不,即使對於簡單的IoT設備,9999也不是一個好密碼

看起來,即使經過多年的培訓並受到安全提示和信息的轟炸,但在網絡安全方面,我們仍然沒有正確的思維方式。令人欣喜的是,最新的一次小事件使這一消息再次得到印證。

在WeWork員工之間共享的用於運行打印機作業的用戶帳戶已設置為使用令人震驚的簡單密碼-在這種情況下,密碼為“ 9999”。 WeWork是一家商業房地產公司,為客戶提供共享的工作區。一位名叫Jake Easley的WeWork客戶在該公司倫敦分支機構工作,通過簡單地猜測密碼就成功登錄了該帳戶。

當需要在共享設備上打印文檔時,像Easley先生這樣的人通常會得到一個七位數的用戶名字符串和四位數的密碼字符串。但是,此特定帳戶的用戶名僅為4,而不是7位數字,為“ 9999”。 Easley只是猜出了密碼,因為它恰好與用戶名“ 9999”相同。

該帳戶的設置方式不允許其查看打印任務的實際內容,但是Easley發現,如果他通過打印Web門戶服務登錄到“ 9999”帳戶,則可以進行打印其他客戶排隊到同一網絡上任何其他打印機的任務。

問題在於,也可以通過客人可以使用的免費Wi-Fi網絡訪問打印Web門戶,而該Wi-Fi網絡根本沒有密碼。

在Easley就此問題與TechCrunch聯繫之後,公司收到該問題的警報後,已採取了措施。 WeWork代表Colin Hart表示,該公司正在調查此問題,並已採取措施解決所有問題。 Hart進一步表示,WeWork正在經歷整個網絡的打印升級過程,其中包括加強的安全措施。

這次小事件僅表明即使經過某種數字安全培訓的公司員工在使用帳戶憑據時也容易做出錯誤的選擇和錯誤。

有人會認為,即使使用簡單的,與Internet連接的設備(例如CCTV攝像機或打印機),使用“ 12345”或任何數字字符串也是密碼的可怕主意,這是一種普遍的知識。但是,在我們所有人都超過了使用“ password”或“ 9999”作為密碼字符串的階段之前,這似乎需要花費更多的精力。

November 4, 2020

發表評論

No, 9999 Is Not a Good Password, Even for a Simple IoT Device

It seems that even after years of training and being bombarded with security tips and information, we are still not in the right mindset when it comes to cyber security. The latest, thankfully minor incident that made the news proves this yet again.

A user account shared among WeWork employees to run printer jobs was set up to use an alarmingly simple password - in this case the password was "9999". WeWork is a commercial real estate company, providing shared workspaces for its customers. A WeWork customer named Jake Easley who works in a London branch of the company managed to log into the account by simply guessing the password.

People like Mr. Easley would usually be given a seven-digit username string and a four-digit password string to use when they need to print documents on shared equipment. However, the username for this particular account was just four instead of seven digits and was "9999". Easley simply guessed the password, because it happened to be the exact same string as the username - "9999".

The account in question was set up in a way that did not allow it to see the actual contents of the printing tasks but Easley discovered that if he logged into the "9999" account through the printing web portal service, he was able to push printing tasks queued by other customers to any other printer on the same network.

The catch is that the printing web portal is also accessible through the free Wi-Fi network that guests can use, which in turn did not have a password at all.

After the company was alerted to the issue following Easley contacting TechCrunch about the issue, measures have been taken. WeWork representative Colin Hart stated that the company is investigating the issue and has taken steps to address any issues. Hart further stated that WeWork was going through a network-wide printing upgrade process that included heightened security measures.

This minor incident only serves to show that even corporate employees that undergo some sort of digital security training are prone to making bad choices and mistakes when working with account credentials.

One would think that it would be universal knowledge that using "12345" or any string of numbers is a terrible idea for a password, even when it comes to a simple, Internet-connected device like a CCTV camera or a printer. However, it looks like this point will take even more hammering home until we all get past the stage of using "password" or "9999" as our password string.

November 4, 2020

Leave a Reply