谨防一个新的Apple技术支持骗局

New Apple Tech Support Scam

你总是可以从诈骗者那里得到一个好笑,他们正在尝试并且无法欺骗网络安全专家。不幸的是,当你停下来想想有多少其他不那么精明的用户会因为骗子而堕落时,事情会突然变得更加严重,尤其是当你看到一些方案变得多么聪明时。

我们今天要讨论的骗局涉及iPhone用户,并且首先由网络安全记者Brian Krebs报道。今年年初,安全咨询公司Global Cyber Risk LLC的首席执行官Jody Westby联系了Krebs,他告诉他有关她收到的一个奇怪的电话。

尽管意外的自动呼叫表明苹果公司没有遭遇数据泄露

1月3日,韦斯特比女士的iPhone响了,当她拿起时,一台机器告诉她苹果遭到了网络攻击。记录的消息称,包含Apple ID的多个服务器以及其他信息已被泄露。有人告诉她,在她用手机做任何其他事情之前,她应拨打1-866电话,她将收到进一步的指示。

作为一名安全专业人士,韦斯特比女士知道苹果没有遭遇数据泄露,她知道即使有,也会选择不同的方式告知公众。不幸的是,许多其他用户不会意识到发生了什么。特别是鉴于诈骗者试图提出的一个聪明的伎俩。

尽管你的iPhone说的是,自动呼叫并非来自Apple

类似的骗局现在每天都会发生,但这个骗局很突出,因为虽然她知道整件事都是假的,当她看着她的iPhone看她和谁谈过话时,Westby女士看到了“Apple Inc.”。所有联系方式(主页,实际地址和电话号码)都是正确的。

好奇的是,Westby女士去了Apple的支持页面并打开了一个案例,要求支持代理人给她打电话。一位Apple代表确实联系了,她的iPhone告诉她合法的电话来自与诈骗电话相同的联系人。

显然,诈骗者欺骗了苹果公司的号码,并欺骗iPhone认为他们是真正的代表。目前尚不清楚他们是如何做到的或他们追求的是什么。 Brian Krebs试图在1-866号码上与他们取得联系,但诈骗者(根据克雷布斯有印度口音)显然意识到他并没有和一个典型的受害者交谈而且被绞死了。

诈骗者正在加强他们的游戏

解决骗局的困难部分是赢得受害者的信任。一旦骗子克服了这一点,他们的选择实际上是无限的。他们可以告诉你 ,你的设备不正确并要求钱来“修复”问题,他们可以欺骗你安装恶意软件,他们甚至可以收集你的信息,以后他们可以用于各种不同的目的。

如果该方案与上述方案一样令人信服,那么骗子甚至可以像要求您的用户名和密码一样大胆。如果他们认为他们正在与供应商代表交谈,那么缺乏经验和知情的用户会愿意提供他们的登录凭据,特别是在Apple帐户的情况下,可能会暴露大量极其敏感的数据。

关于整个情况的真正令人失望的事情是,没有逐步指导可以帮助您保护自己。你只需要非常警惕危险,并且应该用相当多的众所周知的盐对待每一次意外的召唤. 不幸的是,正如您所看到的,屏幕上的电话号码不是一个可靠的指标。但是,有关您的个人信息的问题以及声称您的计算机或手机不正确的问题应立即引起您的注意。如果有任何您不确定的事情,请挂断电话,如果您需要与公司联系,请确保您发起联系。有时,这不是世界上最简单的事情,但考虑到您的个人数据受到威胁,我们认为这项工作非常值得。

January 28, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 2是什么?

Beware of A New Apple Tech Support Scam

New Apple Tech Support Scam

You can always get a good laugh out of scammers who are trying and failing spectacularly to trick cybersecurity specialists. Unfortunately, when you stop and think about how many other, less savvy users fall for the crooks' tricks, things suddenly become rather more serious, especially when you see how clever some of the schemes have become.

The scam we're about to discuss today involves iPhone users and was first reported by cybersecurity journalist Brian Krebs. At the beginning of the year, Krebs was contacted by Jody Westby, the CEO of security consulting company Global Cyber Risk LLC who told him about a strange call she had received.

Despite what an unexpected automated call says, Apple hasn't suffered a data breach

On January 3, Ms. Westby's iPhone rang, and when she picked up, a machine told her that Apple had been hit by a cyberattack. The recorded message said that multiple servers containing Apple IDs as well as other information had been compromised. She was told that before she does anything else with her phone, she should call a 1-866 number where she will receive further instructions.

Being a security professional, Ms. Westby knew that Apple hadn't suffered a data breach, and she knew that even if it had, it would have chosen a different way of informing the public about it. Unfortunately, many other users wouldn't be this aware of what's going on. Especially in light of a clever trick the scammers tried to pull.

Despite what your iPhone says, that automated call is not coming from Apple

Similar scams are a daily occurrence nowadays, but this one stands out because although she knew that the whole thing was fake, when she looked at her iPhone to see who she had spoken to, Ms. Westby saw "Apple Inc." All the contact details, (the home page, the physical address, and the phone number) were correct.

Curious, Ms. Westby went to Apple's support page and opened a case, asking for a support agent to call her. An Apple representative did get in touch, and her iPhone told her that the legitimate call is coming from the same contact as the scam call.

Apparently, the scammers spoofed Apple's number and fooled the iPhone into thinking that they are real representatives. It's still not clear how they did it or what they were after. Brian Krebs tried to get in touch with them on the 1-866 number, but the scammer (who had an Indian accent according to Krebs) apparently realized that he's not talking to a typical victim and hanged up.

Scammers are upping their game

The difficult part of pulling off a scam is earning the victim's trust. Once the crooks get over this, their options are practically limitless. They can tell you that something's not right with your devices and ask for money to "fix" the problems, they can trick you into installing malware, and they can even gather information about you which they can later use for a variety of different purposes.

If the scheme is as convincing as the one described above, the crooks can even be as audacious as asking for your usernames and passwords. If they think that they're talking to vendor representatives, less experienced and informed users will willingly give out their login credentials which, especially in the case of Apple accounts, could expose tons of extremely sensitive data.

The really disappointing thing about the whole situation is that there is no step-by-step guide that will help you protect yourself. You just need to be extremely wary of the dangers and should treat every unexpected call with a sizable amount of proverbial salt. Unfortunately, as you can see, the phone number on your screen is not a reliable indicator. Questions about your personal information and claims that something's not right with your computer or phone, however, should immediately raise your eyebrows. If there's anything you're not sure about, hang up, and if you need to talk to the company, make sure you initiate the contact. Sometimes, this isn't the easiest thing in the world, but considering the fact that your personal data is at stake, we reckon that the effort is well worth it.

January 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 9 ?