息。

中间人攻击可以做些什么?

中间人攻击可以破解密码,因此许多此类攻击的受害者都会遭遇身份盗用。如您所见,通过获取用户的登录凭据,黑客可以使用被劫持的帐户来满足他们的需求。此外,获得对用户的电子邮件,社交媒体简档或任何其他帐户的访问可以允许攻击者也获得有价值的数据,例如,他的朋友,家人,客户等的联系信息。此外,中间人攻击的受害者可能发生的最糟糕的事情之一可能是失去业务或个人资金(例如,网络犯罪分子可能会发现一个机会诱骗用户在使用时不知不觉地向他们发送资金我们上面讨论的电子邮件劫持技术)。例如,最近有报道声称研究人员发现网络犯罪分子可能利用中间人攻击从一些用于存储加密货币的Ledger硬件钱包中窃取资金。

如何防止中间人攻击?

首先,计算机安全专家建议远离公共Wi-Fi连接,特别是如果您需要访问敏感帐户。当然,为了保护您的隐私,您可以使用VPN 。它不仅会隐藏您的位置,还会加密从您的设备传输到另一个网站或服务器的任何数据。另一个好主意是使用HTTPS而不是HTTP访问网站,因为后来的连接可能不安全,使用它们可能会导致攻击者破解密码。此外,我们还要强调,如果您不希望因中间人攻击中的虚拟密码重置,请注意要求提供登录信息的电子邮件是多么重要。这些事件也被称为网络钓鱼诈骗,如果您想了解更多关于他们,你应该继续阅读这里

总而言之,如果您有任何理由相信您的隐私可能存在危险,那么您应该做的就是永远不要失去警惕并始终采取额外的预防措施。

April 30, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 4是什么?

Cybercriminals Use Man-in-the-Middle Attacks to Steal Login Information

Cybersecurity is one of the most discussed topics nowadays, and it is no wonder given the amount of sensitive data available online is increasing every day just as well as the number of hackers who seek to obtain it. However, despite more and more users being aware of how to protect their accounts some of us still experience identity theft, which might be carried out using the so-called Man-in-the-Middle attacks. In this blog post, we will explain how this hijacking technique can be used to hack passwords or steal other data without the victim even realizing it, as well as what to do if you do not want to fall victim to a Man-in-the-Middle attack.

How Man-in-the-Middle attacks work?

As the name suggests, during these attacks, the hacker becomes the man in the middle of two communicating users or devices. Some IT specialists call it digital eavesdropping. During these attacks cybercriminals can obtain various sensitive information, for example, chat messages or login information, by secretly taking a peek at the data the user's device transmits to a website or a server. The information still reaches the original destination, but the attackers could make a copy of it or even alter it before it gets delivered. In many cases, it is unsecured Internet connections, such as public Wi-Fi hotspots that create conditions for Man-in-the-Middle attacks.

What are the popular Man-in-the-Middle attack techniques?

IP spoofing

While using this method, the hackers obtain an IP address of some legitimate host before the attack. Later on, the IP address should be modified so it would still look trustworthy. Forging IP addresses allows cybercriminals to hide their identity and maintain the appearance of being reliable. This technique can be combined with other Man-in-the-Middle attack methods to spoof a website, hijack the victim's browsers, or even gain access to a network.

Email Hijacking

It is when hackers target email accounts of huge organizations, such as banks or other financial institutions. After hijacking targeted accounts, cybercriminals observe communication between the compromised email and the customers it sends information to. It not only makes it easier to find the perfect opportunity to strike but also to gain knowledge on how to make the scam look more convincing. Usually, the attackers send targeted victims emails with links to fake web pages and ask to log in. As a result, a fake password reset by Man in the Middle attack may occur.

Cookie Hijacking

As you log into various websites, your device makes a connection between the sites and itself. During this process, the web page may ask to place cookies that would make your browsing experience better, for example, cookies with location or login information. Naturally, obtaining cookies containing the user's login data would result in cybercriminals being able to hack passwords. There are a few ways attackers could obtain such cookies: by stealing them from your device, by hijacking the session (connection between the website and the computer), or by intercepting the information transmitted via the network.

Wi-Fi Eavesdropping

In this scenario, the cybercriminals may set up a public Wi-Fi hotspot with a similar name to an already existing connection in the hope some users will not notice any difference and connect to their hotspot instead. Unfortunately, if the user falls into the trap, the hackers behind the forged Wi-Fi connection might gain access to the device and hack passwords or gain any other sensitive information the user might submit while using the attacker's hotspot.

What can be done with Man-in-the-Middle attacks?

Man-in-the-Middle attacks make it possible to hack passwords, so many victims of such attacks experience identity theft. As you see, by gaining user's login credentials, the hackers can use the hijacked account for their needs. Besides, gaining access to user's email, social media profile, or any other account may allow the attackers to obtain valuable data too, for example, contact information of his friends, family, clients, and so on. Moreover, probably one of the worst things that could happen to the victims of Man-in-the-Middle attacks is losing business or personal funds (e.g., the cybercriminals could find an opportunity to trick the user into unknowingly sending them money while using the email hijacking technique we discussed above). For example, recently there were reports claiming researchers discovered a weakness cybercriminals could exploit with Man-in-the-Middle attacks to steal money from some Ledger hardware wallets used for storing cryptocurrencies.

How to prevent Man-in-the-Middle attacks?

First of all, computer security specialists advise staying away from public Wi-Fi connections, especially if you need to access sensitive accounts. Of course, to protect your privacy, you could use a VPN. It would not only hide your location but also encrypt any data traveling from your device to another website or a server. Another good idea is to visit sites using HTTPS instead of HTTP as the later connections might be not secure and using them could result in letting attackers hack passwords. Also, we would like to stress how vital it is to watch out for emails asking to provide login information if you do not want to fall for fictitious password reset by Man in the Middle attack. These incidents are also called phishing scams and if you wish to learn more about them, you should continue reading here.

To conclude, what you should do is never lose your guard and always take extra precautions if you have even the slightest reason to believe your privacy could be in danger.

August 23, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 2 ?