本地或云存儲?哪個更安全?

您可能想知道為什麼雲存儲如此流行。畢竟,您的計算機是存儲信息的相對安全的地方。只有您可以實際訪問它,並且可以根據需要斷開它與Internet的連接。那麼為什麼雲存儲如此受歡迎並且真的更好呢?讓我們對其進行分解並找出答案。

不幸的現實是,您放在雲上的所有信息與您自己的計算機一樣容易受到黑客的攻擊。雲存儲也有同樣的弱點,它們的服務器可能會損壞,遭受電源故障並遭到惡意第三方的入侵,就像您自己的PC一樣。更糟糕的是,雲提供商很少會解釋他們如何保護您的數據免受所有這些侵害,同時由於他們嚴格的規則和頂級加密算法,他們保證您的個人信息是安全的。我們應該對它們進行分析,看看哪種更適合您的需求。

雲儲存

雲存儲是需要存儲數據負載的企業的天賜之物。在雲中存儲或備份數據有很多好處。對於初學者而言,它便宜得多,您不需要購買或維護服務器,不需要更新和升級計算機,也不需要IT人員來照管它們。

另一個好處是,如果需要,可以隨時與您的雲提供商聯繫來增加存儲空間,而無需自己購買。此外,通過將其備份到雲中,可以確保數據不會發生意外和災難。

在許多情況下,通過任何設備隨時隨地訪問數據的能力也是令人難以置信的,而且可以節省大量時間。

聽起來不錯,但是雲存儲還有一個很大的缺點-速度。如果您的互聯網不是最好的(適用於美國擁有舊基礎設施的許多地方),那麼如果您存儲的信息很多,則可能很難訪問正確的文件。另一個缺點是您可能不安全地將敏感信息存儲在公共雲中。有私人的,但價格更高。

本地存儲

相反,速度是本地存儲具有的最大優勢之一。將數據保存到外部硬盤驅動器上比將其上傳到雲提供商要快得多。就像我之前說過的那樣,如果將數據存儲在公共雲中,您可能會感到不安全,但是通過本地存儲,您可以完全控制誰可以訪問它,並且如果感覺到存在數據洩漏,可以隨時將其與Internet斷開連接威脅。

本地存儲的主要缺點有兩個-成本和漏洞。為大型企業創建和維護服務器基礎可能會非常昂貴,甚至小型企業也需要在適當的硬件上花費數千美元。維護它是另一個金錢問題。

另一個缺點是您的信息容易受到命運的追隨。事故或自然災害可能一口氣抹掉您的計算機和外部硬盤驅動器。如果沒有將備份存儲在雲中,則可能會丟失價值數年的寶貴信息。

您選擇哪種選擇完全取決於您和您的需求。

May 20, 2019

發表評論

Local or Cloud Storage? Which is Safer?

You may be wondering why cloud storage is so popular these days. After all, your computer is a relatively safe place to store your information. Only you have physical access to it, and you can disconnect it from the internet if you want to. So why is cloud storage so popular and is it truly better? Let's break it down and find out.

The unfortunate reality is that all the info you put on the cloud is just as vulnerable to hackers as your own computer. Cloud storage has the same weaknesses, their servers can be damaged, suffer a power failure, and hacked by malicious third parties just as your own PC could. Even worse, cloud providers rarely explain just how they protect your data from all of that while promising that your personal information is safe thanks to their strict rules and top of the line encryption algorithms. We should analyze them and see which fits your needs better.

Cloud Storage

Cloud storage is a godsend for businesses, which need to store loads of data. There are a lot of benefits to storing or backing up data in the cloud. It's much cheaper for starters, you don't need to buy or maintain servers, you don't need to update and upgrade the machines, and you don't need to have an IT guy to look after them.

Another bonus is that you can always increase the memory space if you need to by contacting your cloud provider, no need to buy it yourself. Also, you can ensure your data is safe from accidents and disasters by backing it up on the cloud.

The ability to access your data anywhere at any time through any device is also an incredible plus and huge time-saver in many cases.

Sounds nice, but there's also a big disadvantage with cloud storage - speed. If your internet isn't the best (which applies to many places in the USA with old infrastructure), it can be difficult to access the right files if you have a lot of stored information. Another disadvantage is that you may not feel safe storing your sensitive information on a public cloud. There are private ones, but they cost more.

Local Storage

Conversely, speed is one of the biggest advantages local storage has. Saving your data on external hard drives is considerably faster than uploading to a cloud provider. And just as I said before, you may not feel safe if your data is stored on a public cloud, but with local storage, you have full control of who can access it, and you can always disconnect it from the internet if you feel there's a threat.

The major downsides to local storage are two - cost and vulnerability. Creating and maintaining a server base for a large business can be incredibly expensive and even small businesses would need to spend thousands of dollars on the proper hardware. Maintaining it is another money issue.

The other downside is that your information will be vulnerable to the whims of fate. An accident or natural disaster can wipe out your computers and external hard drives in one swoop. Without backups stored on the cloud, you could lose potentially years worth of valuable information.

Which option you choose depends entirely on you and your needs.

June 27, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 8 ?