这就是Microsoft希望您停止使用SMS和基于语音的身份验证的原因

微软身份安全总监Alex Weinart在最近的博客文章中表达了一种观点,乍看之下似乎有些争议。 Weinart认为,涉及MFA时,SMS和基于语音的多因素身份验证服务是最不安全的选择。

尽管我们通常认为文本消息是实现多因素身份验证的万无一失且非常安全的方法,但Weinart提出了一些人们通常在考虑该问题时不会考虑的有趣观点。

Weinart在他的博客文章中提出的观点都与SMS和基于语音的MFA的性质有关,这涉及公共交换电话网络或PSTN。根据Weinart的说法,PSTN系统在100%的时间内都不是完全可靠的,消息可能无法在需要的时候准确通过或延迟。

他提到的另一件事是,依赖PSTN的多因素身份验证无法跟上技术进步的步伐,并且常常无法达到用户对体验的期望。

此外,不同的地区或联邦级别的法规变更可能会改变公司传递SMS和电话的能力,从而有效地使以前使用的MFA方法无法操作或难以维护。

最后,Weinart提到,短信和电话本来就不具有任何加密方式,从技术上讲,可以使用各种硬件和恶意软件截获它们。

当然,这并不意味着人们应该停止使用MFA。相反,Weinart强调了尽可能使用MFA的重要性及其带来的安全利益。但是,他的建议集中在使用应用程序而不是SMS或基于语音的服务。

最终,普通用户只能依靠服务为他们提供的任何MFA选项。是否使用应用程序或文本消息的决定最终将由服务提供商决定,客户和最终用户只能接受所提供的内容。

November 19, 2020

发表评论

Here's Why Microsoft Wants You to Stop Using SMS and Voice-Based Authentication

In a recent blog post Alex Weinart, Microsoft's director of Identity Security, expressed an opinion that may seem a bit controversial at first glance. Weinart argued that SMS and voice-based multi-factor authentication services are the least secure option when it comes to MFA.

While we usually like to think text messages are a foolproof and very secure method of implementing multi-factor authentication, Weinart brought up a few interesting points that people generally don't consider when they think about the issue.

The points Weinart makes in his blog post all relate to the nature of SMS and voice-based MFA, and that is the involvement of publicly switched telephone networks or PSTN. According to Weinart, PSTN systems are not completely reliable 100% of the time and a message may not come through exactly when needed or be delayed.

Another thing he mentioned was that PSTN-reliant multi-factor authentication cannot keep up with technological advancements and can often fail to live up to user's expectations of the experience.

Additionally, different regional or federal-level changes in regulations may alter the ability of companies to deliver SMS and phone calls, effectively rendering a previously working MFA method inoperable or difficult to maintain.

Finally, Weinart mentions that both SMS and phone calls don't inherently have any sort of encryption and it is technically possible to intercept them using a variety of hardware and malware.

Of course, this does not mean people should stop using MFA. On the contrary, Weinart highlighted the importance of using MFA whenever possible and the security benefits it brings. However, his advice focused on using applications instead of SMS or voice-based services.

At the end of the day, the regular user can only rely on whatever MFA options a service provides for them. The decision whether to use an application or text messages is ultimately in the hands of the service provider and the customer and end user can only go with what is being offered.

November 19, 2020

Leave a Reply