数以百万计的Facebook和Instagram密码被置于平淡的视野中。现在怎么办?

如果您是狂热的Facebook或Instagram用户,您肯定知道登录您的帐户从未如此简单。当您的密码保存在浏览器或应用程序中时,您的所有设备都可以自动登录。但是,这真的很安全吗?并不是的。现在我们知道密码即使在Facebook本身也不安全。我们指的是最新的头条新闻,称数百万Facebook密码以纯文本形式存储。我们将调查此Facebook隐私问题,然后我们将告诉您如何更改您的Facebook密码。

严重的Facebook隐私问题

Brian Krebs在他的博客中解释了Facebook几周前面临的问题的本质。主要问题是,当您必须处理大量个人数据时,您必须确保外部人员和内部人员都无法轻易查看此数据。它必须保护您的数据,以便黑客不会侵入您的帐户,并且还必须加密或模糊其员工的数据。这就是Facebook失败的地方,因为显然,数以亿计的Facebook密码在系统内以纯文本形式存储(例如在记事本文件中),Facebook员工可以轻松搜索它们。

虽然Facebook声称其员工没有滥用这些数据,但它肯定是一个严重的Facebook隐私泄露,应该在几年前解决。虽然据说现在已经修复了故障,但不能保证它不会再发生。更不用说据说自2012年以来已有数以百万计的密码被曝光,而且无法知道以前的员工是否没有利用这些故障。更重要的是,看起来这种关于用户数据安全的疏忽是非常普遍的,因为Twitter几个月前就发现了类似的问题

这个Facebook隐私问题主要影响Facebook Lite用户。 Facebook Lite是一款定制的Facebook应用程序,专为那些在使用低速手机访问高速连接时遇到问题的用户而设计。然而,该公司应该向成千上万的Facebook和Instagram用户通报这个故障,因为这两个应用程序是相互关联的,因为Instagram归Facebook所有。

关于这个Facebook隐私故障的消息来自其他关于社交媒体平台最近似乎面临的安全问题的报道. 就在上个月, “纽约时报”报道Facebook已与大型数据公司达成协议,这些交易可能超越联邦法律规定的个人数据共享的界限。此外,一些用于双因素身份验证的Facebook应用程序设置也受到了抨击 。显然,如果您设置了双因素身份验证,并且使用了您的电话号码,那么该电话号码会显示在您的个人资料中,任何人都可以查找。一些用户抱怨说没有办法选择退出。

这些报告显示,一次又一次出现不同的Facebook隐私问题,有时用户可以做些什么,除了指出问题,并希望最好。但是,作为有意识的最终用户,您应该采用所有可能的安全措施来保护您的个人数据和Facebook帐户。你要做的第一件事就是改变Facebook或Instagram的密码。

如何更改Facebook密码

定期更改Facebook密码非常重要,特别是如果您想确保避免潜在的隐私问题。幸运的是,更改密码非常容易,您可以按照以下说明进行操作。在尝试更改之前,请确保您已登录浏览器。

  1. 单击Facebook页面右上角的项目符号向下箭头
  2. 选择设置
  3. 转到安全和登录
  4. 找到更改密码并选择编辑
  5. 输入您当前的密码
  6. 输入您的新密码并确认。
  7. 单击保存更改

而且你已经完成了!现在,如果您有Instagram帐户,您可能也想更改该密码. 特别是如果你有一段时间没有这样做。

如何更改Instagram密码

  1. 打开个人资料页面。
  2. 点击右上角的三个水平条图标。
  3. 选择设置,然后转到隐私和 安全
  4. 点按密码
  5. 输入您当前的 密码
  6. 输入您的新密码并确认。
  7. 按右上角的“ 保存 ”。

您的新Instagram密码已保存!现在您只需要确保定期更新密码。

如何确保Facebook隐私和安全?

如上所述,用户保护其社交媒体帐户的最佳方式之一是定期更新其密码。此外,您的密码应该是唯一且复杂的,因此黑客更难以使用暴力来猜测它们。

毋庸置疑,如果您拥有许多社交媒体帐户,则很难跟踪所有密码。当发生这种情况时,用户倾向于在不同的帐户中重复使用密码,但这是一个很大的错误。重复使用密码很容易导致个人数据被盗。

为了让您的生活更轻松,您可以使用密码管理器来帮助您为每个帐户生成强大且唯一的密码。更不用说,密码管理器将存储这些密码,您不必记住它们。最后,您将确保定期更新密码。

当然,当像Facebook这样的公司面临安全问题时,普通终端用户无法减轻损失。但是,你一定能够在晚上获得更好的睡眠,因为你知道你已经尽了一切努力使你的Facebook或Instagram帐户安全。毕竟,个人数据安全是双向的。

April 12, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 5是什么?

Millions of Facebook and Instagram Passwords Were Left in Plain Sight. What Now?

If you are an avid Facebook or Instagram user, you definitely know that signing into your accounts has never been easier. All of your devices can sign you in automatically, when your passwords are saved in your browser or in your app. However, is that really safe? Not really. And now we know well that the passwords aren't safe even within Facebook itself. We are referring to the latest headlines that said millions of Facebook passwords were stored in plain text. We are going to look into this Facebook privacy issue, and then we will tell you how to change your Facebook password.

Severe Facebook Privacy Issues

The essence of the problem that Facebook faced several weeks ago was explained by Brian Krebs on his blog. The main problem is that when you have to process a lot of personal data, you have to make sure that this data cannot be viewed easily by both – outsiders and insiders. It has to protect your data so that hackers cannot break into your account, and it also has to encrypt or obfuscate your data from its employees as well. And that's where Facebook failed because apparently, hundreds of millions of Facebook passwords were stored in plain text (like in a Notepad file, for example) within the system for years, and Facebook employees could easily search them.

Although Facebook claimed that its employees haven't abused that data, it is certainly a severe Facebook privacy breach that should have been solved years ago. Although the glitch is said to have been fixed by now, there is no guarantee that it will not happen again. Not to mention that millions of passwords are said to have been exposed since 2012, and there is no way to know whether any previous employees hadn't taken advantage of the glitch. What's more, it looks like this negligence regarding user data security is quite prevalent, as Twitter unearthed a similar issue just a few months ago.

This Facebook privacy issue affected mostly Facebook Lite users. Facebook Lite is a custom Facebook app that is designed for users who have problems with accessing high-speed connections with low-speed phones. However, the company should be notifying hundreds of thousands of Facebook and Instagram users about the glitch because both apps are interconnected since Instagram is owned by Facebook.

The news about this Facebook privacy glitch came amidst other reports about the security struggles that social media platforms seem to have been facing recently. Just last month, the New York Times reported that Facebook has struck deals with large data companies, and these deals might overstep the boundaries of personal data sharing defined by federal laws. Also, some of the Facebook app settings for two-factor authentication came under fire as well. Apparently, if you set up the two-factor authentication, and you use your phone number for that, that phone number appears on your profile and anyone can look it up. Some users complained that there is no way to opt out of this.

These reports show that time and again different Facebook privacy issues arise, and sometimes there isn’t much what users can do about it, save for pointing the issue out, and hoping for the best. However, as a conscious end user, you should employ all the security measures possible to secure your personal data and your Facebook account. And the first thing you can do is change Facebook or Instagram password.

How to change Facebook password

Changing Facebook password regularly is important, especially if you want to ensure that you avoid potential privacy issues. Luckily, it is rather easy to change your password, and you can do it by following the instructions below. Just make sure you are logged in on your browser before you attempt to change it.

  1. Click the bullet down arrow at the top right corner of your Facebook page.
  2. Choose Settings.
  3. Go to Security and Login.
  4. Find Change Password and select Edit.
  5. Enter your current password.
  6. Enter your new password and confirm it.
  7. Click Save Changes.

And you’re done! Now, if you have an Instagram account, you might want to change that password too. Especially if you haven't done that in a while.

How to change Instagram password

  1. Open your Profile page.
  2. Tap the three horizontal bar icon at the top right.
  3. Select Settings and go to Privacy and Security.
  4. Tap Password.
  5. Enter your current password.
  6. Enter your new password and confirm it.
  7. Press Save at the top right.

Your new Instagram password has been saved! Now you just need to make sure that you renew your passwords on a regular basis.

How can I ensure Facebook privacy and security?

As mentioned, one of the best ways for users to protect their social media accounts is renewing their passwords regularly. Also, your passwords should be unique and complex, so that it is harder for hackers to guess them using brute force.

Needless to say, if you have many social media accounts, it is hard to keep track of all your passwords. When that happens, users tend to reuse passwords across different accounts, but that is a big mistake. Reusing passwords can easily lead to personal data theft.

To make your life easier, you can use a password manager that will help you generate strong and unique passwords for every single account. Not to mention, the password manager will store those passwords, and you won't have to memorize them. Finally, you will be sure that your passwords are renewed regularly.

Of course, when companies like Facebook faces security glitches, there isn't much an ordinary end user can do to mitigate the damage. However, you will definitely be able to get a better sleep at night knowing that you have done everything in your power to make your Facebook or Instagram accounts secure. After all, personal data security is a two-way street.

April 11, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 4 ?