我們應該做的五件事來確保我們在2019年的個人數據

個人數據竊取率處於歷史最高水平。根據Javelin Strategy發布的一項研究,2017年美國個人數據盜竊的成本接近170億美元。如果在2019年初我們發現2018年對於網絡犯罪分子來說更有利可圖,那就不足為奇了。

雖然保護您的個人數據的工作主要取決於管理您的信息的服務,但我們也不能忘記我們可以做些什麼來保護您的信息。因此,在這篇博客文章中,我們決定討論有助於我們更好地保護個人數據的五件事。

警惕網絡釣魚

電子郵件網絡釣魚是一種影響個人和企業用戶的威脅。我們相信您了解網絡釣魚是什麼,但也許您收到網絡釣魚郵件時可能無法識別它。因此,我們想指出一些有關網絡釣魚電子郵件的內容,這些內容最終將有助於保護您的個人數據。

首先,網絡釣魚電子郵件通常看起來像來自合法發件人的真實郵件。但是,此類電子郵件的主要目的是吸引您的重要信息。例如,您可能會收到一條消息,說明您的系統遭到黑客入侵或您的銀行帳戶出現問題,因此您需要在給定表單中輸入密碼或點擊外發鏈接。

網絡釣魚電子郵件經常與您的情緒一起玩,試圖利用虛假的緊迫感。但是,在您輸入個人信息之前,您必須停下來思考這種情況是否真的那麼緊急。

如果現在這個問題太多了,你可以查看我們關於如何發現並避免網絡釣魚詐騙的條目,並了解更多相關信息。我們強烈建議您自己進行網絡釣魚詐騙,以保護您的個人數據。

使用強密碼

就像“網絡釣魚”一樣,“強密碼”也可能是您每天都在網上經常遇到的關鍵詞之一。儘管聽起來很煩人,但如果您打算在線保護您的個人數據,強密碼也很重要。

您擁有的所有帳戶,從您的在線銀行帳戶到您的社交媒體句柄,都必須使用密碼進行保護。如果您說您為不同的帳戶重複使用密碼(畢竟,這非常方便),我們不會感到驚訝,但它肯定會證明您的個人數據遠非安全。

果然,重用密碼是個壞主意。另一個糟糕的想法是創建令人難忘的密碼。密碼越長,它的隨機符號越多,它就越強。同時,我們知道保留大量強密碼是一項挑戰,因此,我們建議使用Cyclonis密碼管理器來跟踪您的密碼。該工具還可以幫助您生成,存儲和更新您的密碼,從而節省您自己做所有事情的麻煩. 此外,如果您想了解有關安全密碼的更多信息,可以在此處查看此博客文章。

考慮使用多重身份驗證

什麼比強密碼更好?幾個強密碼。詢問那裡的任何安全專家,他們會告訴你,如果某個服務提供多因素身份驗證 ,你絕對應該啟用它。通過多因素身份驗證,您的個人數據將受到多層安全保護,從而使任何人都難以竊取它。

例如,多因素身份驗證的其中一個元素可以是您收到手機的臨時文本密碼。因此,從技術上講,除了您之外,沒有人可以訪問您的帳戶。因此,這是保護個人數據的一種相當有效的方法。如今,大多數服務都提供多因素身份驗證,您應該考慮立即啟用它。

不要過度分享社交媒體

保護個人數據不僅僅是使用強密碼保護您的社交媒體帳戶;它也與您在帳戶中分享的內容有關。雖然我們在考慮保護個人數據時必須採取的步驟時,通常會更多地考慮我們的信用信息和網上銀行信息,但社交媒體實際上也存在風險。

黑客不一定要一次性竊取所有東西。從不同的帳戶收集一些個人數據然後將它們拼湊起來就像一個謎題來竊取你的身份是很常見的。因此,如果您想分享私密內容,請確保不要將其廣播到整個世界。

此外,偶爾通過你的粉絲或朋友,看看你是否真的了解這些人是個好主意。您還可以查看我們通過幾週前發布的社交媒體分享個人信息的功能。在該博客文章中,更詳細地介紹了該主題,您還可以找到有關如何保護個人數據的更多提示。

不要忘記更新您的軟件

這可能會讓您大吃一驚,但您的個人數據安全性也取決於您使用的軟件。我們知道,有時用戶關閉他們使用的應用程序和程序的自動更新功能,因為他們覺得很煩人,但這些功能是有原因的。新的更新不會佔用您的磁盤空間。他們在那裡修復可能被網絡犯罪分子利用的漏洞和漏洞。因此,為了保護您的個人數據,您必須確保您使用的所有軟件都是最新的。

我們只能期望找到更多解決方案來確保未來的個人信息安全。但是,個人用戶始終必須儘自己的努力來保護個人數據,因此,自我教育您可以採取的措施,以防止黑客竊取您的信息永遠不會太晚。

March 1, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 2是什麼?

Five Things We Should Do to Secure Our Personal Data in 2019

Personal data theft is at an all-time high. Based on a study published by Javelin Strategy, the cost of personal data theft in 2017 in the United States was almost $17 billion. It wouldn't be surprising if at the beginning of 2019 we were to find out that 2018 was even more lucrative for cybercriminals.

Although the job of securing your personal data mostly depends on the service that manages your information, we cannot forget that there are things we can do to protect it, too. Therefore, in this blog post, we decided to talk about five things that would help us secure our personal data better.

Be Wary of Phishing

Email phishing is a threat that affects both individual and corporate users. We believe that you have an inkling what phishing is, but perhaps you might not be able to recognize a phishing email when you receive one. Therefore, we would like to point out several things about phishing emails that will eventually be useful in securing your personal data.

First, phishing emails often look like real messages from legitimate senders. However, the main objective of such emails is to lure important information from you. For instance, you may receive a message saying that your system has been hacked or that there is some problem with your bank account, and thus you need to enter your password into a given form or click an outgoing link.

Phishing emails often play with your emotions, trying to make use of the fake sense of urgency. However, before you enter personal information, you have to stop and think twice whether the situation is really that urgent.

If this is too much to wrap your mind around at the moment, you can check out our entry on how to spot and avoid phishing scams, and learn more about it. We strongly recommend educating yourself on phishing scams to secure your personal data.

Use Strong Passwords

Just like ”phishing,” ”strong password” is probably also one of those keywords that you have encountered quite often if you are online every single day. As annoying as it might sound, strong passwords ARE important if you intend to secure your personal data online.

All of the accounts that you have, from your online banking accounts to your social media handles have to be protected with passwords. We wouldn't find it surprising if you were to say that you reuse your passwords for different accounts (after all, that is quite convenient), but it would definitely prove that your personal data is far from secure.

Sure enough, reusing passwords is a bad idea. Another bad idea would be creating memorable passwords. The longer the password is and the more random symbols it has, the stronger it is. At the same time, we understand that maintaining a lot of strong passwords is quite a challenge, and therefore, we would like to recommend using Cyclonis Password Manager that would keep track of your passwords. The tool can also help you generate, store, and renew your passwords, thus saving you the trouble of doing everything by yourself. Also, if you wish to learn more about what constitutes a secure password, you can check this blog post here.

Consider Using Multi-Factor Authentication

What can be better than a strong password? Several strong passwords. Ask any security expert out there, and they will tell you that if a certain service offers multi-factor authentication, you should most definitely enable it. With multi-factor authentication, your personal data would be protected under several layers of security, thus making it harder for anyone to steal it.

For example, one of the elements of multi-factor authentication can be a temporary text passcode that you receive to your phone. Thus, technically, no one but you would be able to access your accounts. So this is a rather effective method to secure personal data. Most of the services these days offer multi-factor authentication, and you should consider enabling it today.

Don't Over-share on Social Media

Securing personal data is not just about protecting your social media accounts with strong passwords; it's also about what you SHARE on your accounts. Although we often think more about our credit information and online banking information when we consider the steps we have to take to protect personal data, social media is actually just as risky.

Hackers do not necessarily have to steal everything in one try. It is very common to collect bits of personal data from different accounts and then piece them all together like one puzzle to steal your identity. So if you want to share something private, make sure you don't broadcast it to the entire world.

Also, it would be a good idea to go through your followers or friends once in a while, to see whether you really know those people. You can also check out our feature on sharing personal information via social media we have published several weeks ago, too. In that blog post, the topic is covered in greater detail, and you can also find more tips on how to secure your personal data.

Don't Forget to Update Your Software

This might come as a surprise, but your personal data security depends on the software you're using, too. We do know that sometimes users turn off automatic update features on the apps and programs they use because they find it annoying, but those features are there for a reason. New updates aren't there to take up your disk space. They are there to fix bugs and vulnerabilities that might be exploited by cybercriminals. Therefore, to secure your personal data, you have to make sure that all of the software you use is up-to-date as well.

We can only expect to find more solutions to ensure personal information security in the future. However, an individual user will always have to do their part to secure personal data, so it is never too late to educate yourself about the steps you can take to prevent hackers from stealing your information.

By Foley
November 30, 2018
November 30, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 8 ?