身份窃贼可以在何处访问您的个人信息

How Identity Thieves Steal Information

我们都称之为身份盗用,但在他们窃取你的身份之前,犯罪分子实际上必须获得一些有助于他们冒充你的信息。作为一种犯罪行为,身份盗窃变得越来越流行并且更有利可图,这就是安全专家花费大量时间告诉您保护数据的重要性的原因。如果你不知道小偷是怎么偷的,你就无法妥善保护它,但由于某种原因,这个问题没有得到应有的重视。这是一种耻辱,因为普通的汤姆,迪克和哈丽埃特很少考虑犯罪分子用来获取数据的不同方法。让我们看看我们是否可以对这个问题有所了解。

现实世界中的数据窃取

人们常常认为,由于互联网,身份盗窃变得如此多产,我们可以看出原因。在不涉及面对面交流的情况下,冒充某人要容易得多。话虽如此,盗贼有时会窃取现实世界中的数据,这会导致身份被盗。这里有一些例子。

  • 钱包或钱包盗窃。
    在你不看的时候把你的钱包抢走不是一个很好的经历,但是如果扒手用不仅仅是几张纸币和硬币来挣钱,那么事情可能会比没有咖啡的剩下的时间更糟糕。一个泡泡糖。你可能已经听说过,除非你真的需要,否则你不能携带社会安全卡。您还听说过随身携带所有信用卡都是个坏主意。这些是带有足够敏感信息以造成重大损害的明显物品。然而,你可能没有意识到的是,即使像旧收据这样简单的事情也可能包含窃贼非常乐意接受和滥用的数据。
  • 垃圾箱潜水
    所以,你已经意识到你留在钱包里的那些旧收据不应该在那里,而你可能正在考虑将它们扔进垃圾桶。然而,在你这样做之前,花点时间将它们撕成碎片。对于任何其他可能包含敏感信息的旧纸质文档也是如此。事实上,必须确定并且有动力通过垃圾翻找小偷,并且您可能认为只有高价值的目标才会被这种方法攻击。然而,身份盗窃是一项利润丰厚的业务,据许多人说,没有低价值目标。即使垃圾搜集骗子不愿意把头放在线上,也可能有其他更懒惰的罪犯会乐意为你的数据支付一些现金。
  • 窃取负责数据的组织的重要文件
    是的,这是二十一世纪,我们发明了很多有效的信息传递途径。然而,一些机构似乎陷入了1950年代。名称,地址,社会安全号码和其他敏感数据仍然在纸上打印(或书写),然后放入纸板箱并在办公室之间移动. 许多人抱怨说互联网并不是一个安全的环境,但对于那些驾驶员已经去抓热狗的解锁汽车也是如此。
  • 偷你的邮件
    你们当中有多少人可以声称你的蜗牛邮件收件箱是完全安全的,没有任何东西可以出来?现在,想一想有多少敏感信息在那里移动。这是将有价值的数据放在纸上并移动它的另一个问题。它可能在传输过程中丢失或被盗,当它到达右侧收件箱时。该方法无效,因为它依赖于开始显示其年龄的旧技术。请注意,现代替代方案也不完美。

在线数据窃取

还记得你在陌生人聊天和在互联网上玩低质量的Flash游戏的时间吗?事情发生了一些变化。您现在用它来购买东西,支付账单,管理财务等。所有这些新任务都需要您的个人数据,如姓名,地址,电话号码和信用卡详细信息。因此,难怪犯罪分子设计了多种窃取和滥用数据的方法。这里是其中的一些。

  • 社会工程学
    事实是,社会工程攻击不仅限于互联网,而是万维网使它们如此受欢迎。您可能知道,社交工程是欺骗人们做他们不应该做的事情的艺术。在我们的案例中,社交工程可能意味着说服用户打开在其PC上安装恶意软件的电子邮件附件。它还可能意味着诱使他们在网络钓鱼页面上泄露他们的个人信息。社会工程是一个非常强大的工具,今天的一些网络犯罪分子有能力充分利用它。但并不适合所有人。
  • 破解你的密码
    在我们开始在互联网上保存大量个人信息后不久,在线公司意识到他们必须实施一种能够保证数据安全的认证机制。当时,这个简陋的密码似乎是完美的解决方案,但人们很快就开始遇到问题。用户必须跟踪的帐户数量增长很快,而且他们很快就被所有密码所淹没。结果,他们很快开始使用简单的短密码,当压力增加时,他们开始在多个帐户中重复使用相同的密码。我们现在有一个解决方案 - 专用密码管理应用程序,如Cyclonis Password Manager 。如果没有密码管理器,使用真正强大的独特密码几乎是不可能的,但尽管如此,采用率仍远未达到应有的水平。这尤其令人担忧,因为黑客现在可以使用更强大的工具和资源,并且比以往更容易破解密码。与成功的社交工程攻击不同,破解简单密码几乎不需要任何技能。
  • 数据泄露
    最后,我们得到了数据泄露。即使完全了解犯罪分子的伎俩以及无可挑剔的密码管理政策,也无法对您无法控制的因素做任何事情。在一天结束时,通过使用特定的网站或服务,您信任供应商,他们将能够保护您的个人数据. 有时,他们做得非常好,但很多时候,他们没有,在某些情况下,保持数据安全是不可能的。事实上,有两种类型的数据泄露:由于极其复杂而发生的数据泄露对手,以及由于供应商在保护数据方面做得不够而发生的对手。但是,在这两种情况下,结果都是相同的:您的信息会暴露,从而导致某种形式的身份盗用。

它真的像听起来一样可怕吗?

我们确实描述了一些最糟糕的情况,但是大量的身份盗窃受害者表明他们并不像你想象的那么罕见。正如您所看到的,有时候,您没有很多方法来保护自己,但通常,您这样做,这就是为什么您必须确保您意识到危险。

April 30, 2019

发表评论

Where Can an Identity Thief Access Your Personal Information

How Identity Thieves Steal Information

We all call it identity theft, but before they can steal your identity, criminals actually have to obtain some information that will help them impersonate you. As a criminal act, identity theft is becoming more popular and more lucrative which is why security experts spend quite a lot of time telling you how important it is to protect your data. You can't properly protect it if you don't know how the thieves steal it, though, and for some reason, this subject hasn't received the attention it deserves. Which is a shame because the average Tom, Dick, and Harriette rarely think about the different methods criminals use to get their data. Let's see if we can shed some light on the matter.

Data theft in the real world

People often assume that identity theft has become so prolific because of the internet, and we can see why. It's much easier to impersonate someone when face-to-face communication isn't involved. With that said, thieves do sometimes steal data in the real world, and this leads to identity theft later on. Here are a few examples.

  • Wallet or purse theft.
    Having your wallet snatched away while you weren't looking is not a nice experience, but if the pickpockets make off with more than just a few banknotes and coins, things could be a lot worse than going through the rest of the day without coffee or a bubble gum.You have probably heard already that you mustn't carry your Social Security Card with you unless you really need it. You've also heard that having all your credit cards with you at all times is a bad idea. These are the obvious items that carry enough sensitive information to cause substantial damage. What you might not realize, however, is that even simple things like old receipts can contain data that thieves will be more than happy to take and abuse.
  • Dumpster diving
    So, you've realized that those old receipts you keep in your wallet shouldn't be there, and you're probably considering throwing them in the trash. Before you do it, however, take the time to tear them into tiny pieces. The same goes for any other old paper-based documents that could contain sensitive information.Indeed, a thief must be determined and motivated to rummage through your trash, and you might think that only high-value targets will be attacked through this method. Identity theft is such a lucrative business, however, that, according to many, there's no such thing as low-value targets. And even if the garbage-raiding crooks aren't willing to put their heads on the line, there may be other, lazier criminals who will be happy to shell out some cash for your data.
  • Stealing important documents from an organization put in charge of your data
    Yes, it is the twenty-first century, and we've invented quite a few efficient ways of moving information around. Yet, some institutions appear to be stuck in the 1950's. Names, addresses, social security numbers and other sensitive data is still printed (or written) on pieces of paper which are then put in cardboard boxes and moved between offices. Many complain that the Internet is not a secure environment, but the same can be said about an unlocked car whose driver has gone off to grab a hot dog.
  • Stealing your mail
    How many of you can claim that your snail mail inbox is completely secure and nothing can come out of it? Now, think about how much sensitive information moves through there.That's another problem with putting valuable data on paper and moving it around. It can get lost or stolen both in transit, and when it arrives in the right inbox. The method is ineffective because it relies on old technology that's starting to show its age. Mind you, the modern alternative is not exactly perfect, either.

Data theft online

Remember the time when you could do little more than chat with strangers and play low-quality flash games on the Internet? Things have moved on a bit. You now use it to buy things, pay bills, manage finances, etc. All these new tasks require your personal data like names, addresses, phone numbers, and credit card details. No wonder, then, that the criminals have devised more than one way of stealing and abusing that data. Here are some of them.

  • Social engineering
    The truth is, social engineering attacks aren't limited to the Internet, but it was the World Wide Web that made them so popular. As you probably know, social engineering is the art of tricking people into doing something they shouldn't be doing. In our case, social engineering might mean convincing users to open email attachments that install malware on their PCs. It could also mean coaxing them into divulging their personal information on a phishing page.Social engineering is an extremely powerful tool, and some of today's cybercriminals have the skills to use it to its full potential. It's not for everyone, though.
  • Cracking your password
    Shortly after we started keeping vast quantities of personal information on the Internet, online companies realized that they must implement an authentication mechanism that would keep the data safe. At the time, the humble password seemed like the perfect solution, but people soon started having problems.The number of accounts users had to keep track of grew immensely, and they were soon overwhelmed with all the passwords. As a result, they soon started using simple, short passwords, and when the pressure grew some more, they began reusing the same passwords across multiple accounts.We now have a solution – dedicated password management applications like Cyclonis Password Manager. Without a password manager, using truly strong, unique passwords is next to impossible, but despite this, the adoption rates are still nowhere near as high as they should be. This is particularly concerning as the hackers now have more powerful tools and resources at their disposal, and brute-forcing a password is easier than ever. Unlike mounting a successful social engineering attack, cracking a simple password requires next to no skills.
  • Data breaches
    Finally, we've got the data breach. Even complete awareness of the criminals' tricks combined with an impeccable password management policy can't do anything about the factors that are outside your control. At the end of the day, by using a particular website or service, you trust the vendor that they will be able to protect your personal data. Sometimes, they do that perfectly well, but quite often, they don't, and in some cases, keeping the data secure isn't even possible.Indeed, there are two types of data breaches: the ones that happen because of extremely sophisticated adversaries, and the ones that occur because the vendors haven't done enough to secure the data. In both cases, however, the results are the same: your information is exposed which leads to some form of identity theft.

Is it really as scary as it sounds?

We did describe some worst-case scenarios, but the colossal number of identity theft victims shows that they are not as uncommon as you might think. As you can see, sometimes, you don't have a lot of ways to protect yourself, but quite often, you do, which is why, you must make sure that you are aware of the dangers.

August 24, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 10 ?