未能保護三星雲帳戶已允許黑客勒索K-Pop明星

Hackers Blackmail Korean Celebrities After Hacking Their Samsung Cloud Accounts

多年以來,我們一直使用iCloud和Samsung Cloud之類的服務,可以幫助我們將所有照片,視頻,文本和聯繫人備份到雲中,只需輕按幾下即可將其還原到另一台設備上。許多人(尤其是經常更換手機的人)會說這些平台是天賜之物。但是,一些韓國名人可能會有所不同。

網絡犯罪分子正試圖向韓國名人勒索金錢

上週,韓國新聞網站Nate.com 報導說,該遠東國家的一些最著名的明星已成為網絡攻擊的受害者。犯罪分子已經聯繫了K-pop藝術家,演員和廚師,通知他們他們的私人照片,視頻,消息和聯繫方式已受到破壞。受害人收到了數據樣本,證明了這些洩露是真實的,並被告知如果他們不支付贖金,所有信息都將洩露給全世界。當局顯然已經確定了至少十起案件,贖金要求從5,000萬韓元(略高於4.3萬美元)到10億韓元(86.5萬美元)。

在某些情況下,黑客還會與受害者的聯繫人列表中的人取得聯繫,以使名人遭受更大的壓力。這種策略行之有效,據報導,一些明星已經支付了贖金,以使他們的數據遠離公眾視野。

但是,並非所有人都能輕鬆地獲得收益。例如,演員Joo Jin-mo選擇無視罪犯的要求,他面對了後果。在他們試圖從Jin-mo勒索金錢的嘗試失敗之後,騙子洩漏了他與同伴之間的一些SMS交流。

漏洞被迅速追踪到三星雲

發現所有目標名人都使用了三星手機,並且立即變得很清楚,這些數據只能從其三星雲帳戶中獲取。儘管信息是從三星雲竊取的,但韓國科技巨頭尚未報告其服務遭到破壞,這意味著犯罪分子很可能通過猜測受害者的密碼來破壞受害者的帳戶。

黑客是否使用憑據填充攻擊還是強行闖入仍然是未知的。然而,無論如何,首先洩漏信息的事實表明,名人的密碼衛生還不夠完善。

即使這樣,只要在三星的帳戶設置中深處嵌入一個撥動開關就可以阻止攻擊。有問題的撥動開關打開了三星的兩步驗證,用戶可以通過打開“ 設置”應用程序,依次點擊“ 帳戶和備份” >“ 帳戶 來找到它。兩步驗證切換位於“ 密碼和安全性”部分。

兩步驗證(通常稱為兩因素身份驗證)是防止未經授權訪問的最簡單形式。公平地講,以三星雲為例,找到啟用它的開關並不像應該的那樣容易,但是洩密事件應使名人和普通用戶都知道,花時間適當保護您的帳戶絕對是值得的。

韓國名人

你們中的某些人可能現在正處於“déjàvu”時刻,這是因為早在2014年,西方世界的許多名人都處於類似的境地。這次攻擊被稱為Celebgate,攻擊的目標是蘋果公司的iCloud而不是三星雲,而且還沒有犯罪分子試圖勒索受害者的報導。除此之外,這個故事幾乎是相同的–電影和音樂明星未能適當地保護自己的敘述,結果使他們的私生活暴露無遺。

在Celebgate之後,Apple將啟用了雙重身份驗證功能的按鈕移到了更顯眼的位置。希望三星也能做到這一點,希望不僅在韓國,而且在世界各地的名人都將確保點擊它。

January 13, 2020

發表評論

Failure to Protect Samsung Cloud Accounts Has Allowed Hackers to Blackmail K-Pop Stars

Hackers Blackmail Korean Celebrities After Hacking Their Samsung Cloud Accounts

For years now, we have had services like iCloud and Samsung Cloud, which help us back up all our photos, videos, texts, and contacts to the cloud and restore them on another device with a few taps of the screen. Many people (especially the ones who change their phones often) would say that these platforms are a godsend. Some Korean celebrities, however, would probably beg to differ.

Cybercriminals are trying to extort money from Korean celebrities

Last week, South Korean news website Nate.com reported that some of the best-known stars in the Far East country had fallen victims to a cyberattack. Criminals had contacted K-pop artists, actors, and chefs to inform them that their private photos, videos, messages, and contact details had been compromised. The victims received samples of the data, which proved that the breach was real and were told that if they don't pay a ransom, all the information would be leaked to the whole world. Authorities have apparently identified at least ten cases, with the ransom demands ranging from 50 million South Korean won (just over $43 thousand) to 1 billion South Korean won ($865 thousand).

In some cases, the hackers would also get in touch with people from the victim's contact list in order to put the celebrity under even more pressure. This tactic has worked, and some of the stars have reportedly paid the ransom to keep their data away from public view.

Not all of them yield that easily, though. Actor Joo Jin-mo, for example, chose to ignore the criminals' demands, and he faced the consequences. After their attempts to extort money from Jin-mo failed, the crooks leaked some SMS exchanges between him and a fellow actor.

The leak was quickly traced to Samsung Cloud

It was discovered that all of the targeted celebrities used Samsung phones, and it immediately became clear that the data could have only been taken from their Samsung Cloud accounts. Although the information was stolen from Samsung Cloud, the South Korean technology giant has not reported a breach of its service, which means that most likely, the criminals compromised the victims' accounts by guessing their passwords.

It's still unknown whether the hackers used a credential stuffing attack or whether they brute-forced their way in. Whatever the case, however, the fact that the information was leaked in the first place shows that the celebrities' password hygiene was less than perfect.

Even so, a single toggle switch buried deep inside Samsung's account settings would have prevented the attack. The toggle switch in question turns on Samsung's Two-step verification, and users can find it by opening the Settings app, tapping Accounts and backup > Accounts, and then selecting their profile. The Two-step verification toggle is in the Password and security section.

More commonly known as two-factor authentication, two-step verification is the simplest form of protection against unauthorized access. To be fair, in the case of Samsung Cloud, finding the switch that enables it is not as easy as it should be, but the leaks should teach both celebrities and regular users that taking the time to properly secure your accounts is definitely worth it.

A Korean Celebgate

Some of you might be having a déjà vu moment right now, and that's because back in 2014, quite a few celebrities in the western world found themselves in a similar situation. Dubbed Celebgate, the attack targeted Apple's iCloud rather than Samsung Cloud, and there were no reports of criminals trying to blackmail their victims. Other than that, the story was pretty much identical – film and music stars had failed to protect their accounts properly, and as a result, they had their private lives exposed.

In the wake of Celebgate, Apple moved the button that enables the two-factor authentication feature to a more prominent place. Hopefully, Samsung will do the same, and hopefully, celebrities not just in South Korea but all over the world will ensure that it's clicked.

January 13, 2020

Leave a Reply