如果您有ShopBack帐户,请立即更改密码

ShopBack是一个现金奖励平台,在亚太地区有500万以上的客户使用该平台,遭受了网络攻击,现在敦促所有用户尽快更改其密码。

该平台向所有客户发送了一封电子邮件,通知他们对其包含客户个人数据的系统的“未经授权的访问”。通知电子邮件中指出,该公司仍在确定不良行为者访问了哪些种类和数量的数据的过程。同一封电子邮件还敦促用户立即更改其密码,以避免任何可能滥用其帐户的情况。该公司表示,已经聘请了网络安全专家来评估和处理漏洞,并在将来帮助增强平台的安全性。

即使ShopBack声称用户密码已安全加密,也不应忽略该警告,任何平台用户都应尽快更改其密码。客户可以使用网站的“忘记密码”功能更改密码,并为其帐户创建新密码。此外,ShopBack敦促用户以电话确认通知的形式使用平台的多因素身份验证,以帮助提高其帐户的安全性。

该平台正在收集用户名,电子邮件,出生日期和银行帐号。即使没有确凿的证据表明这些信息中的任何信息已被滥用或转售到暗网上的任何地方,但鉴于此时尚未完全评估漏洞的严重程度,这种可能性始终存在。

虽然黑客会泄漏密码,但除了迅速采取行动并希望获得最好的结果外,用户无所事事,但为任何网站或服务创建密码时,仍然值得遵循良好做法。首先,最好是为每个单独的登录使用不同的密码。这样一来,一次泄漏或黑客攻击就无法使不良行为者访问跨多个平台的所有帐户。其次,使用强壮,复杂且相对较长的密码始终是值得的。

如今,许多平台都需要至少十二个字符,而某些平台则需要混合使用字母,符号和数字来验证密码,从而有效地实施了良好的密码惯例。将大写和小写字母与那些特殊的符号和数字混合使用,会大大扩展组合的数量,并使强行使用这种密码变得更加困难。密码字符串的这种相对复杂性以及跟踪多个密码似乎很麻烦,但是值得一提的是提高安全性。

September 30, 2020

发表评论

If You Have a ShopBack Account, Change Your Password Now

ShopBack, a cash reward platform that is used by over 5 million customers in the Asia-Pacific region, suffered a cyberattack and is now urging all its users to change their passwords as soon as possible.

The platform sent an email to all its customers, informing them of "unauthorized access" to their systems that contain customer personal data. The notification email stated that the company was still going through the process of identifying what sort and volume of data was accessed by the bad actors. The same email urged users to immediately change their passwords to avoid any potential misuse of their accounts. The company stated that cybersecurity experts have been hired to assess and deal with the breach, as well as help enhance the platform's security in the future.

Even though ShopBack claims user passwords are securely encrypted, the warning should not be ignored and any platform users should change their password as soon as they can. Customers can change their passwords using the website's "forgotten password" functionality and create a new password for their account. Additionally, ShopBack urged users to make use of the platform's multi-factor authentication, in the form of phone confirmation notifications, to help make their accounts more secure.

The platform was collecting user names, emails, date of birth and bank account numbers. Even though there is no hard evidence that any of this information has been misused or resold anywhere on the dark web, the possibility always exists, given that the extent and the severity of the breach has not been fully assessed at this point in time.

While a hack that leaks passwords leaves users with nothing to do except act fast and hope for the best, it is still worth following good practices when creating passwords for any website or service. First and foremost, it's a great idea to use a different password for each separate login. This makes it impossible for a single leak or hack to give bad actors access to all your accounts across multiple platforms. Secondly, it's always worth it to use a strong, complex and relatively long password.

Many platforms these days require at least a dozen characters and some demand a mix of letters, symbols and numbers to validate a password, effectively enforcing good password practices. Mixing upper and lowercase letters with those special symbols and digits vastly expands the number of combinations and makes brute-forcing such a password much harder. This relative complexity of password strings and keeping track of multiple passwords can seem like a chore, but the tradeoff of improved security is well worth it.

September 30, 2020

Leave a Reply