一個新發現的WhatsApp錯誤證明GIF並不是那麼純真的

您如何喜歡GIF?如果您每天都在線,那麼您可能無法想像沒有它們的社交媒體甚至是短信。也許您將它們用作模因。當您通過某個付款應用程序還清朋友時,也許您會在貨幣交易中附加一個。總而言之,GIF為我們的日常工作增添了一些色彩,因此很清楚為什麼它們如此受歡迎。但是,某些GIF可能也有問題。這正是新加坡安全研究人員發現的最新WhatsApp錯誤所發生的情況。

在深入探討此問題之前,也許我們應該先了解一下WhatsApp在過去一年中遇到的其他問題。毫不奇怪,因為它是世界上最受歡迎的消息傳遞應用程序之一,擁有超過十億的用戶,因此它是各種網絡攻擊的流行目標。還有許多方法可以利用潛在的WhatsApp錯誤和漏洞。例如,早在8月,我們就討論了可以從您的Facebook,Microsoft,Amazon,Google和Apple帳戶中竊取重要信息的WhatsApp間諜軟件 。安全專家認為,如果用戶定期更新其WhatsApp,則可以解決其中的大多數漏洞。

但是,WhatsApp錯誤並不是騙局到達易受攻擊用戶的唯一工具。 網絡釣魚攻擊也可以用來誘騙易受攻擊的用戶洩露其個人信息或洩露其金錢。因此,很明顯,WhatsApp及其用戶始終受到網絡騙子的攻擊,而最新的GIF漏洞只會為他們提供另一種攻擊媒介。畢竟,誰能想到惡意軟件會通過GIF傳播?

幸運的是,犯罪分子似乎沒有利用該漏洞使惡意軟件通過GIF傳播。而且WhatsApp始終發布了修復此錯誤的更新。但是,讓我們更詳細地告訴您。

GIF中的WhatsApp錯誤

新加坡的安全研究人員Awakened發現了實際上可以將GIF變成惡意軟件植入程序的漏洞。研究人員在他們的博客中發布了有關漏洞的信息 ,博客還說Facebook識別出該漏洞,並且已經在WhatsApp版本2.19.244中對其進行了修補。如果您碰巧使用了較舊版本的應用程序,則一定要立即對其進行更新。新版本並不只是關於精美的佈局,新的設計和功能。由於許多安全問題,更新您使用的應用程序也很重要。

那麼,此漏洞如何使惡意軟件通過GIF傳播?覺醒說,有了此WhatsApp錯誤,網絡罪犯可以通過各種渠道將損壞的GIF文件發送給受害者。它可能是通過WhatsApp聊天發送的隨機文檔。如果受害者在聯繫人列表中有攻擊者,也可以自動下載損壞的GIF。因此,現在,損壞的文件已經在用戶的圖庫中。下次用戶打開WhatsApp Gallery通過應用程序發送任何內容時,他們將觸發該錯誤。喚醒者還指出,受害者甚至不需要發送任何東西。單獨打開畫廊會引發感染。

由於它只是一個已修復的漏洞,而且我們還沒有看到任何使用它的感染實例,因此說如何使用它並不容易。 《喚醒》提供了一些有關如果利用此WhatsApp Bug可能發生的情況的見解。研究人員說,該漏洞可以轉化為遠程執行代碼。根據攻擊者可能想要做什麼,該漏洞可能允許惡意軟件通過GIF傳播,然後犯罪分子就可以訪問用戶的聊天記錄和其他個人信息。

補丁發布了

當然,正如我們已經提到的,WhatsApp錯誤已得到修補。現在的工作是確保您使用該應用程序的最新版本。如果您啟用了自動更新功能,則無需擔心。另一方面,您始終可以在“設置”菜單中查看應用程序的規格,如果看到系統提供了安裝較新版本的信息,則您可能希望這樣做。

您還可以採取其他措施來保護您的個人信息免遭惡意利用嗎?除了更新外,密碼在帳戶安全方面也非常重要。如果您對自己創建強密碼沒有信心,可以聘用密碼管理器來為您做。使用時,您始終可以為設備上所有其他應用創建新密碼。

現在,還可以使用第三方鎖定應用程序來保護WhatsApp免受黑客攻擊。也許您不想使用另一個應用程序來保護您的數據,但這是您可能要考慮的一種選擇。

另外,我們也不要忘記兩因素身份驗證 。 WhatsApp允許您打開此附加的身份驗證層,以保護您的帳戶免受潛在的黑客攻擊和利用。啟用兩因素身份驗證後,只有您才能擁有或接收允許您訪問帳戶的令牌。儘管可以破解這種身份驗證,但它無疑增加了黑客越過的另一個障礙,您應該盡快將其打開。

總而言之,任何安全專家都會告訴您,當聰明的黑客想要破解系統時,無論您遇到多少障礙,他們都可以做到。但是,當您採用所有可能的安全措施時,被黑客入侵的可能性就會大大降低。由於我們討論的WhatsApp錯誤極不可能用於傳播惡意軟件,因此您可以放心。但是,只要遇到不熟悉的內容或收到來自未知發件人的郵件,請保持警惕:總是只需單擊一下即可獲得網絡騙局!

December 6, 2019

發表評論

A Newly Uncovered WhatsApp Bug Proves That GIFs Are Not So Innocent

How do you like GIFs? If you’re online every single day, you probably cannot imagine your social media or even your text messaging without them. Maybe you use them as memes. Maybe you attach one to your currency transaction when you pay back your friend via some payment app. All in all, GIFs splash some color into our daily routine, so it is clear why they are so popular. However, some GIFs could prove to be problematic, too. This is exactly what happened with the newest WhatsApp bug that was unearthed by a security researcher from Singapore.

Before we go deeper into this issue, perhaps we should shed a light on other problems that WhatsApp experienced over the last year. It is not surprising at all because it is one of the most popular messaging apps in the world with more than a billion users, and so it is a popular target for various cyber attacks. There are also many ways out there to exploit potential WhatsApp bugs and vulnerabilities. For example, back in August, we talked about WhatsApp spyware that can steal important information from your Facebook, Microsoft, Amazon, Google, and Apple accounts. Security experts maintain that most of these vulnerabilities can be taken care of if users update their WhatsApp regularly.

However, WhatsApp bugs aren’t the only instruments for scams to reach vulnerable users. Phishing attacks can also be employed to trick gullible users into revealing their personal information or giving away their money. So, it is clear that WhatsApp and its users are always targeted by cyber crooks, and the latest GIF vulnerability would just provide them with another attack vector. After all, who could ever think that malware spreads via GIF?

Luckily, it doesn’t look like the vulnerability that allowed malware to spread via GIF was exploited by criminals. And WhatsApp has always issued an update that fixes this bug. However, let us tell you more about it in greater detail.

WhatsApp Bug in GIFs

The vulnerability that can virtually turn a GIF into a malware dropper was discovered by Awakened, a security researcher from Singapore. The researcher posted about vulnerability in their blog, and the blog also says that Facebook recognized the vulnerability, and it was already patched in the WhatsApp version 2.19.244. If you happen to use an older version of the app, you should definitely update it immediately. New versions aren’t all about fancy layouts, new design, and functions. It’s also important to update the apps you use due to a number of security concerns.

So, how did this vulnerability enable malware to spread via GIF? Awakened says that with this WhatsApp bug, a cybercriminal could send a corrupted GIF file to the victim through various channels. It could be a random document sent through WhatsApp chats. The corrupted GIF could also be downloaded automatically if the victim has the attacker on the contact list. So now, the corrupted file is already in the user’s gallery. The next time the user opens WhatsApp Gallery to send anything through the app, they will trigger the bug. Awakened also points out that the victim doesn’t even need to send anything. Opening the gallery alone can trigger the infection.

Since it is only a vulnerability that has been patched already, and we haven’t seen any instances of infections using it, it is not that easy to say how it could be employed. Awakened gives some insight, on what could happen if this WhatsApp Bug were to be exploited. The researcher says that the bug can be turned into a Remote Code Execution. Depending on what the attacker might want to do, the bug could allow malware to spread via GIF, and then the criminals could gain access to user’s chat history and other personal information.

The Patch is out

Of course, as we have mentioned already, the WhatsApp bug has already been patched. Your job right now is to make sure that you use the latest version of the application. If you have the automatic update function on, there’s nothing to worry about. On the other hand, you can always check the app’s specifications in your Settings menu, and if you see that the system offers to install a newer version, you might as well want to do that.

Is there anything else you can do to protect your personal information from malicious exploitation? Aside from updates, passwords are also very important when it comes to account security. If you do not feel confident about creating strong passwords on your own, you can employ a password manager to do it for you. While you are at it, you can always create new passwords for all of the other apps you have on your device.

Now, it is also possible to use third-party lock apps to protect WhatsApp from being hacked. Maybe you wouldn’t want to employ yet another application to protect your data, but it’s an option you might want to consider.

Also, let’s not forget about two-factor authentication, too. WhatsApp allows you to turn on this additional layer of authentication, which protects your account from potential hacks and exploitations. With two-factor authentication on, only you would have or receive the token that would allow you to access the account. Although it is possible to crack this type of authentication, it definitely adds another hurdle for the hackers to jump over, and you should turn it on as soon as possible.

All in all, any security specialist would tell you that when a smart hacker wants to crack a system, they can do it no matter how many hurdles you put in their way. However, the chances of getting hacked are way lower when you employ all the potential security measures. Since it is very unlikely that the WhatsApp bug we have discussed will be used to spread malware, you can breathe a sigh of relief. But please stay alert whenever you encounter unfamiliar content or when you receive messages from unknown senders: cyber scam is always just a click away!

December 6, 2019

Leave a Reply