當心“未知設備的新登錄名”貝寶騙局

PayPal New Login From Unknown Device Phishing Scam

在12月下旬,ESET的研究人員注意到 ,拉丁美洲的PayPal用戶受到了可能一直持續到今天的網絡釣魚活動的攻擊。不幸的是,很難說這次攻擊有多大,而且我們不知道有多少人成為攻擊的受害者。但是,無論規模大小,此PayPal網絡釣魚詐騙都是有新聞價值的,原因有兩個。

首先,組織此活動的黑客使用了一些巧妙的社交工程技巧來嘗試使受害者人數最大化。他們知道,每個受害的PayPal帳戶都可能產生可觀的財務收益,但他們永遠不會只為這筆錢而結算。這就是整個騙局的展開方式。

異常的登錄電子郵件警報

您可能會想到,攻擊始於一封電子郵件,在這種情況下,該電子郵件試圖說服您未經授權的人已經訪問了您的PayPal帳戶。為了使消息聽起來更有說服力,黑客包括了可能的事件日期以及入侵者的操作系統和瀏覽器的詳細信息。該電子郵件還說您的帳戶已被鎖定,您可以通過單擊鏈接並“確認您的身份”來重新獲得對其的訪問權限。那些對網絡安全抱有濃厚興趣的人可能知道接下來會發生什麼。

他們還知道這絕不是開創性的策略。網絡釣魚者通常通過說服用戶其帳戶可能已被黑客入侵來嘗試從用戶那裡竊取登錄憑據。這是因為,當他們面對這種特殊情況時,人們往往會感到恐慌,並且倉促起來時,他們往往會忽略犯罪分子犯下的一些明顯錯誤。

如果您點擊進入,將被帶到一個偽造的PayPal頁面,該頁面的設計看起來像真實的東西。首先,您需要完成CAPTCHA挑戰,然後要求您提供PayPal登錄憑據。

這次不只是用戶名和密碼

在典型的網絡釣魚攻擊中,一旦受害者放棄了登錄憑據,他們就會收到一條偽造的錯誤消息,提示他們稍後再試,或者將他們重定向到真實帳戶。在這種情況下,情況會有所不同。

在登錄數據被盜之後,假網站會告訴您您的PayPal帳戶由於涉嫌未經授權的訪問而仍然被鎖定。要解鎖它,您必須驗證您的個人信息。第一個表格要求您提供姓名,實際地址,電話號碼和出生日期。第二個表單要求您提供信用卡詳細信息,第三個表單則提示您輸入一些與與PayPal個人資料關聯的銀行帳戶有關的信息。最後,要求您提供地址和密碼來“鏈接”您的電子郵件帳戶。

ESET的屏幕截圖顯示,黑客確實確實制止了一切,以創建一個看起來合法的網絡釣魚頁面。徽標,顏色和字體或多或少都是完美的,並且黑客甚至經歷了安裝SSL證書的麻煩,這意味著被教導要在地址欄中尋找綠色掛鎖的人會看到並假定頁面是完全安全的。換句話說,有很多事情可能會讓您誤以為您確實在保護PayPal帳戶。再說一次,還有很多其他跡象表明,如果注意到這些跡象,就會表明您正被騙取個人數據。

為了確保安全,僅需發現一些差異即可

一些現代電子郵件客戶端在您的收件箱中顯示消息的方式意味著從合法的電子郵件中發送惡意電子郵件可能很棘手。但是,如果您足夠小心,您仍然會看到一些錯誤,這些錯誤可能會引誘您離開。

ESET的報告沒有說明網絡釣魚者是否費心欺騙了發件人的電子郵件地址,但是即使看起來不錯,您也可能會看到,例如,該郵件不包含通常與這種通信相關的徽標或其他格式設置功能。除此之外,儘管我們看到的情況更糟,但該文本包含一些語法錯誤–網絡釣魚攻擊中的常見錯誤。

那些沒有註意到語法錯誤的人仍然可以發現託管網絡釣魚頁面的域。黑客可以輕鬆地在瀏覽器的地址欄中放入一個綠色的掛鎖,但他們無法更改實際地址,這意味著只要一眼看到URL,您就會發現您沒有在真實的PayPal上輸入信息網站。

即使您沒有看到,您仍然可以注意到一些看起來很奇怪的事情以及一些看起來完全錯誤的事情。

例如,攻擊開始時的CAPTCHA挑戰是一個有趣的補充。一方面,考慮到有人據稱一直試圖闖入您的帳戶這一事實,將其放置似乎只是合乎邏輯的。再說一次,在這個特定階段進行驗證碼挑戰是不尋常的,這可能會讓您在繼續之前三思而後行。

當網頁仿冒頁面要求您提供電子郵件密碼時,您更有可能意識到出了點問題。貝寶(PayPal)永遠不會擁有此類信息,也永遠不會要求它。我們衷心希望,當他們看到此特定請求時,你們中的許多人會立即知道他們已被騙。不幸的是,到那時,他們已經放棄了很多個人信息,這表明唯一安全的真正方法就是始終睜著眼睛,並且每次單擊都要小心。

January 2, 2020

發表評論

Watch out for the 'New Login From Unknown Device' PayPal Scam

PayPal New Login From Unknown Device Phishing Scam

In late December, researchers from ESET noticed that PayPal users in Latin America were targeted by a phishing campaign that could be going on to this very day. Unfortunately, it's difficult to say how big the attack is, and we don't know how many people have fallen victim to it. Regardless of the scale, however, this PayPal phishing scam is newsworthy for a couple of good reasons.

For one, the hackers that organized it used some clever social engineering tricks to try and maximize the number of victims. They knew that every single compromised PayPal account can potentially yield significant financial gains, but they were never going to settle just for the money. Here's how the whole scam unfolds.

An unusual login email alert

As you might imagine, the attack begins with an email, which, in this particular case, tries to convince you that an unauthorized person has accessed your PayPal account. To make the message sound more convincing, the hackers include the date of the supposed incident as well as details on the intruder's operating system and browser. The email also says that your account has been locked down and that you can regain access to it by following a link and "confirming your identity." Those of you with an active interest in cybersecurity probably know what's going to happen next.

They also know that this is hardly a groundbreaking tactic. Phishers often try to steal login credentials from users by persuading them that their accounts might have been hacked. This is because when they are presented with this particular scenario, people tend to panic, and in their haste, they often overlook some glaring mistakes that the criminals make.

If you do click through, you will be led to a fake PayPal page that is designed to look like the real thing. First, you need to complete a CAPTCHA challenge, and then you are asked for your PayPal login credentials.

It's not just about the username and password this time

In a typical phishing attack, once the victims give away their login credentials, they are either shown a fake error message prompting them to try again later, or they are simply redirected to their real accounts. In this case, things are a little bit different.

After the login data has been stolen, the fake website tells you that your PayPal account is still locked due to the alleged unauthorized access. To unlock it, you must verify your personal information. The first form asks you for your name, physical address, phone number, and date of birth. A second form requests your credit card details, and a third one prompts you to enter some information related to the bank account associated with your PayPal profile. Finally, you are asked to "link" your email account by providing the address and the password.

ESET's screenshots show that the hackers really did pull off all the stops to create a phishing page that looks legitimate. The logos, the colors, and the fonts are all more or less perfect, and the hackers have even gone through the trouble of installing an SSL certificate, which means that people who are taught to look for the green padlock in the address bar will see it and will assume that the page is completely safe. In other words, there are plenty of things that might fool you into thinking that you really are securing your PayPal account. Then again, there are quite a few other tell-tale signs that, if noticed, will show you that you are being scammed out of your personal data.

Spotting a few discrepancies is all that is needed to stay safe

The way some modern email clients display the messages in your inbox means that telling a malicious email from a legitimate one could be tricky. Nevertheless, if you're careful enough, you will still see some mistakes that can tip you off.

ESET's report doesn't say whether the phishers bothered to spoof the sender's email address, but even if it looks fine, you may see, for example, that the message contains no logos or other formatting features that are usually associated with this sort of communication. In addition to this, although we've seen far worse, the text contains a few grammatical mistakes – a common giveaway in phishing attacks.

Those who fail to notice the grammatical errors can still spot the domain hosting the phishing page. The hackers can easily put a green padlock in the address bar of your browser, but they can't change the actual address, which means that a simple glance at the URL will show you that you're not entering your information on the real PayPal website.

And even if you don't see that, you can still notice a few things that seem strange as well as a few others that seem downright wrong.

The CAPTCHA challenge at the beginning of the attack is an interesting addition, for example. On the one hand, its placement seems only logical considering the fact that someone has allegedly been trying to break into your account. Then again, a CAPTCHA challenge at this particular stage is unusual, which might make you think twice before moving on.

You are much more likely to realize that something's wrong when the phishing page asks you for your email password. PayPal should never have this sort of information, and it would never ask for it. We sincerely hope that when they see this particular request, many of you will instantly know that they are being scammed. Unfortunately, by that time, they will have already given away tons of personal information, which goes to show that the only real way of staying safe is to keep your eyes peeled at all times and to be careful with every single click.

January 2, 2020

Leave a Reply