长密码与复杂密码:哪个优越?

让我们面对现实,当涉及到登录身份验证时,没有比旧密码好用的工具了。无论您要登录电子邮件帐户,智能手机,PayPal帐户还是《魔兽世界》帐户,都无所谓,无论您要去哪里,都将使用密码,而且密码可能很薄弱。问题是普通用户使用可预测的模式,单词或日期,并且几乎永远不会更改它。结果,大多数网站和应用程序都增加了对用户密码的要求。这些天来,您不能在不满足最小长度要求的情况下创建密码,并且出于充分的理由使用大写和小写字母,符号和/或数字。无论您是否意识到,大多数网站,帐户(如您的银行帐户),社交网络和电子邮件每天都会被恶意第三方进行探测和测试。受到影响的不仅是您自己,一个被黑客入侵的帐户也可能是整个战役的门户,例如网络钓鱼电子邮件诈骗,这在最近几年已经很普遍了。在当今时代,安全密码比以往任何时候都更加重要。

但是,长度或复杂度中哪个更重要?

复杂度通常不被视为安全密码的关键方面。随机收集数字,字母和符号看起来像是针对黑客的最佳防御措施。使用字典式黑客的恶意软件无法确定您在这种配置中使用了哪个单词或单词组合,但是它们确实是抵御所有黑客攻击的最有效的防御措施吗?简短的回答:不。由于用户倾向于认为密码越复杂,攻击者越不可能发现它,因此他们通常会创建短密码。因此,恶意软件工具可以快速尝试所有可能的组合键,直到幸运为止,从而强行破坏您的安全。这种暴力手段被用来入侵iCloud并泄露数百位名人的私人照片和信息。由于增加了简短但复杂的密码,此类方法已变得越来越有效,因为大多数用户无法记住字符串或随机数和符号,因此他们倾向于使用可预测的模式,例如相邻密钥或连续数字。

那么,似乎需要很长的密码,不是吗?密码越长,所谓的“密码熵”越大,表示密码的不可预测性。基本上,添加到密码中的每个额外密钥都会增加其不确定性并使其更加安全。

“从这种角度看待密码时,与定义的复杂性要求相比,密码长度真正变得更加重要。要进一步说明这一点,如果您使用的字符集为10(为了获得与94个字符集(所有可能的ASCII字符)相同的熵,您只能将密码的长度加倍(换句话说,就是由16个字符组成的密码)仅由数字组成的数字就提供了与由94个可能的字符组成的8字符密码相同的难破解级别,” Microsoft TechNet博客指出。

那么,合理安全的密码的最佳长度是多少?乔治亚理工学院在2010年进行了一项研究,发现至少12个随机字符可能是确保足够安全性的最小长度。

但是,不要仅仅因为您的密码为35个字符而陷入一种虚假的安全感。的确,密码越长,密码熵越好,而且长短语可能比随机数字和符号更容易记住,但是人们倾向于使用熟悉的单词和短语,例如名称,日期,事件,这也是事实。等等。虽然这些熟悉的单词和短语可能会帮助您记住密码,但它们也使黑客更容易找出密码。

其他因素

请放心,即使写下最安全的密码并将其保存在有人可以找到的地方,它也不会生效。用户也应避免其他不良习惯,例如将密码保存到浏览器。无论做什么,都不要与任何人共享密码,请记住,经常更改密码很重要。

结论

看起来最好的选择是一长串随机字母,数字和符号,基本上是两全其美。此外,安全专家建议添加大写和小写字母,空格,故意拼写错误,标点符号和其他技巧。没有密码是100%安全的,但是遵循这些准则将增加密码的强度。

May 23, 2019

Long Passwords Versus Complex Passwords: Which Is Superior?

Let's face it, when it comes to login authentication, there isn't a more used tool than the good old password. It doesn't matter if you're trying to login into your email account, your smartphone, your PayPal account, or your World of Warcraft account, wherever you're going you're going to use a password, and it's probably weak. The problem is that the average user uses predictable patterns, words, or dates and almost never changes it. As a consequence, most websites and apps have added requirements towards user passwords. These days you can't create a password without fulfilling a minimum length requirement, as well as use upper and lower case letters, symbols, and/or numbers, and for good reason. Whether you are aware of it or not, most websites, accounts (like your bank account), social networks, and e-mails are probed and tested by malicious third parties on a daily basis. It's not just you who is affected either, a single hacked account can be the gateway for a whole campaign, such as phishing email scams that are all but commonplace in recent years. In this day and age, secure passwords are more important than ever.

But which is more important, length or complexity?

Complexity is more often than not regarded as a key aspect of a secure password. A random collection of numbers, letters, and symbols looks like the best defensive measure against hackers. Malware using dictionary-style hacks can't figure out what word or word combination you used in such a configuration, but are they truly the most effective defense against all hacking attacks? Short answer: no. Because users tend to think the more complex the password, the less likely it is an attacker can figure it out, they often create short passwords. Because of this, a malware tool can brute force its way through your security by rapidly attempting all possible key combinations until it gets lucky. This sort of brute force tactic was used to hack iCloud and leak the private photos and information of hundreds of celebrities. Such methods have become increasingly effective thanks to the increase in short, but complex passwords, because most users cannot remember strings or random numbers and symbols they tend to use predictable patterns such as adjacent keys or consecutive numbers.

Lengthy passwords seem necessary then, don't they? The longer the password the greater the so-called "password entropy", a measurement of how unpredictable a password is. Basically, each extra key added to your password increases its uncertainty and makes it more secure.

"When looking at passwords in this light, it really starts to become clear how much more important the password length is, as opposed to the defined complexity requirements.  To further this point, if you're using passwords with a character set of 10 (only numbers), in order to achieve the same amount of entropy as a character set of 94 (all possible ASCII characters), you only have the double the password's length.  To say it another way, a password that is 16 characters long made up of only numbers provides the same level of difficultly-to-crack as an 8 character password made up of the possible 94 possible characters," a Microsoft TechNet blog notes.

So what is the optimal length for a reasonably secure password? The Georgia Tech Research Institute conducted a study back in 2010, which discovered a minimum of 12 random characters could be the minimum length for adequate security.

However, don't be lulled into a false sense of security just because your password is 35 characters. While it's true that the longer a password the better its password entropy is, and that long phrases might be simple to remember than random numbers and symbols, it's also true that people tend to use familiar words and phrases, such as names, dates, events, etc. While these familiar words and phrases might help you remember your password, they also make it that much easier for a hacker to figure out.

Other factors

Rest assured that even the most secure password will not be effective if you write it down and keep it where someone might find it. Other bad habits like saving your password to browsers should be avoided by users as well. Whatever you do don't share your password with anyone, and remember that it's important to change your password frequently.

In conclusion

It looks like the best choice is a long string of random letters, numbers, and symbols, basically the best of both worlds. Additionally, security experts recommend the addition of upper and lower case letters, spaces, intentional misspelling, punctuation and other tricks. No password is 100% secure, but following these guidelines will increase its strength.

March 30, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 9 ?