如何教孩子正确使用密码

在保护您的在线帐户方面,没有什么比拥有一个安全的密码更重要的了。不管我们是在谈论您的社交媒体帐户,云备份还是银行帐户,记住所有各种密码都是至关重要的,但有时听起来并不容易。尽管如此,密码仍然是抵御黑客的第一道也是最好的防御方法。

话虽如此,我们需要教育我们的孩子关于保持良好密码习惯的重要性。我们有一些建议可能会使向孩子解释这些事情变得越来越容易:

强调高强度密码的重要性

向您的孩子解释,您的密码应包括大写字母,数字和特殊符号。告诉他们,密码越长越好。长而复杂的密码将保护其在线帐户免受黑客的蛮力攻击。

说明在公用计算机或其他人的设备上输入密码的危险

有时,当您使用公用计算机(例如学校计算机或办公计算机)时,会忘记注销帐户。这很危险,因为在您使用机器后使用该机器的任何人都可以打开您的帐户,更改密码,发送消息并造成各种损害。

此外,谁知道那台计算机中可能潜伏着哪种恶意软件。键盘记录程序可以轻松捕获您的用户凭据,并将其传输给黑客。

鼓励他们更新密码

您可以采取的最有效的措施来保护您的在线帐户的安全,即更新密码,但这在大多数人中并不常见。告诉您的孩子定期在所有平台上更改其密码。这将减少被黑客入侵的机会。

另外,要向他们强调,他们永远不要重复使用密码或对多个帐户使用相同的密码,因为如果一个帐户被盗用,其他帐户将接follow而至。

教您的孩子有关远程数据擦除功能

世界上所有良好的密码习惯都无法保护您避免丢失智能手机。幸运的是,只要设备处于活动状态并连接到互联网,几乎所有智能手机都可以选择远程擦除数据。如果将数据备份到云或物理存储设备(例如外部硬盘或闪存驱动器)上,则始终可以还原数据。

使用两因素身份验证

之前我们已经多次谈到过两因素身份验证(2FA)的好处,但是如果您不熟悉它,那么2FA将为您的帐户增加第二层保护。两因素身份验证会强制尝试登录的任何人执行额外的步骤来验证您的身份。例如,此额外步骤可能类似于您在手机上收到的短信。即使有人窃取了您的密码,如果没有您的电话号码,他们仍然无法登录到您的帐户。

教他们在创建密码时切勿使用真实的日期,名称或其他私人数据

这很简单。请勿在密码中使用与您相关的任何单词或数字,例如您的生日。为什么?因为知道您的出生日期的人可以弄清楚。

June 29, 2020

发表评论

How to Teach Kids to Use Passwords Properly

When it comes to protecting your online accounts, nothing is more crucial than having a strong password. It doesn't matter if we're talking about your social media accounts, cloud backup or your bank account, remembering all of your various passwords is a critical, yet sometimes not as easy as it sounds. Despite that, passwords remain your first and best defense against hackers.

With that said, we need to educate our children on the importance of maintaining good password habits. We have a few suggestions that might make explaining these things to your kids simpler and easier:

Stress the importance of a strong password

Explain to your kids that your passwords should include capital letters, numbers, as well as special symbols. Tell them that the longer their passwords are the better. Long and complex passwords will protect their online accounts from brute force attacks by hackers.

Explain the dangers of entering a password on a public computer or someone else's device

Sometimes when you use a public computer (like a school computer or work computer) you forget to log out of your accounts. This is dangerous because anyone who uses the machine after you can open your accounts, change passwords, send messages, and do all kinds of damage.

Also, who knows what kind of malware might be lurking in that computer. A keylogger could easily capture your user credentials and transmit them to a hacker.

Encourage them to update their passwords

One of the most effective things you can do to keep your online accounts safe is to update your passwords, yet it's not a very common practice amongst most people. Tell your children to change their passwords across all of their platforms at regular intervals. This will reduce the chances of getting hacked.

Also, stress to them that they should never re-use passwords or use the same password for multiple accounts, because if one account is compromised the others will follow.

Teach your kids about remote data wiping features

All the good password habits in the world can't protect you from losing your smartphone. Fortunately, pretty much all smartphones have the option to wipe your data remotely as long the device is active and connected to the internet. You can always restore your data if you backed it up on the cloud or on a physical storage device, like an external hard disk or flash drive.

Use Two-Factor Authentication

We've spoken many times about the benefits of two-factor authentication (2FA) before, but in case you're not familiar with it, 2FA will add a second layer of protection to your account. Two-factor authentication forces anyone attempting to log in to perform an extra step to verify it's you. This extra step can be something like a text message you get on your phone, for example. Even if someone steals your password they still won't be able to log in to your account without your phone number.

Teach them to never use real dates, names or other private data when creating a password

This one is pretty straightforward. You should never use any words or numbers associated with you, like your birthday, in your passwords. Why? Because someone who knows your birth date can figure it out.

June 29, 2020

Leave a Reply