您是否与同事共享密码?如果你有,你是一个责任

如果您在工作中管理敏感信息,您可能已经签署了保险协议以及您的雇佣合同。但是,你真的经历过这个协议吗?也许某些机密方面归结为常识,但你必须记住,即使你的同事也不应该分享一些事情。例如,共享密码是一个糟糕的想法,我们将在本博客文章中讨论它为何如此。所以,如果您曾经想过为了方便起见与同事共享密码,那么现在是时候重新考虑一下了。我们希望此条目能帮助您实现这一目标。

数据泄露的最大原因

说实话,我们之前在之前的数据泄露条目中已经触及过这个主题。在这里,我们谈论网络安全的公司和业务方面,所以请记住这一点。

与此同时,当普通用户听到企业网络安全时,他们可能会想象黑客试图进入易受攻击的系统。他们看到了复杂的计划,旨在从强大的公司窃取资金。然而,事实是黑客不需要远远地寻找进入目标系统的方法。

根据Switchfast进行的一项调查 ,91%针对企业的网络攻击来自网络钓鱼邮件。这意味着总是涉及人为因素,疏忽员工可能是企业遭遇数据泄露的最大原因。员工可以通过多种方式“贡献”每年增加企业数据泄露,并且定期打开网络钓鱼电子邮件显然是其中之一。但是,今天我们想指出可能导致严重后果的责任的另一个方面。

共享密码

如果您倾向于与同事共享密码,则会自动将整个公司置于风险之中。例如,One Identity的一项研究发现,60%的英国组织共享特权帐户的密码 。更重要的是,如果这些密码是通过Excel电子表格管理的,那么最终这些信息会泄露给恶意的第三方也就不足为奇了。

我们不是在谈论故意的信息窃取。让我们考虑以下事项:您与同事共享密码,因为您的同事必须执行一些需要访问您帐户的任务。现在让我们想象一下,这位同事正在办公室以外的办公室里使用公共Wi-Fi执行他们的任务. 我们已经多次讨论了使用公共Wi-Fi背后的潜在危险,因此您应该知道,当您的设备连接到公共Wi-Fi时,将敏感信息输入浏览器或其他任何地方都不是一个好主意。

但如果同事在连接到已被泄露的公共网络时使用您的密码并访问敏感信息,则数据泄露或数据窃取的可能性会增加十倍。所以它不仅仅是单独共享密码。这一切都归结为在线习惯的复杂性,我们有责任改变或改进它们,以便最大限度地减少数据泄露的可能性。

如何改善你的习惯

既然我们已经确定共享密码是一个糟糕的想法,我们应该寻找方法来打破坏习惯并引入一些有用的习惯。公司及其员工可以采取一些措施来提高企业安全性。

就公司的待办事项列表而言,如果我们处理特权帐户的极其敏感的信息,强烈建议每次有人访问帐户时重置密码。限制允许访问具有管理权限的帐户的密码共享也是一个好主意。较小的公司可能会考虑使用密码管理器定期生成,存储和更改密码。

另外,我们不要忘记,公司不应该留下任何松散的目标。也就是说;应尽快删除以前的用户帐户。最后,如果可能,公司应考虑监控用户活动以了解哪个帐户被哪个用户访问以及何时访问。这将使企业对其敏感信息有更大的控制权。

但是,除了企业的努力,我们不应忘记员工自己也需要重新考虑他们的习惯。当然,现在您知道共享密码不是一个好主意。但是,为多个不同的帐户重复使用相同的密码也不是一个好主意。同样,如果您需要有关创建新强密码的帮助,可以使用密码管理器。不要将您的密码保存在Excel工作表中,也不要在一张纸上的某处记下来。这种习惯很容易导致网络安全灾难。

除了避免共享密码和打开网络钓鱼电子邮件之外,企业领导者和员工还可以使用网络安全的其他方面来提高整体安全级别。例如,启用多因素身份验证以防止数据被盗至关重要。当然,在网络安全方面没有防错计划,但多因素身份验证提供了更难以破解的安全级别,因为身份验证过程中使用的身份令牌是独立且独特的。因此,如果您使用的服务具有多重身份验证选项,则应该明确启用它。

最后,重要的是要意识到任何类型的数据都是多么脆弱。我们之前提到的Switchfast调查发现,大多数小型企业领导者甚至他们的员工都不相信他们会成为黑客的目标。这是错误的方式来看待它,因为每个人都可以成为网络犯罪目标,因为任何类型的信息都可以被窃取和出售。黑客处理信息,任何类型的信息都是有价值的,只要他们能够掌握它。你的工作就是尽一切可能让这些黑客更难实现他们的目标。

April 2, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 4是什么?

Have You Shared Your Password with Your Coworkers? If You Have, You Are a Liability

If you manage sensitive information at work, you probably have signed a non-disclosure agreement along with your employment contract. However, have you really gone through that agreement? Perhaps some confidential aspects boil down to common sense, but you have to remember that there are things you shouldn't share even with your co-workers. For example, sharing passwords is a terrible idea, and we are going to discuss why it is so in this blog entry. So, if you have ever thought of sharing passwords with your co-workers for convenience sake, it's about time you reconsider that. We hope that this entry will help you do that.

The Biggest Cause of Data Breaches

To be honest, we have touched upon this subject before in our previous entries on data breaches. And here we are talking about corporate and business aspects of cyber security, so please bear that in mind.

At the same time, when regular users hear about corporate cyber security, they probably imagine hackers trying to slither into vulnerable systems. They see complicated schemes that are built to steal money from powerful companies. However, the truth is that a hacker doesn't need to look far to find a way into a target system.

According to a survey carried out by Switchfast, 91% of cyber attacks against businesses originate with a phishing email. This means that there's always a human factor involved, and negligent employees are probably the biggest reason businesses experience data breaches. There are many ways that employees can “contribute” to the annual increase of corporate data breaches, and opening phishing emails on a regular basis is clearly one of them. However, today we would like to point out another aspect of liability that can easily lead to severe consequences.

Shared Passwords

If you tend to share passwords with your co-workers, you automatically put your entire company at risk. For example, a study by One Identity found that 60% of UK organizations share passwords for privileged accounts. What's more, if these passwords are managed through an Excel spreadsheet, it shouldn't be too surprising that eventually this information gets leaked to a malevolent third party.

And we're not talking about intentional information theft. Let's consider the following: You share passwords with your co-worker because your co-worker has to perform some task that requires access to your accounts. Now let's imagine that the said co-worker is performing their tasks outside of the office at some coffee shop with a public Wi-Fi. We have discussed the potential dangers behind using a public Wi-Fi several times, so you should know that it is not a good idea to enter sensitive information into your browser or anywhere else when your device is connected to a public Wi-Fi.

But IF that co-worker uses your passwords and accesses sensitive information while connected to a public network that has been compromised, the possibility of a data breach or a data theft grows tenfold. So it is not just about sharing passwords alone. It all boils down to the complexity of online habits, and it is our duty to either change them or improve them so that we could minimize the potential of a data breach.

How to Improve Your Habits

Now that we have established that sharing passwords is a terrible idea, we should look at ways to break the bad habits and usher in a few useful ones. There are things that both companies and their employees can do to improve corporate security.

As far as the company's to-do list is concerned, if we are dealing with extremely sensitive information on privileged accounts, it is strongly recommended to reset the password every single time someone accesses the account. It is also a good idea to restrict the sharing of passwords that allow accessing accounts that have administrative privileges. Smaller companies may consider using a password manager to generate, store, and change passwords regularly.

Also, let's not forget that the companies should not leave any loose ends around. That is to say; former user accounts should be deleted as soon as possible. Finally, if possible, companies should consider monitoring user activity to know, which account was accessed by which user and when. This would give businesses a far bigger control over their sensitive information.

However, aside from corporate efforts, we shouldn't forget that employees themselves need to reconsider their habits, too. Of course, now you know that it is not a good idea to share passwords. But it's also not a good idea to reuse the same password for several different accounts. Again, if you need help with creating new strong passwords, you can use a password manager. Do not keep your passwords in an Excel sheet or jotted down somewhere on a piece of paper. Such habits can easily lead to a cyber security disaster.

Aside from refraining from sharing passwords and opening phishing emails, there are also other aspects of cyber security that business leaders and employees can employ to improve the overall security level. For example, it is vital to enable multi-factor authentication to prevent data thefts. Of course, there is no such thing as a fail-proof plan when it comes to cyber security, but multi-factor authentication provides an additional level of security that is harder to breach because the identity tokens used in the authentication process are individual and unique. Therefore, if the service that you use has the multi-factor authentication option, you should definitely enable it.

Finally, it is important to realize how vulnerable any kind of data is. The Switchfast survey that we have mentioned earlier found that most of the small business leaders and even their employees do not believe that they could be targeted by hackers. That is the wrong way to look at it because EVERYONE can become a cybercrime target since ANY kind of information can be stolen and sold. Hackers deal in information, and any kind of information is valuable as long as they manage to get their hands on it. Your job is to do everything you can to make it harder for these hackers to achieve their goals.

March 19, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 4 ?