5亿Facebook用户的个人数据泄露

约有5亿Facebook用户的个人身份信息已在网上泄露。据Business Insider报道,用户记录出现在一个在线黑客论坛上,并且是免费发布的。

在5亿用户中,很大一部分是美国和英国公民,其中有3200万美国用户和1100万来自英国的用户。泄漏的信息中有100多个受影响的国家。

泄漏的数据包含有关Facebook用户的许多敏感的,个人可识别的信息。其中包括电话号码,平台ID,位置和出生日期,以及某些情况下的全名和电子邮件。

网络情报公司Hudson Rock的安全专家Alon Gal对泄漏进行了评论,并指出,不良行为者很可能会因黑客尝试以及可信的社会工程攻击而滥用该数据。

Facebook –数据安全Deja Vu

这种数据泄漏并不是Facebook首次因其数据安全政策而备受关注。

早在2018年,该公司就遭受了另一次数据泄漏,攻击者滥用该漏洞来访问5000万Facebook用户的数据。该漏洞在2017年中至2018年末期间在平台上处于活动状态,使不良行为者有充裕的时间进行肮脏的工作。

在最近一次数据泄漏之后,网站“我被人拥有了吗?”网站(通常用于检查用户的个人数据和密码是否已经以某种方式受到破坏并在线泄漏)增加了新功能,允许用户搜索其电话号码和看看这是否是大规模数据泄漏的一部分。

针对Facebook CEO的尖刻评论

有关泄漏的一些令人好奇的细节包括Facebook创始人兼首席执行官马克·扎克伯格的电话也属于泄漏的数字。泄密事件还显示,扎克伯格正在手机上使用Signal,这是Facebook拥有的WhatsApp的直接竞争对手。

安全研究员戴夫·沃克(Dave Walker)在推特上发表了对此情况的尖锐评论,指出马克·扎克伯格(Mark Zuckerberg)“尊重自己的隐私”,并使用了“具有端到端加密并且不归Facebook所有”的聊天应用程序。

April 7, 2021

发表评论

Personal Data of 500 Million Facebook Users Leaked

Personally identifiable information belonging to around 500 million Facebook users has been leaked online. As reported by Business Insider, the user records appeared on an online hacking forum and were published for free.

A large portion of the 500 million users are US and UK citizens, with 32 million US users and 11 million users from the UK. There are over 100 affected countries in the leaked information.

The leaked data contains a number of sensitive, personally identifiable bits of information about Facebook users. Those include their phone numbers, platform IDs, their location and dates of birth, as well as full names and emails in some instances.

Security expert Alon Gal who is with cyber intelligence company Hudson Rock, commented on the leak and stated that the data is very likely to be abused by bad actors for both hacking attempts as well as believable social engineering attacks.

Facebook – Data Security Deja Vu

This data leak is not the first time Facebook has come under the spotlight for its data security policies.

Back in 2018 the company suffered another data leak where attackers abused a vulnerability to access the data of 50 million Facebook users. The vulnerability was active on the platform between mid-2017 and late 2018, giving bad actors plenty of time to do their dirty work.

In the aftermath of this most recent data leak, the website Have I Been Pwned?, which is commonly used to check if a user's personal data and passwords have been somehow compromised and leaked online, added new functionality allowing users to search their phone number and see if it was part of the massive data leak.

Biting Comments Directed at Facebook CEO

Some curious details about the leak include the fact that Facebook founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg's phone was also among the leaked numbers. The leak also revealed that Zuckerberg was using Signal on his phone - a direct competitor to Facebook-owned WhatsApp.

Security researcher Dave Walker tweeted out a biting comment on the situation, stating that Mark Zuckerberg "respects his own privacy" and uses a chat application that "has end-to-end encryption and is not owned by Facebook".

April 7, 2021

Leave a Reply