微軟,DHL和LinkedIn在2020年網絡釣魚攻擊中被利用的頂級品牌中

2021年1月上旬,Check Point的安全專家發表了他們在去年最後一個季度的網絡釣魚攻擊和攻擊活動的調查結果,揭示了一些有趣的新趨勢和一些未更改的圖表。

在網絡釣魚活動中仍然受到不良行為者最大程度欺騙和模仿的公司和品牌名稱仍與過去幾個季度相同。微軟仍然是2020年第二季度最受開發和模仿最多的品牌的圖表。

鑑於Microsoft辦公套件的廣泛採用,這應該不足為奇。安裝了Microsoft Office 365的公司範圍內的網絡是不良行為者最有利可圖的目標之一,它試圖從常規員工中騙取憑據以獲取初始訪問權限,然後從那裡進行工作,這是威脅參與者最喜歡的攻擊媒介之一。

本季度網絡釣魚活動中使用的虛假Microsoft電子郵件佔所有網絡釣魚活動的43%,而第三季度為19%。 DHL以18%的份額保持在圖表的第二位,比第三季度的9%增長了兩倍。

有趣的新趨勢是對在線零售的嚴重濫用。亞馬遜和宜家甚至沒有在第三季度的網絡釣魚中使用最頻繁的前十名中,但在2020年最後一個季度分別排名第四和第六。這可以用假期期間進行的大規模網絡釣魚活動來解釋購物季節。

DHL僅次於第二名也就不足為奇了。隨著全球Covid-19的鎖定以及從電子產品到日常用品和雜貨的在線購買率顯著提高,送貨服務得到了越來越多的使用。

這使得壞演員很自然地嘗試模仿DHL等送貨服務中的大型家用品牌。

網絡釣魚是不良行為者散佈試圖誘騙客戶的虛假電子郵件的一種做法,他們濫用合法的公司名稱和徽標來誘使受害者單擊包含偽造登錄表單的頁面鏈接,這些表單竊取了憑據。

January 18, 2021

Microsoft, DHL, and LinkedIn Among the Top Brands Exploited in 2020 Phishing Attacks

In early January 2021 security experts with Check Point published their findings on phishing attacks and campaigns in the last quarter of the past year, revealing both some interesting new trends and some unchanged chart toppers.

The company and brand name that are still most heavily spoofed and impersonated by bad actors in phishing campaigns is still the same as it was over the past few quarters. The chart for most heavily exploited and impersonated brand in Q2 2020 is still topped by Microsoft.

This should not be too surprising, given the incredibly widespread adoption of Microsoft's office suite. Company-wide networks that have Microsoft Office 365 installed are one of the most lucrative targets for bad actors and attempting to phish out credentials from regular employees to gain initial access, then work their way from there is one of the favorite attack vectors for threat actors.

Fake Microsoft emails used in phishing campaigns made up for 43% of all phishing activity in the quarter, compared to 19% in Q3. DHL kept the second spot in the chart, with a share of 18% - a twofold quarter over quarter increase from Q3's 9%.

The interesting new trend is the heavy abuse of online retail. Amazon and Ikea weren't even among the top 10 names most heavily used in phishing in Q3, while they took respectively fourth and sixth place in the last quarter of 2020. This can be explained with the massive phishing campaigns that take place during the holiday shopping season.

DHL remaining in the second spot is also not a big surprise. With worldwide Covid-19 lockdowns and a significantly increased rate of online purchasing, from electronics, to everyday items and groceries, delivery services are being used a lot more.

This makes it very natural for bad actors to try and mimic the big, household brands in delivery services such as DHL.

Phishing is the practice of bad actors sending out fake emails that attempt to lure the customer, abusing legitimate company names and logos to get victims to click on links to pages that contain fake login forms that steal credentials.

January 18, 2021