技术支持诈骗针对您的个人信息:如何识别和避免它们

Tech Support Scams

虽然您可能认为它是理所当然的,但目前坐在您面前的计算机是一项复杂的技术。这就是为什么它有时会破坏而且不能正常运作。因为它是一项复杂的技术,修理计算机并不像拧入灯泡那么简单,专家一直在解决用户的PC问题。与此同时,其他人一直在利用这些困难来欺骗人们并积累非法财富。

技术支持骗局几乎与技术支持本身一样存在,据微软称,这种欺诈行为正变得越来越多产。今年四月,这家硅谷巨头表示 ,在2017年,它收到了来自技术支持诈骗者受害者的15.3万起投诉。有多少其他人因为报告这场考验而感到尴尬,但受到了猜测,但雷德蒙德确实表示,15%的投诉人遭受了实际的金钱损失。 15%可能听起来不是很多,但它远远不是微不足道的,特别是当你考虑到在大多数情况下,损害达数百美元的事实。今天,我们将看看技术支持骗局是什么,我们将试图找出它为何如此有效。

钩,线和坠子

欺诈者为此使用了许多不同的媒介。他们可以冷静地打电话给你,他们可以妥协一个合法的网站,并用弹出窗口和警告填充它,或者他们可以设置自己的假页面,然后使用一些SEO技术将其推到搜索结果的顶部。无论车辆如何,目标都是一样的。

这些骗子使用了大量的社会工程来说服你的计算机出了问题,即使它可能处于完美的工作状态。通常,你被愚弄认为存在大量恶意软件感染,并且为了使事情变得更加真实,犯罪分子经常冒充微软或知名安全公司。在大多数情况下,在服用诱饵后不久,您将通过电话与“支持代理人”交谈,他们将帮助您纠正这种情况。

由于连接是通过电话进行的,因此您需要让支持人员访问您的计算机,这通常通过TeamViewer等远程管理工具完成。然后,骗子们竭尽全力说服你,你的电脑出现了可怕的错误。他们有时会提取假日志,他们经常会向您展示真实的错误,但绝不会出现异常。因为大多数受害者都不是非常精通技术,骗子经常通过在命令提示符窗口中输入一些简单的命令来欺骗他们。这是纯粹的社会工程,用户通常不会怀疑对下一阶段的操作至关重要的事情。

净利润

当技术支持诈骗者获得您的信任(以及远程访问您的PC)时,他们面前就有了一个充满机会的世界。例如,他们可以下载一个伪造的反病毒程序,该程序将执行假扫描,并将删除不存在的假病毒。或者,他们可以输入一些命令并告诉您,他们已经完全清理并优化了您的系统。无论哪种方式,整个事情将花费你几百美元。

但是,由于您对Windows命令一无所知,在cmd窗口中输入时可能不会发现,有用的支持人员还从远程服务器下载了可执行文件并运行它. 这个文件可能是一个键盘记录程序或信息窃取程序,它会默默地获取您的个人数据并以黑客的方式发送它。

发现技术支持骗局

技术支持骗局似乎是如此有效,这有点令人惊讶,因为即使你不是一个计算机向导,虚假警告页面提出的许多声明只能用常识来破坏。

首先,你有一个事实,即在浏览互联网时,一个随机网站突然发现你的电脑充满了恶意软件。现在,虽然浏览器中加载的网站可能非常善于显示即将发生的错误的拼写错误警告,但它们无法执行恶意软件扫描。

然后,您有时会在IT行业中模仿已建立的名称。确实,许多安全公司和其他服务提供商都提供远程支持。它通常通过电话完成,并且确实使用了远程管理工具。这项服务仅提供给付费订阅者,而不是随机的互联网用户,而且主要是您,客户,请求它,而不是相反。

至于微软,许多欺诈者都试图冒充雷蒙德庞然大物,因为它是一个家喻户晓的名字。然而,与微软一样大,它不会帮助每一个已经发现恶意软件感染的Windows用户。这是不可能的。

技术支持骗局的后果可能比错误的几百美元更严重,特别是如果骗子决定放弃PC上的恶意软件。保持你的智慧,不让随机的陌生人访问你的计算机应该保证你的安全,但尽管如此,威胁不容小觑。

May 20, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 4是什么?

Tech Support Scams Target Your Personal Information: How to Recognize and Avoid Them

Tech Support Scams

Although you probably take it for granted, the computer that's currently sitting in front of you is a sophisticated piece of technology. That's why it sometimes breaks and doesn't function properly. Because it's a sophisticated piece of technology, fixing a computer isn't as easy as screwing in a lightbulb, and experts have been making a living out of resolving users' PC woes. Others, meanwhile, have been using these woes to defraud people and amass illegal fortunes.

Tech support scams have existed for nearly as long as tech support itself, and according to Microsoft, this type of fraud is becoming more and more prolific. In April, the Silicon Valley giant said that in 2017, it received 153 thousand complaints from people who have become victims to tech support scammers. How many others were too embarrassed to report the ordeal is subject to speculation, but Redmond did say that 15% of the people who did complain suffered actual monetary damage. 15% might not sound like much, but it's far from insignificant, especially when you consider the fact that in most cases, the damage amounted to several hundred dollars. Today, we'll take a look at what a tech support scam is, and we'll try to figure out why it's so effective.

Hook, line, and sinker

Fraudsters use a number of different mediums for this. They can cold call you, they can compromise a legitimate website and fill it with popups and warnings, or they can set up their own fake page and then employ some SEO techniques to push it to the top of the search results. Regardless of the vehicle, the goal is the same.

The crooks use a lot of social engineering to convince you that something's wrong with your computer even though it might be in perfect working order. Often, you are fooled into thinking that there's a massive malware infection, and to make things more real, the criminals regularly impersonate Microsoft or well-known security companies. In most cases, shortly after taking the bait, you are on the phone talking to a "support agent" who will help you rectify the situation.

Because the connection is over the phone, you need to give the support person access to your computer, and this is usually done via a remote administration tool like TeamViewer. The crooks then go to great lengths to persuade you that something with your PC has gone horribly wrong. They sometimes pull fake logs, and they often show you errors that are real but in no way abnormal. Because the majority of victims are not terribly tech-savvy, the crooks often fool them by typing in some simple commands in the command prompt window. It's pure social engineering in action, and users often don't suspect a thing which is crucial for the next stage of the operation.

Netting the profits

When the tech support scammers gain your trust (and remote access to your PC), they have a world of opportunities in front of them. They can, for example, download a fake anti-virus program that will perform a fake scan and will remove the fake virus that doesn't exist. Alternatively, they can input a few commands and tell you that with them, they have completely cleaned and optimized your system. Either way, the whole thing will cost you a few hundred dollars.

Because you know nothing about Windows commands, however, you might not spot that while typing furiously in the cmd window, the helpful support person also downloaded an executable file from a remote server and ran it. This file could be a keylogger or an information stealer that will silently take your personal data and send it the hackers' way.

Spotting a tech support scam

It is a bit of a surprise that tech support scams seem to be so effective because even if you're not a computer wizard, many claims made by the fake warning pages can be busted using nothing more than common sense.

First of all, you have the fact that while surfing the Internet, a random website suddenly found out that your PC is full of malware. Now, while websites loaded in the browser might be very good at displaying typo-infested warnings of impending doom, they just can't perform malware scans.

Then you have the sometimes pitiful attempts at impersonating established names in the IT industry. It is true that many security companies and other service providers offer remote support. It's often done via telephone, and remote administration tools are indeed used. This service is only offered to paying subscribers, though, not random Internet users, and mostly, it's you, the customer, who requests it, not the other way around.

As for Microsoft, many fraudsters try to impersonate the Redmond behemoth because it's a household name. Nevertheless, as big as Microsoft is, it will not help every single Windows user that has picked up a malware infection. It's just not possible.

The consequences of a tech support scam could be more serious than a few hundred dollars that went the wrong way, especially if the crooks decide to drop malware on your PC. Keeping your wits about you and not giving random strangers access to your computer should keep you safe, but despite this, the threat must not be underestimated.

August 15, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 7 ?