新研究发现密码可以影响您的心理健康

Passwords Impact Mental Health

根据身份管理解决方案提供商Okta的首席执行官Todd McKinnon的说法,“密码使我们失去了认证因素”。他的公司最近发布了“无密度未来”报告 ,该报告试图证明麦金农先生是对的。然而,有趣的是,它触及了密码对人们心理健康的影响 - 这个问题在关于安全认证的讨论中很少得到解决。

该调查由Opinium进行,涉及英国,法国和荷兰的4,000多名用户。受访者表示,平均而言,他们在日常生活中使用不少于10个密码。他们还承认,他们被迫每月三次点击“忘记密码”链接,他们都同意这会对他们的工作效率产生直接影响。

人们必须处理太多密码

为了抵消这种情况,大多数用户都参与了使他们的在线安全处于严重危险之中的做法。大约6%的人承认他们使用“众所周知的密码”,尽管我们从其他研究论文中得到的数据表明,参与Okta调查的人并不完全诚实。其余的数字似乎也与我们之前所说的相矛盾。例如,该报告称,大约三分之一的工作人员对多个帐户使用相同的密码,这实际上不是其他调查的参与者告诉我们的 。 Okta采访的大约四分之一的受访者表示,他们将密码写在一张纸上,17%的人将这些密码保存在他们的电子设备上。 Okta表示,在尝试管理密码时,共有78%的受访者违反了基本的安全规则。

很难说为什么使用和重复使用弱密码的人数在调查之间变化如此之大,但我们认为Okta研究的一个方面应该非常准确 - 关于密码对用户心理健康影响的部分。

用户真的不喜欢密码

高达63%的受访者表示,纯粹的密码概念会引发负面情绪。法国人最不喜欢密码,73%的人认为他们将传统的认证机制与不愉快的感觉联系在一起。几乎一半的参与者表示,他们对必须记住所有这些密码的负担感到恼火或烦恼,并且大约五分之一的受访者承认密码让他们感到压力或担心。

剑桥大学研究员Maria Bada博士表示,传统的用户名和密码认证机制可能会导致“极度压力”,进而导致“崩溃或倦怠”。换句话说,密码会对您的整体心理健康产生非常严重的影响。

不幸的是,没有简单的方法解决这个问题。生物识别身份验证是常见密码的明显替代方案,但它有一两个问题. 首先,登录在线账户或解锁电子设备的整个概念并非没有缺陷,即使您忽略了这一点,Okta的报告显示人们并不完全了解技术如何工作,因此不愿意相信它,特别是在企业环境中。这就是为什么,虽然指纹识别和面部识别现在已成为数百万消费者设备的一部分,但仍有一种更传统的身份验证方法(通过密码或PIN)作为备份。

换句话说,我们仍然坚持使用痛苦的众所周知的密码,我们需要找到一种方法来使用它们来保护我们的数据,而不会让他们对我们的日常生活施加太多压力。目前,唯一的方法是在Cyclonis Password Manager等密码管理解决方案的帮助下组织和存储所有登录数据。要了解有关它的更多信息,请单击此处

July 16, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 7是什么?

New Study Finds That Passwords Can Impact Your Mental Health

Passwords Impact Mental Health

According to Todd McKinnon, the CEO of identity management solutions provider Okta, 'passwords have failed us as an authentication factor'. His company recently published its 'Passwordless Future' report, which tries to prove Mr. McKinnon right. What is particularly interesting about it is, however, that it touches upon the impact of passwords on people's mental well-being – a question that is rarely addressed during discussions about secure authentication.

The survey was conducted by Opinium, and it involved just over 4 thousand users in the UK, France, and The Netherlands. The interviewed said that on average, they use no fewer than ten passwords in their everyday lives. They also admitted that they are forced to click the "Forgot password" link about three times a month, and they all agree that this has a direct impact on their productivity.

People have to deal with too many passwords

To counteract this, most users engage in practices that put their online security in serious peril. About 6% admit that they use "well-known passwords", though the data we have from other research papers suggest that the people participating in Okta's survey weren't entirely honest. The rest of the figures also seem to be contradicting what we've been told previously. The report says, for example, that about one in three workers use the same password for multiple accounts, which is not really what participants in other surveys have told us. About a quarter of the interviewed by Okta said that they write their passwords down on a piece of paper, and 17% save them on their electronic devices. According to Okta, a total of 78% of the respondents break basic security rules when trying to manage their passwords.

It's difficult to say why the numbers of people who use and reuse weak passwords vary so wildly between surveys, but we reckon that one aspect of Okta's research should be pretty accurate – the part about passwords' effect on users' mental health.

Users really don't like passwords

A whopping 63% of the respondents said that the mere notion of passwords evokes negative emotions. The French are the ones that dislike passwords the most, with 73% admitting that they associate the traditional authentication mechanism with unpleasant feelings. Almost half of all the participants stated that they feel annoyed or hassled by the burden of having to remember all these passwords, and about one in five of the respondents admit that passwords make them feel stressed or worried.

Dr. Maria Bada, a Research Associate at Cambridge University, said that the traditional username-and-password authentication mechanism can cause "extreme stress", which can, in turn, lead to "breakdown or burnout". In other words, passwords can have a very serious effect on your overall mental health.

Unfortunately, there is no easy way around the problem. Biometric authentication is the obvious alternative to the common password, but there are one or two problems with it. For one, the whole concept of logging into online accounts or unlocking electronic devices with a part of your body doesn't come without its faults, and even if you disregard this, Okta's report shows that people aren't completely aware of how the technology works and are therefore unwilling to trust it, especially in the corporate environment. That's why, although fingerprint reading and facial recognition is now a part of millions of consumer devices, there is still a more traditional authentication method (via a password or a PIN) that acts as a backup.

In other words, we're still stuck with the painfully well-known passwords, and we need to figure out a way of using them to protect our data without letting them put too much stress on our everyday lives. Currently, the only way to do this is to organize and store all your login data with the help of a password management solution like Cyclonis Password Manager. To learn more about it, click here.

July 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 2 ?