如果您依靠eyeDisk閃存驅動器來存儲密碼和其他敏感數據,請小心

eyeDisk Flash Drive Security Vulnerability

什麼是eyeDisk?它是一個閃存驅動器,可以存儲您的照片,文檔和其他文件。 32GB版本的MSRP為99美元。合乎邏輯的下一個問題是顯而易見的:為什麼它如此令人眼花繚亂?

eyeDisk誕生於Kickstarter活動中 ,共有246名支持者為該項目捐贈了超過2.1萬美元。必須要說的是,他們被一些非常大膽的主張所吸引。一分半鐘的視頻說,eyeDisk是第一款使用虹膜識別技術保護用戶數據的閃存驅動器,它是保存文檔,項目,個人文件,“最具創新性和生產力”的方式。和“令人尷尬的自拍”安全。 eyeDisk背後的人們還決定在Kickstarter頁面上的一個非常突出的位置加上“unhackable”這個詞。正如我們現在發現的那樣,這是一個非常大的錯誤。

另一天,聲稱“不可撼動”的另一種設備原來是什麼

去年,來自Pen Test Partners的滲透測試專家正在研究Bitfi--一種硬件比特幣錢包,也被稱為“不可撼動”。雖然Bitfi得到了John McAfee的支持(正如你們中的一些人可能知道的那樣,他們曾經在安全行業工作過),但Pen Test Partners卻很容易破壞了“不可撼動”的說法。

三月份,他們正在玩幾款智能汽車防盜系統。推銷其中一個警報的人們正在追隨Bitfi的腳步,並說他們的產品“不可動搖”。 事實證明 ,該系統非常具有可攻擊性。您可能已經猜到了eyeDisk發生了什麼。

eyeDisk以明文形式存儲和轉發您的密碼

正如我們已經提到的那樣,eyeDisk就像普通的USB閃存驅動器一樣,唯一的例外是它不會讓你訪問你的數據,除非你使用內置的攝像頭掃描你的虹膜,並證明你是一個試圖打開文件。但是,還要求用戶創建密碼,該密碼應作為備份認證機制,以防相機損壞。

Pen Test Partners的David Lodge在3月下旬得到了他的眼睛盤,並立即尋找問題 。根據他的說法,他嘗試用自己的虹膜解鎖自己的設備的嘗試大約有三分之一失敗了,這幾乎不是很好,但從好的一面來看,他注意到他無法使用照片或眼睛欺騙系統。他的孩子然而,當他挖得更深時,他注意到一個相當明顯的安全漏洞。

Lodge使用Wireshark來嗅探eyeDisk與其插入的計算機之間交換的信息包。他驚訝地發現,在嘗試解鎖設備時,eyeDisk會以明文形式將密碼發送到PC。無論攻擊者是否擁有正確的密碼,都會觀察到該行為,並且違規數據包還包含Lodge懷疑可能是所有者虹膜數據的MD5哈希值. 結果是,如果eyeDisk設備落入壞人手中,它可以相對容易地解鎖,並且其內部的數據可能被暴露。

遵循公認的負責任的披露做法,David Lodge在4月初發現漏洞後立即與eyeDisk的開發人員取得聯繫。雖然他們確實花了很多時間,但負責不完全不可動搖的USB驅動器的人承認了這個問題,並告訴洛奇他們會修復它。他們沒有做的是為補丁提供任何類型的截止日期,並且在沒有聽到他們一個月後,Pen Test Partners決定應該公開報告該漏洞。

我們可以從中學到什麼?

如果您擁有eyeDisk,則可能需要仔細考慮放在設備上的文件類型。正如我們已經提到的那樣,攻擊並不困難,所有必需的信息現在都是公開的。 Pen Test Partners建議,如果您要使用eyeDisk存儲任何類型的敏感信息,最好事先加密數據

對於試圖銷售安全設備和應用程序的供應商來說,還有一個簡單而有力的教訓。停止稱你的產品“不可動搖”。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 3是什麼?

Be Careful If You Rely on eyeDisk Flash Drives to Store Passwords and Other Sensitive Data

eyeDisk Flash Drive Security Vulnerability

What is an eyeDisk exactly? It's a flash drive that can store your photos, documents, and other files. The MSRP for the 32GB version is $99. The logical next question is obvious: Why is it so eye-watering expensive?

eyeDisk was born out of a Kickstarter campaign that saw 246 backers donate just over $21 thousand to the project. It must be said that they were lured in by some pretty bold claims. The one-and-a-half-minute video says that eyeDisk is the first flash drive that protects users' data with iris-recognition technology and that it's the "most innovative and productive way" to keep your documents, projects, personal files, and "embarrassing selfies" safe. The people behind eyeDisk also decided to put the word "unhackable" in a very prominent place on the Kickstarter page. This, as we'll now find out, was a very big mistake.

Another day, another device that claims to be "unhackable" turns out to be anything but

Last year, the penetration testing specialists from Pen Test Partners were examining Bitfi – a hardware bitcoin wallet that was also marketed as "unhackable". Although Bitfi was supported by John McAfee (who, as some of you may know, used to work in the security industry), Pen Test Partners managed to bust the "unhackable" claims pretty easily.

In March, they were playing around with a few smart car alarm systems. The people marketing one of the alarms were following in Bitfi's footsteps and were saying that their product is "unhackable". It turned out that the system was very much hackable. You might have guessed what happened to eyeDisk.

eyeDisk stores and relays your password in plaintext

As we mentioned already, eyeDisk acts like a normal USB flash drive with the only exception that it won't let you access your data unless you use the built-in camera to scan your iris and prove that you are the one trying to open the files. Users are also asked to create a password, however, which should act as a backup authentication mechanism in case the camera gets damaged.

Pen Test Partners' David Lodge got his eyeDisk in late March and immediately went about looking for problems. According to him, about a third of his attempts to unlock his own device using his own iris failed, which is hardly great, but on the bright side, he noted that he wasn't able to fool the system using a photograph or the eyes of his child. When he dug deeper, however, he noticed a rather glaring security flaw.

Lodge used Wireshark to sniff through the packets of information that are exchanged between eyeDisk and the computer it's plugged into. He was shocked to find out that upon trying to unlock the device, eyeDisk sends the password to the PC in clear text. The behavior is observed regardless of whether or not the attacker has the right password, and the offending packet also contains what Lodge suspects might be an MD5 hash of the owner's iris data. The upshot is that if an eyeDisk device falls into the wrong hands, it can be unlocked with relative ease, and the data inside it could be exposed.

Following the accepted responsible disclosure practices, David Lodge got in touch with eyeDisk's developers immediately after he discovered the flaw in early April. Although they did take their time, the people responsible for the not-at-all-unhackable USB drive acknowledged the issue and told Lodge that they will fix it. What they didn't do is give any sort of deadline for the patch, and after not hearing from them for a month, Pen Test Partners decided that the bug should be reported publicly.

What can we learn from this?

If you own eyeDisk, you might want to carefully think about the type of files that you put on the device. As we mentioned already, the attack is not difficult to pull off, and all the required information is now publicly available. Pen Test Partners advise that if you're going to use eyeDisk for storing any sort of sensitive information, you are better off encrypting the data beforehand.

There is a simple yet powerful lesson for the vendors trying to market security devices and applications as well. Stop calling your products "unhackable".

May 14, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 10 ?