每个Outlook用户都必须采取措施避免重大安全漏洞

Outlook Data Breach

上周五,Outlook用户开始接收来自微软的违规通知电子邮件,除了告诉他们未知的攻击者已经访问了收件箱中的某些信息之外,还告诉他们这家位于雷德蒙德的巨头“致力于为我们的客户提供透明度”。如果你已经阅读了很长时间的数据泄露事件,你可能已经厌倦了这种样板语句,尤其是因为它们经常被证明没有任何真正的价值或可信度。但是微软怎么样?它真的试图尽可能透明吗?让我们来看看发生了什么并找出答案。

黑客未经授权访问Outlook电子邮件

根据该电子邮件,在1月1日至3月28日期间,“微软以外的个人”设法渗透用户的Outlook帐户并访问了受害者自己的电子邮件地址,他们一直在与之通信的电子邮件地址,文件夹名称和主题行。在最初属于Microsoft支持代理的一组登录凭据落入坏人之后,攻击成为可能。一旦他们了解到这一点,比尔盖茨的安全专家就将失窃的证书无效并停止了攻击。

根据人们在社交媒体上分享的通知,攻击者无法访问任何电子邮件或附件。虽然受害者的Microsoft登录凭据保持不变,但受影响的用户被要求更改其密码,以防万一。

微软警告用户他们可能会看到网络钓鱼和垃圾邮件的数量有所增加,但是他们没有说明他们是如何检测到未经授权的访问以及为什么花了将近三个月的时间。也没有提供有关受影响人数的信息。 “我们重视透明度”的观点目前看起来有点不稳定,当你看到周末事件如何展开时,情况并没有好转。

微软仍对这些细节保持缄默

Outlook是Hotmail的精神继承者 - Hotmail是世界上最古老的电子邮件提供商之一。它拥有数以亿计的活跃账户,其中一些被破坏的消息永远不会被忽视。周六,TechCrunch 报道了这个故事,并要求微软进一步发表评论。不幸的是,细节再次在实地仍然薄弱。除了说“有限”的人受到影响而且他们都不是企业客户之外,微软没有透露任何进一步的信息。

虽然硅谷巨人试图说服所有人并不像看起来那么糟糕,但是主板的约瑟夫考克斯正在准备一份他周一发表的报道 。显然,一位接近肇事者的消息来源与他取得了联系,并向他提供了描绘不同画面的信息. 例如,他被告知黑客可以访问帐户六个月而不是三个月,并且在攻击期间,他们闯入了一些iCloud帐户并摆弄了受害者的安全设置。 Joseph Cox的消息来源还透露,与通知中的声明相反,黑客实际上至少可以访问一些目标的电子邮件和附件。

很自然地,微软的公关人员再次被要求发表评论,并且他们坚持认为这次袭击不会持续超过三个月。然而,当提供证据时,他们确实承认约6%的受害者的电子邮件通信已被曝光。再一次,受影响个体的确切人数仍然未知。

这是否符合“透明度”的定义是由您决定的。与此同时,如果您是Outlook用户,可以考虑以下一些事项。

Outlook用户应该知道的事情

正如微软在其通知中所述,目前没有任何迹象表明人们的Outlook用户名和密码已被泄露。不过,您可能需要考虑更改密码,特别是如果您是受攻击影响的人之一。

毋庸置疑,您分配给Microsoft帐户的新密码必须既复杂又独特,并且启用双因素身份验证或两步验证(如Microsoft所称)也是一个好主意。为此,请登录到您的Microsoft帐户,转到“ 安全 ”选项卡,然后单击“ 更多安全选项 ”。单击“ 设置两步验证 ”并按照步骤操作。

如果您真的想让黑客的生活更加艰难,您可以创建一个新的别名,并使用它而不是真实的电子邮件登录您的帐户。转到“ 您的信息 ”标签,单击“ 管理您登录Microsoft的方式 ”,然后选择“ 添加电子邮件 ”。这使您可以创建一个新的@ outlook.com电子邮件地址,黑客不会知道。选择尚未拍摄的地址,然后单击“ 添加别名 ”。现在,单击“生成主要 ”以有效地将新别名转换为Microsoft帐户的用户名。最后,转到“ 更改登录首选项 ”并取消选中旧电子邮件地址旁边的框。

有了这个,您将能够使用每个人都知道的地址发送和接收电子邮件,但您和其他任何人都无法使用它来登录您的Microsoft帐户。这看起来似乎太辛苦了,事实上,对于许多用户来说,这可能是过度的。不过,很高兴知道微软允许它。

不幸的是,新的Outlook违规行为表明即使是最强大的安全机制也无法与丢失密码的支持代理相匹敌。这里希望我们不再需要再次讨论微软对“透明度”的理解。

April 22, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 5是什么?

Steps Every Outlook User Must Take in the Wake of a Major Security Breach

Outlook Data Breach

Last Friday, Outlook users started receiving breach notification emails from Microsoft which, in addition to telling them that an unknown attacker has accessed some of the information in their inbox, informed them that the Redmond-based giant is 'committed to providing our customers with transparency'. If you've been reading about data breaches for long enough, you've probably grown tired of this sort of boilerplate statements, not least because often, they turn out to be void of any true value or credibility. But what about Microsoft? Is it really trying to be as transparent as possible? Let's take a look at what happened and find out.

Hackers had unauthorized access to Outlook emails

According to the email, between January 1 and March 28, "individuals outside Microsoft" managed to infiltrate users' Outlook accounts and got access to details like the victim's own email address, the email addresses they've been communicating with, folder names, and subject lines. The attack was made possible after a set of login credentials that originally belonged to a Microsoft support agent fell into the wrong hands. As soon as they learned about it, Bill Gates' security experts invalidated the stolen credentials and stopped the attack.

According to the notifications people shared on social media, the attackers had no access to any email messages or attachments. Although victims' Microsoft login credentials remained intact, affected users were asked to change their passwords, just in case.

Microsoft warned users that they might see an uptick in the phishing and spam emails, but they failed to say how they detected the unauthorized access and why it took them close to three months to do so. No information was given on the number of people that were affected, either. The "we value transparency" argument is looking a bit shaky at the moment, and things don't get much better when you see how the events unfolded over the weekend.

Microsoft remains tight-lipped on the details

Outlook is the spiritual successor of Hotmail – one of the oldest email providers in the world. It has hundreds of millions of active accounts, and the news that some of them have been breached was never going to go unnoticed. On Saturday, TechCrunch covered the story and asked Microsoft for further comment. Unfortunately, details remained thin on the ground once again. Other than saying that "a limited" number of people have been affected and that none of them are enterprise customers, Microsoft disclosed no further information.

While the silicon valley colossus was trying to convince everybody that it's not as bad as it seems, Motherboard's Joseph Cox was preparing a report which he published on Monday. Apparently, a source close to the perpetrators got in touch with him and gave him information that painted a somewhat different picture. For example, he was told that the hackers had access to the accounts for six rather than three months and that during the attack, they broke into some iCloud accounts and fiddled with victims' security settings. Joseph Cox's source also revealed that contrary to the claims in the notification, the hackers actually had access to at least some of the targets' email messages and attachments.

Naturally enough, Microsoft's PR people were asked for comment yet again, and they remained firm that the attack didn't last for more than three months. When presented with the evidence, however, they did admit that the email communication of about 6% of the victims had been exposed. Once again, the exact number of affected individuals remained unknown.

Whether this fits the definition of "transparency" is for you to decide. In the meantime, here are some things you should probably consider if you are an Outlook user.

Things Outlook users should know

As Microsoft stated in their notification, at the moment, there is nothing to suggest that people's Outlook usernames and passwords were compromised. Nevertheless, you might want to think about changing your password, especially if you're one of the people that were affected by the attack.

Needless to say, the new password you assign to your Microsoft account must be both complex and unique, and enabling two-factor authentication or two-step verification, as Microsoft calls it, is also a good idea. To do that, log in to your Microsoft account, go to the "Security" tab, and click "more security options". Click "Set up two-step verification" and follow the steps.

If you really want to make hackers' lives harder, you can create a new alias and use it instead of your real email to log in to your account. Go to the "Your info" tab, click "Manage how you sign in to Microsoft", and select "Add email". This lets you create a new @outlook.com email address which will not be known to the hackers. Select an address that hasn't been taken already and click "Add alias". Now, click "Make primary" to effectively turn your new alias into the username for your Microsoft account. Finally, go to "Change sign-in preferences" and uncheck the box next to your old email address.

With that, you will be able to send and receive emails using the address everybody knows, but neither you nor anyone else will be able to use it to log in to your Microsoft account. This may seem like too much hard work, and indeed, for many users, it could be overkill. Nevertheless, it's good to know that Microsoft allows it.

Unfortunately, the new Outlook breach shows that even the most robust security mechanism is no match for a support agent who loses track of his password. Here's hoping that we won't need to discuss Microsoft's understanding of "transparency" ever again.

April 17, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 9 ?