安全研究人員發現企業VPN存在缺陷

沒有人希望他們的安全措施適得其反。企業或企業VPN是企業用來保護其數據免受黑客攻擊和盜竊的手段之一。但是,最近有人透露,企業VPN可能存在某些安全漏洞,可能會使敏感數據面臨風險。

在本文中,我們將簡要介紹VPN的內容,我們將介紹安全研究人員發現的缺陷,然後我們將了解企業VPN和消費者VPN之間的差異。最後,我們將了解您可以採取哪些措施來緩解這些缺陷並使您的系統更安全。

什麼是企業VPN?

簡而言之,企業VPN是一種允許加密業務設備連接的應用程序。然後,連接到同一網絡的所有設備都可以通過安全連接共享數據。 VPN應用程序可以保護企業網絡免受黑客,虛假Wi-Fi服務甚至廣告商的侵害。一些安全研究人員認為,VPN是一種比防病毒程序更好的解決方案,因為它可以加密網絡中的數據。同樣,它使數據共享更安全,甚至可以通過VPN服務在雲上訪問您的數據。

當然,如果您想實現業務VPN,您一定要了解有關服務,設置和成本的更多信息。選擇最適合您的服務並滿足您的業務需求非常重要。我們不要忘記您可能需要幫助來管理VPN服務的安全性和操作。然而,考慮到信息是目前最大的商品,管理VPN服務的成本可能只是您的網絡和信息不受保護時可能損失的一小部分。因此,你必須明智地做出你的選擇。

什麼是企業VPN缺陷?

由於我們談論明智的選擇,我們必須看看幾個新聞媒體報導的企業VPN漏洞。 Devcore的研究人員Orange Tsai和Meh Change發現了幾個流行的企業VPN提供商的基本缺陷,包括Fortinet,Pulse Secure和Palo Alto Networks。通常,公司為其員工發布用戶名和密碼以訪問其VPN網絡。但是,未發現的漏洞很容易讓黑客無需身份驗證憑據即可訪問網絡。這尤其令人擔憂,因為許多公司數據可能存在風險。

這些缺陷存在於SSL VPN或安全套接字層VPN中。這些網絡使用SSL協議(有時是傳輸層安全協議)來確保遠程訪問功能。此安全協議採用端到端加密,可保護服務器和端點設備之間共享的數據。因此,它為用戶提供了一種遠程訪問重要數據的便捷方式。為了提供這種訪問,SSL VPN服務器必須始終在線,這是安全研究人員所擔心的。

他們認為,當SSL VPN服務器受到攻擊時,黑客可能會滲入目標網絡,並且網絡中的所有連接都可能被接管。結果,信息將被盜。研究人員聲稱,由於遠程代碼執行缺陷(CVE-2019-1579)恰好存在於PAN SSL網關中,因此滲透是可能的。

軟件開發人員經常通過軟件更新和補丁來處理這些漏洞,但研究人員表示,仍有公司使用過時的VPN應用程序版本,從而將自己變成完美的黑客攻擊目標. 這意味著如果您想避免惡意滲透,必須使VPN產品保持最新。

企業VPN與消費者VPN

如果企業VPN可以成為黑客目標,這是否意味著消費者VPN也可能受到攻擊?企業VPN與消費者VPN之間有什麼區別?讓我們仔細看看消費者VPN,以使這種比較更加清晰。

也許最大的區別在於,商業VPN有多個用戶,而個人服務是為一個用戶設計的。消費者VPN服務可以完全控制一個用戶,他們可以在這裡創建自己的用戶名和密碼。當然,這是一個挑戰,因為帳戶安全性依賴於用戶的肩膀,但總是可以使用密碼管理器來幫助為個人帳戶創建強大而獨特的密碼。

下一個企業VPN與消費者VPN點是服務器。個人VPN服務沒有專用的服務器。該帳戶將連接到專用於專用網絡的任何常規服務器。另一方面,業務VPN服務有自己的服務器。這意味著企業用戶擁有更好的連接和更好的服務質量,但現在我們知道,由於流行的VPN應用程序中發現的缺陷,這可能並非總是如此。

我們將在這裡提到的另一個重要區別(肯定有更多,但這是另一篇文章的故事)是使用方面。正如我們在本條目開頭所提到的,業務VPN用於業務活動,以保證企業數據的安全性並允許輕鬆訪問,從而確保順暢的業務通信。消費者VPN更常用於訪問被阻止的網站或訂閱來自其他國家/地區的服務。例如,如果您所在的國家/地區不提供某些服務,您可以使用消費者VPN服務通過虛擬網絡訪問該服務。

簡而言之,無論您使用商業VPN還是消費者VPN,這種網絡的安全性都歸結為適當的管理和網絡安全意識。 VPN應用程序開發人員應盡可能安全地提供服務。但是,您還應該確保您使用的軟件已更新到最新版本,並且您的身份驗證令牌非常強大且安全。對於商業VPN服務,聘請專業的管理團隊也是一個好主意。如果您想確保您的信息免受惡意攻擊,那絕對是值得的。

August 21, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 7是什麼?

Corporate VPNs Are Flawed, Security Researchers Discover

No one wants their security measures to backfire. Business or corporate VPN is one of the means employed by corporations to protect their data from hacks and thefts. However, it has been revealed recently that corporate VPN might have certain security flaws that could put sensitive data at risk.

In this entry, we will give you a concise summary of what a VPN is, we will go through the flaws that were unearthed by security researchers, and then we will look at the differences between a corporate VPN and a consumer VPN. Finally, we will look at what you can do to mitigate those flaws and make your system safer.

What is a corporate VPN?

To put it simply, a corporate VPN is an application that allows encrypting business device connection. All the devices connected to the same network then can share data through a secured connection. A VPN application protects the corporate network from hackers, fake Wi-Fi services, and even advertisers. Some security researchers suggest that a VPN is a better solution than an antivirus program because it encrypts data within the network. Likewise, it makes data sharing safer, and you can even access your data on a cloud through VPN services.

Of course, if you want to implement a business VPN, you should definitely learn more about the service, its setup, and costs. It is important to choose the service that suits you and your business needs the best. Let’s not forget that you may need help with managing the security and operations of your VPN service. Yet, considering that information is the biggest commodity these days, the costs of managing a VPN service might be just a fraction of what you could lose if your network and your information aren’t protected. Hence, you have to make your choices wisely.

What are the corporate VPN flaws?

Since we’re talking about wise choices, we have to look at the corporate VPN flaws that were reported by several news outlets. Researchers Orange Tsai and Meh Change at Devcore have found fundamental flaws in several popular corporate VPN providers, including Fortinet, Pulse Secure, and Palo Alto Networks. Usually, companies issue usernames and passwords for their employees to access their VPN networks. However, unearthed flaws could easily allow hackers to access networks without authentication credentials. This is especially worrisome because a lot of corporate data could be at risk.

The flaws were found in the SSL VPN or the Secure Sockets Layer VPN. These networks use the SSL protocol (or sometimes the Transport Layer Security protocol) to ensure the remote access function. This security protocol employs the end-to-end encryption, which protects data that is shared between the server and the endpoint device. As a result, it gives users a convenient way to access important data remotely. To provide this access, the SSL VPN servers have to always be online, and this is what the security researchers are worried about.

They believe that the moment an SSL VPN server gets compromised, hackers could infiltrate the target network, and all the connections within the network could be taken over. As a result, the information would be stolen. The researchers claim that the infiltration is possible due to a remote code execution flaw (CVE-2019-1579) that happens to exist in the PAN SSL Gateway.

Software developers often take care of such vulnerabilities with software updates and patches, but researchers say that there are still companies that use outdated VPN app versions, thus turning themselves into perfect hacking targets. This means that you have to keep your VPN products up to date if you want to avoid malicious infiltrations.

Corporate VPN vs. Consumer VPN

If corporate VPN can become a hacker target, does that mean that consumer VPN could be attacked, too? What are the differences between corporate VPN vs. consumer VPN? Let’s take a closer look at the consumer VPN to make this comparison clearer.

Perhaps the biggest difference is that business VPN has multiple users while a personal service is designed for one user. Consumer VPN service gives full control to one user, where they can create their own usernames and passwords. Of course, this is a challenge because then the account security rests on user’s shoulders, but it is always possible to employ a password manager that would help create strong and unique passwords for personal accounts.

The next corporate VPN vs. consumer VPN point is servers. Personal VPN service does not have a solely dedicated server. The account would connect to any regularly available server that is intended for a private network. On the other hand, business VPN services have their own servers. This would mean that corporate users have a better connection and better service quality, but now we know that this may not always be true due to the flaws discovered in popular VPN apps.

Another important difference that we are going to mention here (there are definitely more, but that’s a story for another post) is the aspects of use. As we have mentioned at the beginning of this entry, business VPNs are used for business activities, to keep the corporate data secure and allow easy access, which ensures smooth business communication. Consumer VPN is more often used to access blocked websites or subscribe to services from other countries. For example, if some service is not available in your country, you might use a consumer VPN service to access that service through a virtual network.

To put it simply, whether you employ business VPN or consumer VPN, the security of such networks boils down to proper management and cybersecurity awareness. It is up to the VPN app developers to make their services as safe as possible. But you should also make sure that the software you use is updated to the latest version, and that your authentication tokens are strong and safe. For business VPN services, it would also be a good idea to employ a professional management team. It is definitely worth it if you want to ensure that your information is secured against malicious hacks.

August 21, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 10 ?