如何确定网站是否安全

How to Tell if a Website is Safe

我们已经接受某些图像和符号意味着某些事物。例如,挂锁的图片通常与安全性相关联。它似乎是世界上最自然的东西,但这种特殊的习惯可能会对我们起到一个令人讨厌的伎俩。

2011年,网络安全传奇人物特洛伊·亨特 Troy Hunt) 写了一篇关于挂钩的简洁画面的双刃剑有多大,几年后,他讨论了如何误导信任密封件。我们可以从Troy Hunt的帖子中得出的结论是,图像(无论是挂锁符号还是'已验证''印章)永远不足以向我们保证网站是安全的。那么,你能做些什么来弄清楚一个特定的网站是否值得信赖?

寻找SSL证书

曾经有一段时间人们会告诉您,如果页面请求您的登录凭据或信用卡详细信息,则需要通过HTTPS连接,因为这样可以确保您的用户名,密码和其他敏感信息不会被转发以可读的格式。这不再是好建议。您访问的每个网站都应通过HTTPS协议提供。

HTTPS中的“S”代表“安全”,在线服务提供商必须通过安装SSL证书确保通过此类连接访问其网站。过去,SSL证书过去每年花费数百美元,但是现在,主要由于Let's Encrypt计划 ,任何人都可以免费获得一个,所以网站运营商真的没有理由不安装SSL。

SSL证书使用称为传输层安全性(TLS)的加密协议来加密设备与您正在访问的网站之间的所有通信。因此,黑客将无法窃听您在登录过程中发送的用户名和密码。不过,还有更多的东西。

如果通过HTTP连接提供网站,网络犯罪分子不仅可以访问您发送的信息,还可以更改您尝试查看的内容。利用中间人攻击 ,骗子可以利用不安全的网站,提供从烦人的广告到恶意软件的任何东西。这就是为什么,重要的是确保不仅仅是登录表单,而且网站的每个URL都以“https://”开头。

如果广告太多,可能会出现问题

我们最近讨论了广告,我们提到了他们引发的奇怪冲突。一方面,无广告互联网将是一个非常不同的地方. 如果没有广告,我们每天使用的许多免费在线服务将无法使用。与此同时,在线广告经常被滥用,不幸的是,整个行业的运作方式意味着除了安装广告拦截器之外,我们无能为力。

网站上有广告这一事实并不会让它变得危险。但是,如果您看到的广告数量大于平时,并且某些横幅显得特别阴暗,则必须谨慎行事。在这个时代,弹出窗口被认为是一种特别激进的广告形式,这意味着如果你看到它们,你应该考虑点击关闭按钮。网站所有者并不总是对所有广告负责。通常,黑客利用漏洞或使用其他技术将完全合法的网站变成乱七八糟的横幅和令人讨厌的闪烁图像和动画。然而,无论是谁将它们放在那里,都不应低估恶意广告的风险。

看看你即将与之做生意的公司

互联网允许我们通过点击按钮购买东西或订阅服务。不幸的是,正如我们众所周知的那样,网络世界充斥着不诚实的人和诈骗者,而且用户最终也会被欺骗。

您无法遵循任何算法,并确保您不会被骗。然而,关于商家或服务提供商的网站的一些事情可以告诉你更多关于它背后的商业投资。例如,一种易于访问的公司联系方式表明,您正在寻找一个准备与潜在客户互动的真实实体,并且可以在Google地图上找到的合法办公地点也是一个积极的信号。

我们已经在这些页面上讨论了阅读法律文件的痛苦程度,但是通过服务条款和隐私政策仍然是一个好主意,特别是如果您考虑信任服务提供商的付款细节或其他敏感信息信息。

总的来说,如果你只能选择朋友推荐的公司,那就去做吧。如果您不能,请尝试使用Google搜索服务提供商的名称,并在投入订阅或购买之前查看其他人的想法。有时,在线搜索可以在选择正确的产品和提供资金之间做出区分。

注意加密货币挖掘网站

2017年加密货币价值的空前激增意味着网络犯罪分子发现自己正在寻找获得尽可能多的数字硬币的新方法。这产生了所谓的加密攻击 - 使用网站访问者的硬件资源以“挖掘”加密货币的行为。

Cryptojacking可以说比勒索软件更受欢迎,它的效率源于这样一个事实:使用一个网站,骗子可以感染成千上万,甚至数百万毫无疑问的用户。通常情况下,人们可以看到某些东西给他们的硬件带来了更大的压力,但是他们不确定是什么让攻击对骗子更具吸引力。

必须说这不是最具破坏性的黑客行为,但不应低估。为了注入他们的加密劫持脚本,黑客必须先破坏目标网站。如果他们已经破坏了网站,他们可以将其用于传播恶意软件等其他内容. 考虑到所有因素,如果您认为某个网站滥用您的计算机资源,您应该尽快关闭它。

尽量避免讨厌的链接

当你去一个网站时,你通常不会花时间盯着主页。通常,访问您正在寻找的内容涉及点击大量链接和按钮。但是你怎么能确定你最终会在正确的地方?

嗯,这并不容易,但如果你更加注意你正在做的事情,你可能只是设法避免一些陷阱。现代浏览器可以在您关注链接之前让您知道您要去的地方,如果您还没有,您可能应该开始利用此功能。您需要做的就是将鼠标悬停在链接上,然后再单击它,浏览器将在屏幕的左下角或右下角显示您即将被引导的URL。再一次,我们不是在谈论可以确保完全安全的事情,但它至少可以让你更好地了解你被带到哪里。

远离危险的网站不是(也永远不会)容易。如果是的话,我们每天都不会有这么多人在恶意页面上结束。话虽这么说,你可以建立一些习惯,并观察一些可以帮助你以一点自信和安心浏览网页的东西。

May 23, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 7是什么?

How to Tell If a Website Is Safe

How to Tell if a Website is Safe

We've come to accept that certain images and symbols mean certain things. A picture of a padlock, for example, is regularly associated with security. It might seem like the most natural thing in the world, but this particular habit could be playing a nasty trick on us.

In 2011, cybersecurity legend Troy Hunt wrote about how big of a double-edged sword a humble picture of a padlock could be, and a couple of years later, he discussed how incredibly misleading trust seals can be. The conclusion we can draw from Troy Hunt's posts is that an image (be it a padlock symbol or a 'Verified by…' seal) can never be enough to assure us that a website is secure. What, then, can you do to figure out if a particular website is trustworthy?

Look for the SSL certificate

There was a time when people would tell you that if a page requests your login credentials or credit card details, it needs to go through an HTTPS connection because that would ensure that your username, password, and the rest of the sensitive information is not relayed in a readable format. This is no longer good advice. Every website you visit should be served via the HTTPS protocol.

The "S" in HTTPS stands for "Secure", and online service providers must make sure that their websites are accessed via this type of connection by installing an SSL certificate. In the past, an SSL certificate used to cost several hundred dollars per year, but right now, thanks mainly to the Let's Encrypt initiative, anyone can get one for free, so website operators really have no excuse for not installing SSL.

An SSL certificate uses a cryptographic protocol known as Transport Layer Security (TLS) to encrypt all the communication between your device and the website you're accessing. As a result, hackers won't be able to eavesdrop on the usernames and passwords you're sending during the login process. There's more to it than that, though.

If a website is served over an HTTP connection, cybercriminals can not only access the information you're sending out but also alter the content you're trying to view. Using a Man-in-The-Middle attack, the crooks can exploit unsecured websites and serve anything from annoying ads to malware. That's why, it's important to make sure that not just the login form, but every single URL of a website starts with "https://".

If there are too many ads, there's probably something wrong

We recently discussed ads, and we mentioned the curious conflict they cause. On the one hand, an ad-free internet would be a very different place. Many of the free online services we use every day wouldn't be available without ads. At the same time, online ads are abused frequently, and unfortunately, the way the entire industry works means that other than installing an adblocker, there's not much we can do about it.

The fact that a website has ads does not make it dangerous. If you see a larger-than-usual number of advertisements, however, and if some of the banners appear particularly shady, you must proceed with caution. In this day and age, popups are considered a particularly aggressive form of advertising which means that if you see them, you should probably think about clicking the Close button. The owner of the website isn't always responsible for all the ads. Often, the hackers exploit vulnerabilities or use other techniques of turning a perfectly legitimate website into a mess of colorful banners and annoying flashing images and animations. Regardless of who puts them there, however, the risk of malicious ads should not be underestimated.

Check out the company you're about to do business with

The internet allows us to buy things or subscribe to services with the click of a button. Unfortunately, the online world, as we all very well know, is full of dishonest people and scammers, and often, users end up getting tricked out of their money.

There's no algorithm that you can follow and ensure that you won't get scammed. Nevertheless, a few things about the website of a merchant or a service provider can tell you a bit more about the business venture that sits behind it. An easily accessible way of contacting the company, for example, suggests that you're looking at a real entity that is prepared to interact with potential customers, and a legitimate office location that can be found on Google Maps is also a positive sign.

We have discussed on these pages how painful reading through legal documents could be, but going over the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy is still a good idea, especially if you're thinking about trusting the service provider with payment details or other bits of sensitive information.

On the whole, if you can pick only companies that have been recommended by friends, do so. If you can't, try googling the name of the service provider and see what other people think before committing to a subscription or a purchase. Sometimes, an online search can make the difference between choosing the right product and giving your money away.

Watch out for cryptocurrency-mining websites

2017's unprecedented surge in cryptocurrency value meant that cybercriminals found themselves looking for new ways of obtaining as many digital coins as possible. This gave birth to the so-called cryptojacking attack – the act of using the hardware resources of visitors of websites in order to "mine" cryptocurrency.

Cryptojacking has arguably become more popular than ransomware, and its efficiency is rooted in the fact that using a single website, crooks can infect thousands, if not millions of unsuspecting users. Often, people can see that something is putting more strain on their hardware, but they're not sure what it is which makes the attack even more attractive for the crooks.

It must be said that this is not the most destructive form of hacking, but it should not be underestimated. In order to inject their cryptojacking scripts, hackers must first compromise the targeted website. And if they have compromised a website, they can use it for something else like spreading malware, for example. All things considered, if you think that a website is abusing your computer resources, you should close it as quickly as possible.

Try to avoid nasty links

When you go to a website, you usually don't spend your whole time staring at the homepage. More often than not, getting to the content you're looking for involves clicking loads of links and buttons. But how can you be sure that you'll end up in the right place?

Well, it's not easy, but if you pay more attention to what you're doing, you might just manage to avoid some of the traps. Modern browsers can let you know where you're going before you follow a link, and if you haven't already, you should probably start taking advantage of this functionality. All you need to do is hover over the link before clicking on it, and the browser will display the URL you're about to be led to in the bottom left or right corner of the screen. Once again, we're not talking about something that can ensure complete safety, but it can at least give you a better idea of where you're being taken to.

Staying away from dangerous websites is not (and will never be) easy. If it was, we wouldn't have had so many people ending up on malicious pages every day. That being said, you can build some habits and observe some things that should help you browse the web with a bit of confidence and peace of mind.

April 30, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 6 ?