CAPTCHA是否真的提高了登录安全性?

CAPTCHA Login Security

我们每一秒都依赖于互联网。如果在线任务无法以最快、最有效的方式进行,即使是最耐心的用户也会感到心烦意乱。因此,即使是脾气最好的人也因为CAPTCHA而感到困扰 - 这些简单的测试通常放在注册表和评论中。

对于一个外行人来说,CAPTCHA似乎不想让人们的生活变得麻烦,而它本身却带来了一些不必要的烦恼。更多用户知道虽然它们会给整体体验带来不便,但出于安全考虑,我们仍需要它们。但事实上,很少人知道CAPTCHA测试解决了多少问题,以及它们有多重要。

CAPTCHA测试是什么?

CAPTCHA的全称是全自动区分计算机和人类的图灵测试。 它的名字有些长,但至少准确反映了它到底是一项什么技术 - 它是一种区分用户是计算机还是人类的程序算法。但我们为什么需要它呢?

正如我们前面所提到的,在网络世界中,在尽可能短的时间内完成尽可能多的事。不仅是普通计算机用户,对于一些图谋不轨的人来说也是如此。自动化脚本可以执行大部分操作——发表评论、登录在线账户以及注册新的服务。通常情况,不良分子会编写自动脚本来执行所有这些操作,来对用户造成损害或是侵犯隐私。CAPTCHA的目标是限制这些恶意活动。

CAPTCHA解决了许多恼人的问题

如果您正在开发服务或产品,了解人们对其看法是很重要的。通过互联网,这项工作变得更轻松。负面的客户评论可能会影响人们交易的欲望,自然而然,供应商就害怕这些评论。很多人应对批评的方法是主动去发现产品设计和开发过程中的错误,然后投入时间和来解决。

可悲的是,也有一些人采取了不同的方法——他们使用自动机器发布大量关于自己产品的好评。铺天盖地的好评淹没了真实的用户想法,潜在客户无法得知其他使用者的意见和看法。当然,这项技术也可以用户完全相反的目的——在评论中对某个产品发布大量的负面评论,让人们对其失去兴趣。

CAPTCHA测试不允许自动机器人发布评论,这意味着如果想要通过影响用户想法从而获得不公平的竞争优势,需要手动来完成这些工作。这样即缓慢又低效。这只是其中一个好的方面,CAPTCHA能做的比这更多。

有很多人希望收集尽可能多关于您的信息。这项活动被称为网络抓取,虽然它可能在某些国家产生法律影响,但显然这不足以阻止许多人和组织这么做。速度至关重要。一些可以自动收集数据的工具应运而生。CAPTCHA测试会降低它们的效率。

CAPTCHA还解决了一些更重要的问题

个人信息被一些营销人员收集显然是件烦人的事情,同样烦人的还有被忽悠购买低质量的产品。这两件事或许不会对您的生活产生特别持久的影响。然而不幸的是,自动脚本有时会带来严重后果。

很多人可能知道,垃圾邮件是网络安全专业人员面临的最大问题之一。它被用于推销不可靠的药品、散布恶意软件,甚至可以成为网络骗子手中强大的武器。犯罪分子需要从某个地方发送垃圾邮件,这往往会带来一些问题。

他们可以(并且经常会)使用一些疑心较低的用户的受感染电子邮箱。对于垃圾邮件发送者来说,问题是发送完一批欺诈性消息后,发件人就会被迅速添加到黑名单中,之后便无法正常发送消息。

注册页面上没有CAPTCHA测试的免费电子邮件提供商让骗子有机可乘。垃圾邮件制造者可以简单地编写一个自动工具,在几分钟内创建数百个新的,独特的电子邮件账户。如果这些邮箱被屏蔽,脚本可以注册另一批帐户,依此类推。他们只需点击一些按钮,然后等待结果。

网络犯罪分子发起在线攻击,基本都是这么做的。大家普遍认为“黑客攻击”是个很复杂的过程,而事实上正相反,只要找到了合适的工具并进行部署。CAPTCHA测试可能决定一场在线攻击是否成功,特别是当攻击者不是非常复杂时。不幸的是,情况有时候很复杂。

CAPTCHA的演变

当讨论CAPTCHA时,大多数人可能会想到含有扭曲词语的图像。但是,CAPTCHA测试在过去几年中已经有所改变。

CAPTCHA测试的重点在于它对于人类来说应该是容易的,但对于计算机来说是不可逾越的障碍。几年前,带有扭曲词语的经典CAPTCHA就是这样。然而,多年来,光学字符识别(OCR)技术变得越来越好,计算机开始“阅读”扭曲的单词。开发人员尝试让测试变得更加困难,但是,人们一度抱怨这些词语完全读不懂。为视障用户提供的音频方式也被证明对复杂的攻击无效。

意识到必须要采取措施,谷歌开发了noCAPTCHA reCAPTCHA——这个测试看起来比传统的CAPTCHA更容易解决。现在,在大多数网站上,你只需要点击一个复选框来证明你是一个人。还有另一种选择比如选择一组有相似物体的照片,这些都十分简单。

谷歌对这项技术的运作方式保持缄默,但它应该比传统的CAPTCHA更可靠。显然,在尝试确定真人是否正在与服务进行交互时,需要考虑许多不同的因素。如果它认为你可能是一个机器人,它将呈现复选框验证,如果它仍然不确定,它会给你一些照片,要求你选出其中特别的。

如您所见,CAPTCHA是为了解决各种不同问题而出现的非常重要且相当聪明的解决方案。它在过去一直受到批评,但多年来,它使用户体验和安全性都有了突飞猛进的发展。

CAPTCHA是完美的解决方案吗?

不,它不是。首先,虽然谷歌的新系统对自动机器人非常有效,但一些黑客仍然认为他们可以以相当可观的成功率组织攻击。即使他们现在无法做到这一点,他们迟早会找到一种骗过谷歌机器人识别系统的方法,专家们需要努力工作才能保持领先一步。

不仅如此,正如我们已经提到的,有些人认为围绕CAPTCHA测试工作对他们的业务成功至关重要。当然,有些组织愿意迎合他们。用谷歌一搜就能找到许多破解CAPTCHA的服务,其中一些是基于OCR技术的工具,也有报道说一部分人付钱聘请许多真人来完成CAPTCHA测试。

事实上,尽管它可以解决相当多的问题,但它不是(也绝不会是)灵丹妙药。例如,在离线暴力攻击中,它的作用就非常有限。

所以,CAPTCHA并不完美。然而,它的设计目的却相当不错,虽然它通常意味着我们需要花费更多时间来完成一项特定操作,但我们不应低估它的重要性。

January 8, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 4是什么?

Does CAPTCHA Really Enhance Login Security?

CAPTCHA Login Security

Every second counts on the Internet, and even the most patient users get frustrated when online tasks aren't completed in the quickest, most efficient way possible. Hence, even the most tolerant people are often annoyed by CAPTCHAs – the simple tests that are often put in registration forms and comment sections.

To a layman, CAPTCHAs look like an unnecessary annoyance created by someone who just wants to make people's lives harder. More experience users know that although they bring additional friction to the overall experience, we need them for security purposes. Few, however, realize just how many problems CAPTCHA tests solve, and how important they are.

What is a CAPTCHA test

CAPTCHA stands for Completely Automated Public Turing test to tell Computers and Humans Apart. It's not the nicest-sounding name in the world, but at least it does the job of conveying what the technology is all about – it's an automated way of discovering whether or not a real person is on the other end of the keyboard. But why do we need to do this at all?

As we mentioned already, in the online world, it's important to do as much as possible in as little time as possible. And this goes not only for regular computer users but also for people who are up to no good. Automated scripts can now do most of the things you can do – post comments, log in to online accounts, and register for new services. Often, the bad guys program automated scripts to do all these things with the intent of causing harm, compromising users' privacy, or simply, to annoy them. CAPTCHA's goal is to limit these activities.

The annoying problems CAPTCHA solves

If you're developing a service or a product, it's important to hear what people think about it, and thanks to the Internet, this is easier than ever. Negative customer reviews can often act as a deal-breaker for many people, and naturally enough, vendors are scared of them. Many try to silence any criticism by realizing that some mistakes might have been made during the design and development of the product, and then investing time and effort into fixing the errors.

Sadly, others take a different approach. They use automated bots to post an overwhelming number of positive reviews and comments about their own products. The positivity drowns out the real opinions, and would-be customers get a wrong impression of what real users actually think. Obviously, the same technique can be used in the opposite direction – flooding comment sections and discussion boards with negative reviews about a certain product in order to sway people away from it.

CAPTCHA tests don't allow comments or reviews to be posted by automated bots meaning that people who want to gain an unfair advantage by influencing users' opinion need to do it manually which is neither quick nor efficient. This is good news, but there's a lot more to CAPTCHA than this.

As you probably know, there are many people out there that want to collect as much information about you as possible. The activity is known as web scraping, and although it could have legal repercussions in some countries, this obviously isn't enough to deter many people and organizations. Once again, speed is of the essence which is why there are tools designed to harvest data automatically. As you might have guessed already, CAPTCHA tests render them inefficient.

The more serious problems CAPTCHA solves

Having your personal information collected by aggressive marketers isn't particularly pleasant, and neither is getting fooled into buying a low-quality product. Both these things, however, are unlikely to have particularly long-lasting effects on your life. Unfortunately, automated scripts are sometimes used for schemes that have far more serious consequences.

Spam, as you probably know, is one of the biggest problems cybersecurity professionals face. It's used for anything from advertising dodgy pharmaceutical products to distributing malware, and it can be a very powerful weapon in the crooks' arsenal. The criminals need to send the spam from somewhere, though, which often presents a bit of a problem.

They can (and often do) use compromised email accounts of users who don't suspect a thing. The problem for the spammers is that soon after the first wave of fraudulent messages is unleashed, the senders are added to blacklists quickly, and subsequent messages often remain undelivered.

Free email providers that don't have CAPTCHA tests on their registration pages give crooks a solution. The spammers can simply write an automatic tool that creates hundreds of new, unique email accounts in minutes. Then, when those get blocked, the script can register another batch of accounts, and so on. All the crooks need to do is click some buttons, sit back, and wait for the results.

Speaking of which, this is pretty much all they do when they launch an online brute-force attack as well. Contrary to popular belief, you don't actually need to do a lot of "hacking" in order to launch a cyberattack. Often, it's all down to finding the right tools and deploying them. In a brute-force scenario, a CAPTCHA test could mean the difference between a successful attack and a failure, especially when the attackers aren't very sophisticated. Unfortunately, they sometimes are.

The evolution of CAPTCHA

Most of you probably think of images of distorted words when you discuss CAPTCHA. You might have noticed, however, that CAPTCHA tests have changed somewhat over the last few years.

The whole point of a CAPTCHA test is that it should be easy for a human but an impassable obstacle for a computer. Some years ago, the classic CAPTCHAs with the twisted words were just that. Over the years, however, Optical Character Recognition (OCR) technology got better and better, and slowly but surely, computers started "reading" the distorted words. Developers responded by making the challenges more difficult, but at one point, people started complaining that the words are quite simply unreadable. The audio equivalents provided for visually impaired users were also proven to be ineffective against sophisticated attacks.

Realizing that something must be done, Google developed noCAPTCHA reCAPTCHA – a test that is seemingly a lot easier to solve than the classic CAPTCHA. Right now, on most websites, you just need to click a checkbox to prove that you are a human being, and when there is another challenge, it's usually something easy like selecting a group of photographs that have similar objects on them.

Google is tight-lipped on how the technology works, but it's supposed to be much more reliable than the traditional CAPTCHA. Apparently, it takes a number of different factors into consideration in an attempt to determine whether a real person is interacting with the service. If it thinks that you might be a bot, it will present the checkbox challenge, and if it still isn't sure, it will give you a selection of photos, asking you to pick the odd ones out.

As you can see, CAPTCHA is a very important, rather clever solution to a variety of different problems. It has been criticized in the past, but over the years, it has come leaps and bounds in terms of both user experience and security.

Is CAPTCHA the perfect solution

No, it doesn't. For one, although Google's new system is supposed to be quite effective against automated bots, some hackers still reckon that they can organize an attack with a respectable success rate. Even if they can't do it right now, they will sooner or later find a way of fooling Google's bot-recognition system, and the experts will need to work hard to stay one step ahead.

There's more. As we mentioned already, some people think that working around CAPTCHA tests is crucial for their business success, and sure enough, there are organizations that are willing to cater to them. A number of CAPTCHA-breaking services are just a Google search away, with some of them basing their tools on OCR technology while others are reportedly paying real people woefully small amounts of money in exchange for solved CAPTCHA tests.

Of course, there is also the fact that while it can be a solution to quite a few problems, it's not (and will never be) a panacea. In an offline brute-force attack, for example, it is not going to do much.

So, CAPTCHA is not perfect. It is rather good at what it's designed to do, however, and although it often means that we need to spend a bit more time completing a particular task, we shouldn't underestimate its importance.

By Duran
January 2, 2019
January 2, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 4 ?