从密码切换到生物识别后,您的所有安全问题都会消失吗?不,他们不会

Biometrics Won't Solve All Our Security Problems

2004年,差不多15年前,IBM推出了ThinkPad T42--这是科技巨头首款内置指纹识别器的笔记本电脑。蓝色巨人官员表示他们相信,他们的生物识别系统将“为电脑制造商设定一个新标准”。可以肯定地说事情并没有那么顺利。

如果我们必须挑选出一种在生物识别认证方面引发了一场革命的设备,它必须是在T42之后九年出现的iPhone 5S。尽管如此,革命现在已成为一个事实,你很难找到许多愿意对此提出质疑的人。然而,存在一些争论,它围绕生物识别身份验证是否有助于使互联网成为一个更安全的地方,或者它是否只是一个带来更多便利的功能。

额外的安全性,更多的便利性,还是两者的结合?

无可否认,在生物识别技术的帮助下解锁设备或登录帐户更容易。输入复杂密码的传统替代方案可能有点噩梦,特别是在移动设备上。相比之下,现代指纹识别器和面部识别设备快速,可靠且易于使用 - 这是互联网用户追求的三个特征。

毫无疑问,许多人也会看到安全方面的好处。每年,信息安全公司都会发布最广泛使用的密码列表 ,而且每年,我们都会看到相同的糟糕条目,如“123456”和“密码”。相比之下,您的指纹和视网膜扫描以及您的面部特征对您来说是独一无二的,这意味着在某种意义上,生物识别技术可以让您使用真正独特且复杂的密码保护您的数据,而无需强制您创建或记住它们。

生物识别数据比密码更具优势。使用被盗密码很容易。它只涉及在正确的字段中复制粘贴或使用自动化工具为您执行此操作。另一方面,准确地复制人体的一部分有点复杂,特别是如果你想一次攻击很多人。

总而言之,只要它正确实施,对于大多数普通用户来说,生物识别身份验证确实带来了许多安全优势。但是,生物识别数据存在一个缺陷,而且它是一个很大的缺陷 - 它不可替代。

生物识别技术的大问题

如果您将其中一个密码泄露,将其换成新密码通常是一个相当简单的过程。但是,如果您的独特指纹数据被盗,您不能只是将拇指放下并在其位置放置一个新指纹。您的视网膜,面部和身体的任何其他可用于身份验证的部分也是如此。

自从曾经连接到PC和笔记本电脑的笨重,昂贵的指纹读取器以来,支持生物识别身份验证的技术已经走过了漫长的道路,并且它仍然在我们说话时移动。同样,犯罪分子不断改进他们用来窃取和滥用生物识别数据的技术。没有以如此快的速度发展的一件事是人体,这就是为什么虽然它会提高许多用户的安全性,但生物识别技术并不能解决我们所有的问题。

July 16, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 9是什么?

Will All of Your Security Woes Disappear After Switching from Passwords to Biometrics? No, They Won't

Biometrics Won't Solve All Our Security Problems

In 2004, almost exactly 15 years ago, IBM launched the ThinkPad T42 – the tech giant's first laptop with a built-in fingerprint reader. Big Blue officials expressed their confidence that their biometric system will 'set a new standard for computer makers to follow'. It's safe to say that things didn't quite work out that way.

If we have to single out a device that has sparked something of a revolution when it comes to biometric authentication, it has to be the iPhone 5S which came out some nine years after the T42. Nevertheless, the revolution is now a fact, and you'll be hard-pressed to find many people willing to dispute this. There is some debate, however, and it revolves around whether biometric authentication helps make the internet a safer place or whether it's just a feature that brings more convenience.

Additional security, more convenience, or a combination of the two?

There's no denying that unlocking a device or logging into an account with the help of biometrics is easier. The traditional alternative, entering a complex password, could be a bit of a nightmare, especially on mobile devices. By contrast, modern fingerprint readers and facial recognition devices are fast, reliable, and easy-to-use – the three characteristics that internet users are after.

Many people will undoubtedly see the security benefits as well. Every year, infosec companies publish lists of the most widely used passwords, and every year, we see the same woeful entries like "123456" and "password" leading the pack. By contrast, your fingerprint and retina scans and your facial features are unique to you which means that in a sense, biometrics lets you protect your data with truly unique and complex passwords without forcing you to create or remember them.

Biometric data has one more advantage over passwords. Using a stolen password is easy. It involves nothing more than copy-pasting it in the correct field or using an automated tool to do this for you. Accurately replicating a part of the human body, on the other hand, is a bit more complicated, especially if you want to attack many people at once.

All in all, provided it's implemented correctly, for most regular users, biometric authentication does bring numerous security advantages. There is one flaw with biometric data, though, and it's a big one – it's not replaceable.

Biometrics' big problem

If you have one of your passwords compromised, swapping it for a new one is usually a fairly straightforward process. If your unique fingerprint data is stolen, however, you can't just take your thumb off and put a new one in its place. The same goes for your retina, face, and any other part of your body that could be used for authentication.

The technology that enables biometric authentication has come a long way since the clunky, expensive fingerprint readers that were once attached to PCs and laptops, and it's still moving as we speak. In much the same way, criminals are continuously improving the techniques they use to steal and abuse biometric data. The one thing that is not evolving at such a rapid rate is the human body, which is why, although it will improve many users' security, biometrics won't solve all our problems.

July 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 9 ?