詐騙者使用 Adobe Cloud 帳戶竊取憑據

在一項新的但不是特別新穎的詐騙人員和竊取信息的活動中,威脅參與者一直在開展一項活動,濫用 Adobe Cloud 提供的服務。

該活動使用威脅參與者創建的 Adobe Cloud 帳戶。這些帳戶用於向潛在受害者發送惡意文件。

與信息安全巨頭 Check Point 在 2021 年下半年收購的安全公司 Avanan 合作的安全研究人員早在 12 月就發現了該惡意活動。

使用的惡意 PDF

據研究團隊稱,該活動背後的威脅行為者主要針對 Office 365 用戶,因為受損的 Office 365 帳戶可以成為獲得對公司範圍網絡的持久且未被檢測到的訪問的非常方便的工具。儘管 Office 用戶是主要目標,但也發現了一些試圖將人們從 Gmail 帳戶中騙出的企圖。

攻擊的方式相對簡單。威脅參與者在 Adobe Cloud 上創建免費帳戶。然後這些帳戶用於發送圖像或 PDF 文件,並在文件中嵌入鏈接。惡意文件通過電子郵件發送給最終受害者。

當然,鏈接文件中包含的實際惡意負載不是託管在 Adobe 的雲上,而是託管在威脅參與者操作的外部服務器上,這使得檢測更加困難。

經典網絡釣魚誘餌

用戶需要單擊幾個確認按鈕才能點擊鏈接另一端的預期有效負載,但這些按鈕是無害的,並且具有諸如“訪問文檔”之類的名稱,並且在受害者試圖查看附件時顯示惡意PDF。

雖然威脅參與者已經小心翼翼地將他們的電子郵件偽裝成 Adobe 分配的合法地址,但帶有惡意附件的電子郵件文本中存在多個語法和拼寫錯誤,大大降低了努力的可信度。

PDF 文件本身被稱為“Closing.PDF”——另一種廉價的社會工程技巧,旨在讓受害者產生恐懼和緊迫感,讓他們盡最大努力查看內容。

January 13, 2022

Scammers Use Adobe Cloud Accounts to Collect Credentials

In a new but not particularly original campaign to trick people and collect information, threat actors have been running a campaign abusing the services offered by the Adobe Cloud.

The campaign uses the Adobe Cloud accounts created by the threat actors. Those accounts are used to send potential victims corrupted files.

Security researchers working with Avanan, a security company acquired by infosec giant Check Point in the second half of 2021, discovered the threatening campaign back in December.

Corrupted PDFs Used

According to the research team, the threat actor behind the campaign is targeting Office 365 users primarily, due to the fact that a compromised Office 365 account can be a very convenient tool for gaining persistent and undetected access to a company-wide network. Even though Office users are the primary targets, some attempts to trick people out of their Gmail accounts were spotted too.

The way the attack goes is relatively simple. The threat actors create free accounts on the Adobe Cloud. Those accounts are then used to send out an image or PDF file, with a link embedded inside the file. The corrupted files are sent out over email to the end victims.

Of course, the actual threatening payload contained in the linked files is not hosted on Adobe's Cloud but on external servers operated by the threat actors, making detection more difficult.

Classic Phishing Bait

The user needs to click a couple of confirmation buttons to hit the intended payload on the other end of the link, but the buttons are innocuous and have names such as "Access document" and are displayed while the victim is trying to view the attached corrupted PDF.

While the threat actors have taken care to spoof their emails to look like legitimate addresses assigned by Adobe, the text of the emails carrying the unsafe attachments has multiple grammar and spelling errors in it, undermining the believability of the effort significantly.

The PDF file itself is called "Closing.PDF" - another cheap social engineering trick intended to create a sense of fear and urgency in the victims and get them to do their best to see the contents.

January 13, 2022