如何以智能方式保護Venmo應用

Venmo是由Paypal運營和擁有的數字錢包和支付服務。它提供了使用手機方便的匯款方式。但是,像所有與Internet連接的應用程序和平台一樣,存在潛在的安全隱患,您可以採取一些措施來提高保護級別。

本文將為您提供三個有用的提示,這些提示可以使您的Venmo帳戶更安全,並確保為您的帳戶和交易提供更高的保護。

更改默認隱私設置

安裝Venmo應用程序時,您的隱私設置將設置為“公共”選項。這意味著,如果聯繫人中具有您的電話號碼或電子郵件地址並且還使用Venmo的人可以看到您的交易。顯然,這不是理想的設置,也不是默認設置的奇怪選擇,但您可以輕鬆更改它。

導航到應用程序的設置菜單,點擊“隱私”,然後通過點擊將單選按鈕設置更改為“私人”。這會將您通過該應用程序進行的交易保留在自己的手中,而不會將這些信息顯示給您的聯繫人和朋友。

值得慶幸的是,您也可以追溯更改此設置以用於以前的交易。在“隱私”菜單中,點擊“過去交易”,然後點擊“全部更改為私人”。

打開所有設備的多因素身份驗證

無論您使用哪種設備或服務,啟用多因素身份驗證都是一個好主意。它通常以發送到移動設備的附加代碼的形式出現,您需要在登錄或執行交易之前提供該附加代碼。 Venmo也提供該選項,並且默認情況下啟用。

每次您從未知設備登錄時,MFA層都會啟動。該應用程序允許您添加“記住的”設備,以便您不再需要提供額外的MFA SMS代碼。但是,這不是最理想或最安全的選擇。您可以從已記住的列表中手動刪除已記住的設備,因此您在這些設備上始終啟用MFA。

為此,請轉到“設置”,然後點擊“記住的設備”。在這裡,您可以長按所有要刪除的設備,並使MFA功能“忘記”它們。完成此操作後,下次使用任何一種設備登錄時,系統都會要求您提供Venmo通過短信發送給您的代碼。

啟用PIN碼和生物特徵識別解鎖

如果轉到“設置”並點擊“ PIN碼和生物特徵解鎖”,則可以同時打開這兩個附加安全設置。 PIN碼是您需要記住的簡短密碼形式的額外一層安全保護。生物識別技術使您可以以指紋或面部識別的形式添加更多的進入保護屏障。當然,如果要使用後一種功能,則需要具有支持生物特徵識別的設備,而PIN碼對所有人都可用。

October 26, 2020

發表評論

How to Secure Your Venmo App the Smart Way

Venmo is a digital wallet and payment service, operated and owned by Paypal. It offers convenient money transfer using mobile. However, like all Internet-connected apps and platforms, there are potential security concerns about it and steps you can take to increase your level of protection.

This article will give you three helpful tips that can make your Venmo account more secure and ensure heightened protection for your account and transactions.

Change default privacy settings

When you install the Venmo app, your privacy settings are set to the "Public" option. This means that if your transactions are visible to people who have your phone number or e-mail address in their contacts and also use Venmo. This is obviously not the ideal setting and a curious choice to make the default, but you can change that easily.

Navigate to the app's settings menu, tap "Privacy", then change the radio button setting to "Private" by tapping on it. This will keep your transactions made through the app to yourself and not display this information to your contacts and friends.

Thankfully, you can retroactively change this setting for previous transactions as well. While in the "Privacy" menu, tap on "Past transactions" and then tap "Change all to private".

Turn on multi-factor authentication for all devices

Enabling multi-factor authentication is a great idea, no matter what device or service you are using. It usually comes in the form of an additional code sent to your mobile device that you need to provide before logging in or executing transactions. Venmo offers that option as well and it is enabled by default.

The MFA layer kicks in every time you sign in from an unknown device. The app allows you to add "remembered" devices so that you no longer need to provide the extra MFA SMS code. However, this is not the most optimal or secure option. You can manually remove remembered devices form the remembered list, so you always have MFA active on those devices.

To do this, go to "Settings" and tap "Remembered devices". There you can long-press all devices you want to delete and make the MFA feature "forget" them. Once this is done, next time you log in using any of those devices, you will be asked to provide the code Venmo sends you through text message.

Enable PIN and biometric unlock

If you go to "Settings" and tap "PIN code & biometric unlock", you can turn on both of those additional security settings. The PIN code is an extra layer of security in the form of a short code you need to remember. Biometrics allow you to add even more protective barriers to entry, in the form of fingerprint or facial recognition. Of course, you will need to have a device that has biometrics support if you want to use the latter feature, while the PIN code is available to everyone.

October 26, 2020

Leave a Reply