经过三年多的发展,Google停止了Nest Secure

在Google于2017年发布Nest Secure产品之后,超级巨人将停产该产品。即使不再可以购买Nest Secure,该公司仍将继续为所有现有所有者提供支持服务。

Nest是Google的整个分支机构,致力于开发和营销具有各种应用程序的智能家居产品。 Nest Secure只是该分支机构的一个方面,专门处理家庭安全和智能小工具。 Nest Secure的组件包括Nest Guard圆形键盘和放置在房屋周围的称为Nest Detect的传感器。

Nest Secure有一个随附的移动应用程序,允许用户远程控制警报系统并对其进行布防或撤防。

整个Nest Secure工具包的最初价格为499美元,之后Google甚至在一年后将价格降至399美元。任何人都怀疑,是否低于标准的销售业绩是该产品最终停产的原因。

产品上市销售很久之后,发现在Nest Guard键盘中嵌入了一个麦克风,这可能也无济于事。该公司于2019年初向Nest Secure添加了Google Assistant支持,随后发布了有关该设备的隐私信息,结果证明Nest Guard实际上内置了麦克风-在发布时并未宣布。

Google终止Nest Secure并不意味着该公司已退出家庭安全市场。 Google仍通过其Nest品牌提供许多智能家居安全设备。该公司还向安全产品制造商ADT Inc投资了近10亿美元,该公司将出售Nest设备,作为其专注于家庭安全的产品系列的核心部分。

October 26, 2020

发表评论

Google Discontinues Nest Secure After Over Three Years of Development

After the 2017 product announcement of the Nest Secure by Google, the supergiant is discontinuing the product. Even though the Nest Secure will no longer be available for purchase, the company will keep offering support services for all existing owners.

Nest is an entire branch of Google dedicated to developing and marketing smart home products with all sorts of applications. The Nest Secure was just one facet of this branch, dealing specifically with home security and smart gadgets. The components of the Nest Secure included a Nest Guard round keypad and sensors to be placed around the home called the Nest Detect.

The Nest Secure had an accompanying mobile app that allowed users to remotely control the alarm system and arm or disarm it.

After an initial pricy launch at $499 for the whole Nest Secure kit, Google dropped the price to $399 not even a year later. Whether sub-par sale performance was the reason for the eventual discontinuing of the product is anybody's guess.

The discovery of a microphone embedded in the Nest Guard keypad long after the product has been up for sale probably didn't help the situation much either. The company added Google Assistant support to the Nest Secure in early 2019 and later released privacy information about the device and it turned out the Nest Guard actually had a microphone in it - something that went unannounced on launch.

Google discontinuing Nest Secure does not mean the company is out of the home security market, though. Google still offers a number of smart home security devices through its Nest brand. The company also invested nearly half a billion in ADT Inc - a security product manufacturer that will be selling Nest devices as a central part of its product lineup focused on home security.

October 26, 2020

Leave a Reply