計劃者使用偽裝和虛假信息收集密碼和敏感數據

誘使某人通過電話,短信或電子郵件洩露敏感數據(例如密碼)有多困難?令人遺憾的是,這比您想像的要容易,因為黑客採用了網絡釣魚技術,例如藉口誘騙來幫助他們建立信任。根據Knowbe4.com的調查結果,幾乎有38%的未經網絡意識培訓的用戶未通過網絡釣魚測試。因此,如果您不熟悉藉口或名言等術語,我們建議您在有人嘗試對您或您所愛的人使用此類技術之前先了解它們。如果您同意這樣做是明智的,那麼我們邀請您閱讀本博文的其餘部分,在其中討論所提及的網絡釣魚欺詐技術,並說明如何保護自己免受欺詐。

網絡安全專家注意到,黑客正在創建更複雜的網絡釣魚詐騙 。這意味著他們的攻擊可能更難以識別。此外,在本文中,我們將討論兩種特定的社會工程技術,這些技術可以幫助網絡犯罪分子獲得最謹慎的用戶的信任,並使他們披露敏感數據。它們被稱為“藉口”和“抵押”。

什麼是藉口?

藉口技術要求藉口或故事來使目標受害者相信黑客,並使他們的要求看起來合法。通常,此類攻擊背後的黑客偽裝成是權威人士,據稱他們需要了解受害者的個人或敏感信息。

為了建立信任,他們可能會使用他們已經知道的信息,例如您的地址,舊密碼,賬單號以及在數據洩露期間,從黑暗的網絡中或在垃圾箱潛水期間可能獲得的其他任何信息。例如,如果騙子在跟踪您的銀行信息,則可能會假裝正在為銀行或最近購買了東西的公司工作。藉口可能是某人試圖竊取您的錢,或者由於某些錯誤您未付款。可以通過電話,電子郵件,短信等發起此類攻擊。因此,網絡犯罪分子可能會要求大聲告訴信息,將其插入可通過其提供的鏈接訪問的虛假網站中,或回答其短信。

什麼是許願?

網上誘騙是通過電話進行的網上誘騙。與簡單的電話網絡釣魚詐騙有何不同?許願電話通常是通過IP語音( VoIP )服務發出的,這意味著黑客不必等待目標受害者接聽電話,而是等待他們回電。同樣,就像藉口一樣,此類攻擊的計劃也很周密。黑客可能會使用自動語音模擬來誘使受害者相信自己就是他們所聲稱的身份。攻擊者還可以通過告訴受害者在攻擊之前收集的各種個人信息來獲得受害者的信任。比網絡釣魚電子郵件或文本更成功的騙局是,用戶可能會覺得沒有時間思考或檢查事實。另外,如果詐騙者說出只有您本人(例如您的服務提供商)才知道的事情,那麼他的故事似乎很有說服力。

如何保護自己免受網絡釣魚詐騙的侵害?

了解網絡釣魚詐騙

幸運的是,網絡釣魚詐騙並不是什麼新鮮事物,因此有很多有關此類攻擊的信息。因此,如果您關注網絡安全新聞,則可以快速了解最常見的網絡釣魚技術以及最新的黑客策略和方案。 當你網上誘騙有喜歡的拼圖的你能點甚至工具測驗 ,可以讓你檢查你的知識,以及學習如何識別網絡釣魚詐騙。請記住,您了解的越多,就能越容易發現欺詐,最重要的是,可以保護自己免受欺詐。

不要不慎分享個人信息

如果沒有詐騙者能夠與您聯繫,則無法通過電話和電子郵件進行網絡釣魚詐騙。因此,在透露您的電子郵件地址和電話號碼時,我們建議格外謹慎。僅在需要時才將此類信息提供給可確保其安全的可信賴組織。當然,避免數據共享並不總是那麼容易,這就是為什麼我們建議您使用輔助電子郵件地址,以便在需要向不公開的一方提供聯繫信息時使用。

保持警惕

僅了解網絡釣魚詐騙或如何保護自己免受網絡詐騙是不夠的。確保您每天使用所學的東西。黑客可以使他們的電子郵件和短信看起來好像來自知名公司。他們還可以使用在暗網上收集的各種個人信息來說服您,您可以信任他們。因此,您永遠不會放鬆警惕。即使沒有什麼引起您的懷疑,也最好檢查一下發件人的電子郵件地址之類的詳細信息,以確保安全。另外,在與受攻擊的鏈接進行交互之前,請確保檢查受攻擊的鏈接並使用可靠的反惡意軟件工具掃描收到的文件。

詢問任何要求您提供敏感信息的人

您的銀行是否有權要求您提供銀行帳戶的登錄憑據?答案是不。即使其他人試圖接管您的帳戶,您的銀行也絕不應要求您提供此類敏感數據。還有許多其他方法可以驗證您的身份並保護您的帳戶免受犯罪分子的侵害。因此,無論發生什麼情況,機構和組織都絕不會要求您提供可能導致某人通過電話,短信或電子郵件訪問您的帳戶或盜用身份的信息。因此,即使似乎沒有時間思考,我們也建議您暫停一下,並仔細考慮是否要求提供敏感數據。如果您有任何疑問,可以隨時掛斷電話,並使用公司的官方已知號碼給他們回電,或要求在其辦公室解決此事。

總而言之,隨著黑客提出令人信服的藉口來獲取敏感信息或用戶帳戶的訪問權限,電話,短信和電子郵件的網絡釣魚詐騙變得更具針對性。因此,即使對於意識到這種騙局的用戶,也很難避免它們。但是,保持鎮定,不讓黑客玩弄自己的情緒並不是不可能的。請記住,無論情況看起來多麼絕望,如果您不能百分百確定這樣做是安全的,則永遠不要提供任何敏感數據。我們還鼓勵您繼續學習網絡釣魚詐騙,並與他人(尤其是與可能遭受此類攻擊的人)分享您的知識。

September 3, 2020

發表評論

Schemers Use Pretexting and Vishing to Gather Passwords and Sensitive Data

How difficult is it to trick someone into revealing sensitive data like passwords over phone calls, text messages, or emails? Sadly, it is easier than you might think as hackers employ phishing techniques like pretexting and vishing that help them establish trust. According to Knowbe4.com findings, almost 38 percent of users with no cyber awareness training fail phishing tests. Thus, if you are not familiar with terms like pretexting or vishing, we recommend learning about them before someone tries using such techniques on you or your loved ones. If you agree that it would be smart to do so, we invite you to read the rest of this blog post in which we talk about the mentioned phishing scam techniques and explain what to do to protect yourself against scammers.

Cybersecurity specialists notice that hackers are creating more sophisticated phishing scams. It means that their attacks might be more difficult to recognize. Further, in this text, we talk about two particular social engineering techniques that might help cybercriminals gain even the most cautious users' trust and make them reveal their sensitive data. They are called pretexting and vishing.

What is pretexting?

The Pretexting technique requires a pretext or a story that would make targeted victims trust hackers and make their requests seem legitimate. Usually, hackers behind such attacks pretend to be someone in authority who, allegedly, needs to know the victim's personal or sensitive information.

To establish trust, they may use information that is already known to them, such as your address, old passwords, billing numbers, and anything else that could be obtained during data breaches, from the dark web, or while dumpster diving. For example, if scammers are after your banking information, they could pretend to be working for the bank or for a company from which you recently purchased something. The pretext could be that someone is trying to steal your money or that the payment you made did not go through due to some error. Such attacks can be initiated over the phone, email, text messages, etc. Thus, cybercriminals might ask to tell the information aloud, insert it into fake websites that are reachable via their provided links, or answer their text messages.

What is vishing?

Vishing is a phishing scam over the phone. How is it different from simple phone phishing scams? Vishing phone calls are usually placed via voice over IP (VoIP) services, which means that instead of waiting for targeted victims to answer their calls, hackers wait for them to call them back. Also, just like with pretexting, such attacks are very well planned. Hackers may use automated voice simulation to trick victims into believing that they are who they claim to be. The attackers may also gain victims’ trust by telling them various personal information that they collect before the attack. What makes such scams more successful than phishing emails or texts is that users might feel like there is no time to think or check facts. Plus, if the scammer says things that only you and, for example, your service provider knows, his story might seem very convincing.

How to protect yourself against phishing scams?

Learn about phishing scams

Luckily, phishing scams are not something new, and so there is plenty of information about such attacks. Thus, you can quickly learn about the most common phishing techniques and the latest hackers’ tactics and schemes if you follow cybersecurity news. There are even tools like the Jigsaw’s Can You Spot When You're Being Phished quiz that allows you to check your knowledge as well as learn how to recognize phishing scams. Remember that the more you know, the better you will be able to spot scams and, most importantly, protect yourself against them.

Do not share personal information carelessly

Phishing scams over the phone and email cannot happen without scammers being able to contact you. Thus, we recommend being extra cautious when it comes to revealing your email address and telephone number. Provide such information only to trustworthy organizations that can keep it safe, and only when necessary. Of course, it is not always easy to avoid data sharing, which is why we recommend having a secondary email address that would be used in times when you need to provide your contact information to shady parties.

Stay alert

It is not enough to know about phishing scams or how to protect yourself against them. Make sure that you use the things you learn daily. Hackers can make it seem like their emails and text messages are coming from reputable companies. They can also use various personal information gathered on the dark web to convince you that you can trust them. Thus, you can never let your guard down. Even if nothing raises your suspicion, it is better to check details like the sender’s email address to be safe. Also, make sure that you check the attacked links and scan received files with a reliable antimalware tool before interacting with them.

Question anyone who asks you to provide sensitive information

Does your bank have the right to ask you for your banking account’s login credentials? The answer is no. Even if someone else is trying to take over your account, your bank should never ask you for such sensitive data. There are plenty of other ways to verify your identity and protect your accounts from criminals. Thus, no matter what is going on, institutions and organizations would never ask you for information that could lead to someone gaining access to your accounts or identity theft over a phone call, text message, or email. Thus, even if it seems like there is no time to think, we advise taking a pause and thinking carefully if the request for sensitive data is legit. If you have any doubts, you can always hang up and use a company’s officially known number to call them back or ask to resolve the matter in their office.

To conclude, phishing scams over the phone, text messages, and emails are becoming more targeted as hackers come up with convincing pretexts to gain access to sensitive information or user accounts. Thus, avoiding them might be difficult even to users who are aware of such scams. Nonetheless, it is not impossible if you stay calm and do not let hackers play with your emotions. Remember that no matter how desperate a situation might seem, you should never provide any sensitive data if you are not one hundred percent sure that it is safe to do so. We also encourage you to keep learning about phishing scams and share your knowledge with others, especially with people who could be vulnerable to such attacks.

September 3, 2020

Leave a Reply