忽略“在视频中是你吗?”通过Facebook的Messenger发送的消息

仅仅因为我们翻开了日历上的新一页,并最终给我们留下了动荡的2020年,这并不意味着我们在数字世界中是安全的,也不意味着网络犯罪分子会魔术般消失。相反,我们应该为新的和更狡猾的攻击做好准备,并提出坏分子的办法。

自12月下旬以来一直在进行此类攻击的一种新攻击方法是使用Facebook的Messenger窃取凭据并破坏帐户。并非所有被盗用的帐户都以明显的方式立即被滥用。很多时候,犯罪分子会以微妙的方式使用他们拥有控制权的帐户。这个新骗局就是一个例子。

Facebook用户将通过Messenger通过已知的Facebook联系人收到看似无害的消息。该消息将显示为“在视频中是您吗?”,其中包含看似嵌入式视频的内容,但实际上是带有视频帧和涂满“播放”按钮的热链接黑色图像。

自然,如果您从不是您的朋友的坏演员使用的木偶帐户中收到类似的消息,则您将高度怀疑或完全忽略该流浪消息并将其关闭。但是,从一个已知的,受信任的朋友那里收到类似的邮件,该帐户的帐户已受到破坏,这使该邮件更具可信度,并且用户更容易陷入该骗局。

如果受害人陷入骗局并单击超链接的图像,则他们将被带到假的Facebook登录门户,要求他们的登录凭据以“验证您的帐户信息”,如假的登录门户所述。实际上,用户被URL缩短器吸引到了一个随机生成的域上,而快速浏览该页面的URL就会显示该伪造的登录表单与Facebook无关。

以伪造的网络钓鱼形式提供您的凭据,不仅将其交给骗局后面的骗子,还模拟了短暂的登录延迟,然后将受害者定向到另一个随机选择的骗局。 Sophos的安全研究人员认为,使用假冒网络钓鱼形式的不良行为者与操作那些随机选择的骗局的组织没有直接关系。

无论您在个人计算机上使用了多少层安全保护,在类似情况下,常识仍然是您的最佳防御方法。即使您在好友消息中单击虚假视频,只需双击地址栏中的URL,即可轻松避开该骗局。

您可以做的一件事将有助于进一步传播这些骗局,即立即通知向您发送类似虚假消息的朋友其帐户已被盗用。

January 4, 2021

发表评论

Ignore 'Is it you in the video?' Messages Sent via Facebook's Messenger

Just because we have turned over a new leaf on the calendar and have finally left a tumultuous 2020 behind us, does not mean that we are safe in the digital world or that cyber criminals will magically disappear. On the contrary, we should be ready for new and more cunning attacks and approaches bad actors will come up with.

One such new attack that has been making the rounds since late December uses Facebook's Messenger to steal credentials and compromise accounts. Not all compromised accounts are immediately abused in an obvious way. A lot of times, criminals would use an account they have control over in subtler ways. This new scam is an example of this.

A Facebook user would receive a seemingly innocent message from a known Facebook contact over Messenger. The message would read "Is it you in the video" and contain what looks like an embedded video but is really a hotlinked black image with a video frame and a painted-over 'play' button.

Naturally, if you would receive a similar message from a puppet account used by the bad actors who is not your friend, you would be either highly suspicious or outright disregard the stray message and close it. However, receiving something similar from a known, trusted friend whose account has already been compromised lends the message a lot more believability and users are much more likely to fall for the scam.

If a victim would fall for the scam and click on the hyperlinked image, they would be taken to a fake Facebook login portal, asking for their login credentials to "verify your account information", as the fake login portal states. In reality, the user is taken through a URL shortener and dropped on a randomly generated domain and a quick glance at the page's URL would reveal that the fake login form has nothing to do with Facebook.

Feeding your credentials in the fake phishing form not only hands them over to the crooks behind the scam, it also simulated a short login delay and then directs the victim to another randomly chosen scam. Security researchers with Sophos believe that the bad actors operating the fake phishing form are not directly related to the group operating those randomly chosen scams.

No matter how many layers of security you use on your personal computer, your common sense remains your best defense in similar situations. The scam in this instance can be easily dodged even if you do click the fake video in your friend's message by simply double-checking the URL in the address bar.

One thing you can do that will help propagate those scams any further is to immediately inform a friend who sends you similar fake messages that their account has been compromised.

January 4, 2021

Leave a Reply