憑據洩漏後,Poloniex加密貨幣交換的用戶將強制執行密碼重置

Poloniex Password Reset

昨天,我們寫了一篇針對拉丁美洲的PayPal用戶的近期網絡釣魚活動 。我們討論了網絡釣魚者如何經常愚弄受害者,使他們以為有人試圖竊取他們的帳戶。想法是,隨之而來的恐慌將減少用戶注意到他們被騙的機會。儘管這種方法非常有效,但現在已經相當普遍了,並且很多人都知道。實際上,如此之多,以至於當一些Poloniex用戶收到與其帳戶安全性相關的電子郵件時,他們就相當懷疑了。

意外的電子郵件警報引起了一些注意

根據消息,由於在Twitter上到處都是電子郵件地址和密碼的列表,加密貨幣交易所正在與客戶聯繫。電子郵件中說,交易平台的安全團隊掌握了這份名單,對其進行了分析,並確定其中一些地址與Poloniex帳戶相關聯。收到該消息的用戶被告知,他們的地址在該列表中,並且出於謹慎考慮,Poloniex強制為其帳戶重置密碼。儘管沒有鏈接將其重定向到登錄頁面,但一些用戶立即認為他們處於網絡釣魚攻擊的接收端。

他們在社交媒體上表達了他們的擔憂 ,許多其他人也同意該信息看起來有些可疑。但是,在12月30日,Poloniex的支持小組證實了該電子郵件是真實的。

Poloniex告訴我們發生了什麼事

儘管Poloniex發出了一條推文,但仍有一些人感到困惑,昨天,該加密貨幣交易所終於決定發表一篇中級帖子,並分享有關此事的更多細節。該帖子說,大約1%的交易平台客戶收到了電子郵件警報。如前所述,Poloniex與他們聯繫是因為他們的電子郵件地址是在12月下旬進行的這些洩漏的登錄憑據列表中找到的。

至關重要的是,數據並未從Poloniex那裡竊取。加密貨幣交易所的安全專家檢查了他們的系統,沒有發現數據洩露的證據。此外,他們在“中型”帖子和電子郵件中都提到將密碼存儲為鹽醃的bcrypt散列。相比之下,洩漏列表中的所有登錄信息都是純文本格式。

與Troy Hunt聯繫後,Poloniex的安全專家發現該列表中多達90%的密碼已經存在於“ 我被擁有了”數據庫中。 Hunt已經擁有其餘數據,並將很快將其加載到他的數據洩露警報服務中。

換句話說,Poloniex的安全專家試圖保護其客戶免受憑證填充攻擊

稍好一點的披露將使一切都不同

掌握大量失竊的登錄數據比以往任何時候都容易,這意味著憑證填充攻擊變得越來越頻繁。 Poloniex值得一提,因為它可以幫助客戶保護自己免受這種特殊威脅。但是,必須說,對所發生的事情進行更詳細的說明,並且時機稍微好一些,可以為用戶省去很多麻煩。

例如,該警報未使用用戶名或用戶名來尋址用戶,而是以“尊敬的Poloniex客戶”開頭,該客戶通常被視為網絡釣魚電子郵件的明顯標誌。除此之外,在發送消息時,沒有伴隨的博客文章可以進一步闡明此事。直到三天后它才問世,在那段時間內,客戶唯一需要經過的是Poloniex支持帳戶的一條推文,該推文敦促他們“重置密碼以確保帳戶安全”。

如您所見,即使是最小的錯誤也可能引起很多混亂,尤其是當許多人的安全(在這種情況下,是加密貨幣)處於危險之中時。整個故事再次證明,與安全相關的事件的披露有時與確保人員安全的行動同樣重要。

January 3, 2020

發表評論

A Password Reset Is Forced Upon Users of the Poloniex Cryptocurrency Exchange After a Credential Leak

Poloniex Password Reset

Yesterday, we wrote about a recent phishing campaign aimed at PayPal users in Latin America. We talked about how phishers often try to fool victims into thinking that someone is trying to hack their account. The idea is that the panic which ensues will decrease the chances of the user noticing that they're being scammed. Although it's quite effective, the practice is fairly common now, and plenty of people know about it. So much so, in fact, that when a few Poloniex users got emails related to their account security, they were rather skeptical.

An unexpected email alert raises some eyebrows

According to the message, the cryptocurrency exchange was contacting its customers because of a list of email addresses and passwords that was circling around on Twitter. The email said that the trading platform's security team took hold of the list, analyzed it, and determined that some of the addresses were associated with Poloniex accounts. The users who received the message were told that their address is on that list and that out of an abundance of caution, Poloniex has forced a password reset for their account. Although there wasn't a link that redirected them to a login page, some users immediately assumed that they were on the receiving end of a phishing attack.

They expressed their concerns on social media, and plenty of other people agreed that the message looks somewhat fishy. On December 30, however, Poloniex's support team confirmed that the email was genuine.

Poloniex tells us what happened

Despite Poloniex's tweet, some people remained confused, and yesterday, the cryptocurrency exchange finally decided to publish a Medium post and share more details on the matter. The post says that about 1% of the trading platform's customers received the email alert. As mentioned already, Poloniex contacted them because their email addresses were found on a list of leaked login credentials that was doing the rounds in late December.

Crucially, the data wasn't stolen from Poloniex. The cryptocurrency exchange's security experts checked their systems and found no evidence of a data breach. What's more, they mentioned both in the Medium post and in the email that they store passwords as salted bcrypt hashes. By contrast, all the login information in the leaked list was in plain text.

After getting in touch with Troy Hunt, Poloniex's security experts figured out that a whopping 90% of the passwords from the list were already present in the Have I Been Pwned database. Hunt already has the rest of the data and will load it into his data breach alert service soon.

In other words, Poloniex's security specialists tried to protect their customers from a credential stuffing attack.

Slightly better disclosure would have made all the difference

Getting your hands on a significant amount of stolen login data is easier than ever, which means that credential stuffing attacks are becoming more and more frequent. Poloniex deserves a pat on the back for helping its customers protect themselves against this particular threat. It must be said, however, that a more detailed account of what was going on and a slightly better timing would have saved users a lot of head-scratching.

The alert, for example, didn't address users by their name or username and instead started with "Dear Poloniex Customer," which is often considered a tell-tale sign of a phishing email. In addition to this, when the messages were sent out, there was no accompanying blog post that could shed more light on the matter. It didn't come out until three days later, and during that time, the only thing customers had to go by was a tweet from Poloniex's support account, which urged them to "reset your password for account security."

As you can see, even the smallest mistakes can cause a lot of confusion, especially when the security (and, in this case, crypto money) of many people is at stake. The whole story is yet another proof that the disclosure of a security-related event is sometimes just as important as the actions taken to ensure that people remain safe.

January 3, 2020

Leave a Reply