网络犯罪分子使用“ COVID-19”作为折扣代码购买恶意软件

COVID-19 Discount Codes

冠状病毒大流行被描述为人类过去几十年来面临的最大挑战之一,如果您认为这是一种夸张,则需要重新考虑。截至撰写本文时,已确认病例中近百万分之四十五,死亡人数略高于一万。各国政府正在采取各种限制措施,以制止这种致命疾病的蔓延,文明世界的大部分经济都处于停滞状态,所有措施的效果可能比大流行更持久。本身。但是,在地下网络犯罪世界中,一切都很好。

网络犯罪分子已经注意到COVID-19

虽然大多数人都在想出应对情况的方法,但其他人却在尝试充分利用它。在过去的几个月中,网络犯罪分子以各种方式利用了COVID-19爆发。他们利用围绕它的恐慌和对新闻的需求来传播错误信息,他们已经使用了跟踪工具来分发窃取数据的恶意软件,甚至使用了与冠状病毒相关的新闻来使得其恶意负载更难被发现。

随着越来越多的人被迫待在家里,他们在计算机上花费的时间越来越长,这意味着,如果有的话,COVID-19爆发实际上可能对黑客的业务产生积极影响。实际上, 检查站的研究人员已经找到证据证明确实如此。

冠状病毒大流行期间,恶意软件和被盗商品交易商提供折扣

看起来冠状病毒正在加剧竞争,并在黑暗的网络上创造了健康的商业环境。


恶意软件交易商会提供10%的冠状病毒折扣。资料来源:检查站

从上面的屏幕快照中可以看到,其中一个骗子组织了一次特别促销,并为他们出售的所有产品提供10%的“ CoronaVirus折扣”。那些利用此优惠的人将以便宜的价格获得一些黑客工具,因此,他们需要感谢传染病。


一群黑客提议以比使用“ COVID-19”代码的人低15%的折扣来入侵Facebook帐户。资料来源:检查站

讨价还价的网络犯罪分子也可能对一群叫做SSHacker的黑客所提供的东西感兴趣。希望使用SSHacker的Facebook黑客服务的每个人都可以享受15%的折扣。购物者所需要做的就是在结帐过程中使用“ COVID-19”折扣代码。


地下市场上的MacBook Air售价不到400美元。资料来源:检查站

COVID-19折扣不仅限于黑客工具和服务。正如您从上面的屏幕截图中看到的那样,漫游黑暗网络中的人们正在寻找一些被盗便宜的硬件可以利用“ Corona特惠”的价格购买MacBook Air,价格仅为390美元。您可能会想到,设备的来源仍然未知。

总而言之,尽管发生了大流行,但地下业务仍在蓬勃发展。快速而轻松获利的机会很多,大多数骗子都不会拒绝它们。话虽如此,一些罪犯似乎正在了解局势的严重性。您甚至可以说他们在表现出一些同情心。

迷宫勒索软件帮派宣布将为受害者提供折扣

ZDNet的安全记者Catalin Cimpanu最近偶然发现了Maze勒索软件运营商发布的“官方新闻稿”,并与Twitter的追随者分享了该新闻稿。

骗子说,在全球大流行中,他们希望“尽可能多地帮助商业组织”。因此,所有遭受勒索软件攻击的公司都将有机会享受折扣价解密数据的机会。该公告还指出,至少到目前为止,Maze勒索软件将不会攻击任何类型的医疗组织。骗子们没有说的是为什么他们称受害者为“伙伴”。

这几乎不是利他主义的教训,但是它比我们从其他黑客组织那里看到的要多。

March 20, 2020

发表评论

Cybercriminals Use 'COVID-19' as Discount Codes to Buy Malware

COVID-19 Discount Codes

The coronavirus pandemic has been described as one of the biggest challenges humankind has faced over the last few decades, and if you think that this is an exaggeration, you need to think again. As of the time of writing, there are close to a quarter of a million confirmed cases, and the death toll sits at a little over 10 thousand. Governments are imposing restrictions of all sorts in an attempt to stop the spread of the virulent disease, much of the civilized world's economy is pretty much at a standstill, and the effects of all the measures will likely be much more long-lasting than the pandemic itself. In the underground cybercrime world, however, all is well.

Cybercriminals have taken notice of COVID-19

While most people are trying to come up with ways of dealing with the situation, others are trying to take full advantage of it. For the past couple of months, cybercriminals have exploited the COVID-19 outbreak in various ways. They have used the panic surrounding it and the demand for news to spread misinformation, they've weaponized tracking tools to distribute data-stealing malware, and they've even used coronavirus-related news to make their malicious payloads harder to detect.

As more and more people are forced to stay at home, the time they spend on their computers is increasing, which means that if anything, the COVID-19 outbreak might actually have a positive effect on the hackers' business. In fact, Checkpoint researchers have found evidence that this might indeed be the case.

Malware and stolen goods traders offer discounts amid the Coronavirus pandemic

It looks like the coronavirus is fueling competition and creating a healthy business environment on the dark web.


A malware trader offers a special 10% coronavirus discount. Source: Checkpoint

As you can see from the screenshot above, one of the crooks has organized a special sale and offers a 10% "CoronaVirus discount" on all of the products they're selling. Those who take advantage of the offer will get a few hacking tools on the cheap, and they'll need to thank an infectious disease for it.


A group of hackers offer to hack Facebook accounts at a 15% discount to people who use the "COVID-19" code. Source: Checkpoint

Bargain-hunting cybercriminals might also be interested in what a group of hackers called SSHacker has to offer. A generous 15% discount is awaiting everyone who wants to use SSHacker's Facebook hacking services. All shoppers need to do is use the "COVID-19" discount code during the checkout process.


A MacBook Air offered for less than $400 on an underground market. Source: Checkpoint

COVID-19 discounts aren't limited to hacking tools and services. As you can see from the screenshot above, people who roam the dark web in search of some stolen cheap hardware can take advantage of a "Corona Special Offer" and get a MacBook Air for just $390. As you might imagine, the origin of the device remains unknown.

All in all, the underground business is thriving despite the pandemic. The opportunities for a quick and easy profit are plentiful, and most crooks are not going to turn them down. That being said, some criminals seem to be understanding the seriousness of the situation. You might even go as far as saying that they're showing something close to compassion.

The Maze ransomware gang announce that they'll offer discounts for their victims

Catalin Cimpanu, a security reporter for ZDNet, recently stumbled upon an "official press release" issued by the operators of the Maze ransomware, which he shared with his Twitter followers.

The crooks said that in the middle of a global pandemic, they want to "help commercial organizations as much as possible." Because of this, all companies who have been hit by their ransomware will have the chance to get their data decrypted at a discount. The announcement also states that, at least for now, the Maze ransomware will not be attacking medical and healthcare organizations of any kind. What the crooks didn't say is why they're referring to their victims as "partners."

It's hardly a lesson in altruism, but it is more than what we've seen from other hacking groups.

March 20, 2020

Leave a Reply