如果银行通过短信向您发送密码,则此Android特洛伊可能会窃取它们

Geost Banking Trojan

您是否仍然认为成功进行恶意软件操作取决于有才能的黑客创建定制的恶意软件片段,从而使安全研究人员和执法机构远离气味?您可能想再考虑一下。例如,最近发现的一个名为Geost的Android银行木马已成功感染了俄罗斯和东欧的80万种设备,其运营商已经收集了登录凭据,可能使他们有机会获得受害者数百万欧元的收益。银行账户。

他们于2016年首次推出了该产品,并设法将其保留到今年初,直到考虑到骗子犯下的一连串的操作安全性(opsec)时,这才更加令人惊讶。但是,在我们接触它们之前,让我们先看看Geost是如何工作的。

Geost –一个强大的银行木马,可以窃取您的密码

首先由捷克技术大学的Sebastian Garcia,捷克共和国的UNCUYO大学的Maria Jose Erquiaga和Avast的Anna Shirokova撰写的研究论文中详细介绍了该恶意软件。研究人员在审查HtBot的活动时偶然发现了Geost。HtBot是恶意软件运营商为了重定向其恶意流量而租用的地下代理网络。

在监视通信时,专家们注意到来自俄罗斯设备的流量异常大,经过彻底调查,他们意识到他们正在查看以前未记录的Android恶意软件。

Geost的运营商通过获取合法的Android应用程序,对其进行诱骗诱捕并通过第三方应用程序商店进行分发来感染受害者。一旦将木马放在设备上,它就可以窃取各种信息,尽管它的主要重点是银行密码。

大部分凭据从短信中被盗

塞巴斯蒂安·加西亚 Sebastian Garcia) 告诉ZDNet ,在银行以短信形式将其发送给受害人后,多达90%的泄露密码被盗。

即使您完全忽略了诸如Geost之类的木马都可以轻易窃取短信的事实,但是以SMS形式发送在线银行密码的做法(在俄罗斯似乎比较普遍)仍然是一个坏消息,因为这意味着财务机构以易于阅读的格式存储它们

对于不通过不安全的媒体传递敏感信息的银行,Geost旨在使用一次性登录表单来欺骗凭据。. 被盗数据通过HtBot代理网络重定向,并发送到至少13台C&C服务器之一。

Opsec Facepalms促成了Geost的发现

Geost的运营商显然不知道安全研究人员正在监视他们雇用的HtBot代理网络,但是即使这样,他们也应该已经发现,受感染设备超过80万台,增加的流量可能会引起人们对其操作的关注。但是,他们没有这样做,并且他们也忘记了在传输数据时可能应该采取一些措施来保护数据。

骗子并没有为他们的C&C服务器使用SSL证书,这意味着受感染设备和骗子的后端基础结构之间的流量相当容易被拦截。专家们对C&C内部进行了窥视,并对整个操作的运行方式有了很好的了解。

他们看到了受感染手机数量的统计数据,其中最受银行攻击的是银行,他们还亲眼目睹了恶意软件如何渗透并自动处理短信。这还不是全部。

在进行调查时,研究人员偶然发现了Skype聊天记录,该记录显示Geost运营商之间进行了超过八个月的交流。聊天历史再次提供了类似此类恶意软件操作过程中精彩内容的特写。它揭示了更多的opsec错误,例如以纯文本形式共享C&C密码,并且表明某一时刻,参与该活动的一些网络犯罪分子对发生的事情并不特别满意。

日志还显示了在公共网站和服务上使用过的昵称,研究人员表示,他们将试图监视站在背后的人们。希望他们能够成功,因为尽管有许多失误,但Geost的运营商仍然设法发起了一次大规模的战役,事实证明该战役非常成功。

October 4, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 2是什么?

If a Bank Sends You Your Passwords via a Text Message, This Android Trojan Could Steal Them

Geost Banking Trojan

Do you still think that a successful malware operation depends on talented hackers creating a bespoke piece of malware that can keep security researchers and law enforcement agencies off the scent? You might want to think again. A recently discovered Android banking trojan by the name of Geost, for example, has managed to infect more than 800 thousand devices in Russia and Eastern Europe, and its operators have collected login credentials that could potentially give them access to millions of euros in victims' bank accounts.

They first launched it in 2016, and they managed to keep it under the radar until earlier this year, which is even more astonishing considering the flurry of operations security (opsec) mistakes the crooks made. Before we get to them, however, let's see how Geost works.

Geost – a powerful banking trojan that can steal your passwords

The malware was first detailed in a research paper written by Sebastian Garcia from the Czech Technical University, Maria Jose Erquiaga from the UNCUYO University in the Czech Republic, and Anna Shirokova from Avast. The researchers discovered Geost by accident while reviewing the activity of HtBot – an underground proxy network that malware operators rent in order to redirect their malicious traffic.

While monitoring the communication, the experts noticed an unusually large volume of traffic coming from Russian devices, and after a thorough investigation, they realized that they were looking at a previously undocumented strain of Android malware.

Geost's operators infect their victims by taking legitimate Android applications, boobie-trapping them, and distributing them through third-party app stores. Once it's on the device, the trojan is capable of stealing all sorts of information, though its main focus is on banking passwords.

Most of the credentials are stolen from text messages

Sebastian Garcia told ZDNet that as much as 90% of the compromised passwords were stolen after the bank sent it to the victim as an SMS.

Even if you completely disregard the fact that there are trojans like Geost that can easily steal text messages, the practice of sending online banking passwords as SMSs (which seems to be relatively common in Russia) is still very bad news because it means that the financial institutions are storing them in a human-readable format.

For banks that don't relay sensitive information over an insecure mediums, Geost is designed to phish the credentials using a one-time login form. The stolen data is redirected through the HtBot proxy network and is sent to one of at least 13 C&C servers.

Opsec facepalms led to Geost's discovery

Geost's operators obviously had no idea that the security researchers were monitoring the HtBot proxy network they had hired, but even so, they should have figured out that with more than 800 thousand infected devices, the increased traffic could draw some attention to their operation. They didn't, however, and they also forgot that they should probably do something to protect that data while it's in transit.

The crooks hadn't bothered with SSL certificates for their C&C servers, which meant that the traffic between the infected devices and the crooks' backend infrastructure was fairly easy to intercept. The experts took a peek inside the C&Cs and got a pretty good insight into how the whole operation is run.

They saw statistics on the number of infected phones, which banks were targeted the most, and they got to see first-hand how the malware exfiltrates and automatically processes text messages. This wasn't all, though.

While they were investigating, the researchers stumbled upon a Skype chat log that revealed more than eight months' worth of communication between the Geost operators. Once again, the chat history offered a brilliant close-up of what goes on during a malware operation like this. It revealed yet more opsec mistakes like the sharing of C&C passwords in plain text, and it showed that at one point, some of the cybercriminals involved in the campaign weren't especially happy with what was going on.

The log has also revealed nicknames that have been used at public websites and services, and the researchers said that they'll try to monitor the people who stand behind them. Hopefully, they'll manage to get to them because, despite all their blunders, Geost's operators have still managed to launch a large-scale campaign that is proving to be quite successful.

October 4, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 4 ?