伪造O2文本网络钓鱼的受害者证书

一种新的基于文本的骗局正在英国巡回演出。该骗局的潜在受害者会收到来自英国电信公司O2的假冒短信,这些短信是官方通讯的伪装,要求用户更新账单详细信息。

伪造的短信声称您的付款详细信息“不正确”,并敦促受害者通过点击文本中包含的恶意链接来进行更新。骗局的全文如下:

“ O2:您的帐单详细信息有误,请通过在台式机或手机上访问您的O2帐户来更新它们。”

这之后是伪造的用户帐户链接,当然,我们不会在这里发布,而只会提及所使用的域名以.co结尾,而不是以.co.uk结尾,例如合法O2网站使用的域名。

为了响应网络钓鱼骗局的蔓延,O2在其网站上设置了专用页面,以警告人们不要使用欺诈性文字并提高对此问题的认识。这种低调,易于传播的骗局并不是同类中的第一个。在2020年夏季中旬,分发了类似的伪造文本,声称用户付款未能通过,并且需要更新用户的付款方式,并附带类似的网络钓鱼域,以刮除登录凭据和其他任何内容。信息害怕的受害者愿意提供。

如何防范网络钓鱼和诈骗?

网络钓鱼正在成为一种越来越普遍的骗人手段,使人们从其凭据,个人信息甚至直接从其金钱中骗取收益。巧妙的社会工程学和欺诈性使用流行品牌的名称可以为欺诈者带来很多好处。但是,有一些通用的经验法则可以帮助您保持安全。

始终仔细检查所有可疑文本或电子邮件,看是否存在语法或拼写错误。有时,坏演员会注册一个伪造域名,该伪造域名只会用数字替换字母-确保您不会忽略此类伪造。仔细检查所有URL和链接,切勿跟随您不确定的消息或电子邮件中包含的任何链接。确保检查据称向您发送任何消息的任何公司或组织的正式域名,并将它们与消息中使用的域进行交叉引用。

切勿以您从可疑消息或电子邮件中打开的任何形式提供凭据或个人信息。黑客可以设置令人信服的合法登录门户网站伪造品,并通过它们窃取您的凭据。

September 25, 2020

发表评论

Fake O2 Texts Phish for Victim Credentials

A new text-based scam is making the rounds in the UK. Potential victims of the scam receive fake text messages that pose as official communication from British telecom company O2, asking users to update billing details.

The fake text message claims that your payment details are "incorrect" and urges the victim to update them by tapping on a malicious link contained in the text. The full text of the scam reads:

"O2: Your billing details are incorrect, please update them by going to your O2 account on your desktop or mobile phone."

This is followed by the fake user account link which, of course, we are not going to publish here but will simply mention the domain used ends in .co and not in .co.uk, like the domain that the legitimate O2 website uses.

In response to the spreading phishing scam, O2 set up a dedicated page on their website to warn people against the fraudulent texts and raise awareness of the issue. This sort of low-profile, easily disseminated scam is not the first of its kind. In the middle of summer 2020 a similar fake text was being distributed, claiming that a user payment failed to go through and an update of the user's payment method was needed, accompanied by a similar phishing domain, made to scrape the login credentials and any other info scared victims would willingly provide.

How to Stay Safe from Phishing and Scams?

Phishing is becoming an increasingly common method of scamming people out of their credentials, personal information or even directly their money. Clever social engineering combined with the fraudulent use of popular brand names can do a lot for fraudsters. However, there are a few general rules of thumb that can help you stay safe.

Always check any suspicious text or email thoroughly for any grammar or spelling mistakes. Sometimes bad actors will register a fake domain that just replaces a letter with a number - make sure you don't overlook such fakes. Double-check all URLs and links and never follow any links contained in a message or email that you feel unsure about. Make sure to check the official domain name of any company or organization that allegedly sends you any messages and cross-reference them with the domains used in the message.

Never provide your credentials or personal information in any forms that you open from suspicious messages or emails. Hackers can set up convincing fakes of legitimate login portals and steal your credentials through them.

September 25, 2020

Leave a Reply