這是一個虛假的谷歌錢包應用程序,它用於劫持谷歌帳戶

A Fake Google Wallet Application

你可以說谷歌是矽谷的經典成功故事。從一個有用的搜索引擎開始,現在幾乎是我們在線所做的一切的一個關鍵部分。多年來,Google發布了用於創建內容,協作項目,共享信息,與其他人通信等的應用和服務。

2011年,基於山景城的巨人通過推出谷歌錢包宣布進入金融領域 - 這是一種支付服務,其中包括處理店內和網上交易。網絡犯罪分子現在使用谷歌錢包名稱對無辜的計算機用戶造成傷害,這可能不會讓您感到意外。

惡意Google電子錢包應用可以訪問用戶的Google帳戶

上週,不少用戶收到了電子郵件,稱Google電子錢包已獲得訪問其帳戶的權限。這些通知是由Google的自動系統發送的,許多人立即懷疑,因為他們知道他們很長一段時間沒有使用該名稱的應用程序。他們採取社交媒體分享他們的擔憂,並建議審查有權訪問他們的數據的應用程序列表 ,刪除他們不認識的應用程序,並更改他們的密碼。一些人抱怨密碼更改後應用程序再次彈出。

您可能認為Google正在嘗試讓更多人使用電子錢包應用。可悲的是,事實並非如此。

一個相當奇怪的運動

總的來說,細節很少而且很遠,而唯一的信息來源是留言板和社交媒體。雖然有很多猜測,但尚未確定假冒谷歌錢包應用可以做些什麼。但是,我們可以肯定的是,該應用程序確實是假的。

首先,與Android Police共享的屏幕截圖顯示,流氓應用程序是由未經驗證的開發人員發布的。對於許多人來說,這可能是一個死亡的贈品,但其他人在他們看到誰被列為應用程序開發人員之前很久就會發現某些事情並不完全正確。

2015年,谷歌將一些谷歌錢包的功能分拆到一個名為Android Pay的新應用程序中。這是一個有點奇怪的舉動,很多人希望遲早會看到它被逆轉。果然,在2018年1月,谷歌宣布將Android Pay和谷歌錢包合併為一個共同品牌 - 谷歌支付。 Google電子錢包名稱已被刪除,並且沒有任何跡象表明它會被復活。

犯罪分子已經向那些不知道這一點的用戶提供了資金,雖然沒有關於攻擊有多大或多少成功的官方信息,但我們非常肯定有些人已經墮落了。在一個支持主題中,一位谷歌員工公司正在調查這個問題,希望我們很快就能獲得更多信息. 然而,無論Google的人發現什麼,這整個故事應該表明,當涉及到可以訪問您的數據的服務和應用程序時,即使是看起來最合法的服務也應該以健康的懷疑態度對待。

April 22, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 8是什麼?

There's a Fake Google Wallet App, and It Is Used to Hijack Google Accounts

A Fake Google Wallet Application

You could argue that Google is the classic Silicon Valley success story. What started off as a useful search engine is now a commanding part of almost everything we do online. Over the years, Google released apps and services for creating content, collaborating on projects, sharing information, communicating with other people, etc.

In 2011, the Mountain View-based colossus announced its entrance into the financial sector with the launch of Google Wallet – a payment service that allowed, among other things, the processing of in-store and online transactions. It probably doesn't come as too much of a surprise to you that cybercriminals are now using the Google Wallet name to cause harm to innocent computer users.

A rogue Google Wallet app gains access to users' Google Accounts

Last week, quite a few users received emails saying that Google Wallet had been given access to their accounts. The notifications were sent by Google's automated systems, and many people immediately got suspicious because they knew that they hadn't used an application by that name in a long time. They took to social media to share their concerns and were advised to review the list of apps that have access to their data, remove the ones they don't recognize, and change their passwords. Some complained that the app popped up again after the password change.

You may be thinking that Google is trying to get more people to use the Wallet app. Sadly, this is not the case.

A rather bizarre campaign

Overall, the details are few and far between, and the only source of information is the message boards and social media. Although there is quite a lot of speculation, it has yet to be confirmed what the fake Google Wallet app can do exactly. We can be pretty certain, however, that the application is indeed fake.

First of all, the screenshots shared with Android Police show that the rogue app was published by an unverified developer. For many, this could be a dead giveaway, but others will have figured out that something's not quite right long before they look at who's listed as the developer of the application.

In 2015, Google spun off some of Google Wallet's functionality into a new application called Android Pay. It was a somewhat strange move, and plenty of people expected to see it being reversed sooner or later. Sure enough, in January 2018, Google announced that Android Pay and Google Wallet are being consolidated under one common brand – Google Pay. The Google Wallet name was dropped, and there's no indication that it will ever be resurrected.

The criminals have banked on users not knowing this, and although there is no official information on how big or successful the attack is, we're pretty sure that some people have fallen for it. In a support thread, a Google employee said that the company is investigating the issue, and hopefully, we will soon have more information. Whatever Google's people find, however, this whole story should go to show that, when it comes to services and apps that have access to your data, even the most legitimate-looking ones should be treated with a healthy dose of suspicion.

April 15, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 4 ?