Apple iOS與Android:生物識別身份驗證的區別是什麼?

iOS vs. Android: Biometric Authentication

如果有人試圖說服您生物識別身份驗證已殺死傳統密碼,請不要相信它們。雖然我們每天多次使用指紋識別器和麵部識別,但我們仍然有密碼,這不太可能很快改變。

從根本上說,生物識別技術徹底改變了我們對移動設備安全性的思考方式。在指紋識別器成為主流之前,相當多的人擁有不受任何保護的智能手機。用戶每次想要檢查他們的Facebook Feed時都不會打擾輸入密碼或繪製模式,因此,他們禁用了所有安全機制,並且在此過程中,他們留下了一些極其敏感的信息。在生物識別技術到來之後,這些用戶終於獲得了一個易於使用,閃電般快速的身份驗證系統,作為額外的獎勵,讓人們感覺像詹姆斯邦德。

設置趨勢並跟隨它

我們非常清楚我們可能會讓一些人感到不安,但我們會相信Apple會讓這場革命成為可能。事實上,早在iPhone 5S之前,一些Windows手機就配備了指紋識別器,而自谷歌早期版本的移動操作系統以來,Android小工具已經有了某種形式的面部識別功能。然而,無可否認,Apple是為大眾帶來生物識別身份驗證的公司。

話雖如此,您無需擁有Apple設備即可進行生物識別身份驗證。在Touch ID首次亮相後不久,許多Android智能手機和平板電腦配備了指紋識別器。起初,這種技術只能在昂貴的旗艦設備上使用,但逐漸找到了更便宜的手機。去年,當iPhone X問世時,許多Android粉絲突然發現自己想要通過查看手機來解鎖手機,製造商別無選擇,只能在其高端設備中改進並重新引入面部識別功能。很快,它可能會更廣泛地提供。

總而言之,在生物識別技術方面,iDevices的所有者傾向於首先獲得該技術,但Android用戶會以較低的成本獲得該技術。這是否意味著他們擁有的功能不是很好?讓我們仔細看看。

iOS和Android中的指紋讀取器

Apple推出了Face ID,因為它想要生產一款具有邊到邊屏幕且沒有邊框的手機。作為副作用,嵌入在Home按鈕中的指紋識別器被刪除。然而,Android製造商還沒有準備好讓它輕鬆實現。他們也希望最小化邊框的大小,但他們也希望保留指紋認證功能,這就是他們在屏幕下移動閱讀器的原因。

屏幕內指紋認證仍然是一個新概念,雖然它可以在少數生產設備上使用,但報告顯示,與更傳統的硬件相比,它有點慢。再說一次,如果你的年齡足以記住第一代觸摸屏,你就會知道如果有需求,技術將很快發展。

對於較舊的指紋識別器,Android風扇和較舊的iDevices的所有者都沒有什麼可抱怨的。甚至第一代Touch ID也足夠可靠,Android和iOS上的最新實現在幾毫秒內解鎖了這些設備。

許多Android設備的背面都有指紋識別器,據一些人說,這是一個符合人體工程學的噩夢,儘管這很可能是因為它們被用於一個佈局而不是另一個佈局。. 簡而言之,雖然屏幕閱讀器有一些赶超,但無論您選擇Android還是iOS,物理指紋掃描儀都是可靠且快速的。然而,關於面部識別卻不能說同樣的話。

iOS和Android中的人臉識別

正如我們已經提到的,智能手機中的面部識別並不是一個新功能,但必須要說的是,雖然它可以在較舊的Android設備上使用,但它不能被認為是一種可行的身份驗證系統。 Apple的Face ID是一種更加安全的技術實現,可以說Cupertino的巨頭對此感到非常自豪。

他們甚至說它比Touch ID好得多,這是一個很好的說法。當您嘗試解鎖設備時,Face ID會在您的臉上投射不少於3萬個紅外點。傳感器“看到”它們所在的位置,如果它們匹配正確的位置,系統將解鎖設備。根據Apple的說法,1,000,000個面孔中有1個可能會欺騙Face ID。相比之下,繞過Touch ID的機率僅為1到50,000。

正如我們已經提到的,Face ID使得面部識別技術具有相關性,並且在過去一年左右的時間裡,Android設備製造商一直試圖將其應用到他們的新產品中並取得了成功。有些手機和平板電腦確實採用了巧妙的技術,但與其他手機和平板電腦相比,繞過面部識別功能只需要一張照片。一些製造商自己意識到他們所擁有的東西不夠安全,並且他們不允許您僅通過面部識別來授權付款。如果是這種情況,請確保您不要過分信任設備的這一特定功能。順便說一句,這讓我們整齊地回答了很多人都在問的問題。

生物識別技術的安全防彈嗎?

不,這不對。在Touch ID首次亮相後幾週,安全專業人員表示 ,如果您收集設備所有者的指紋,您可以創建準確的副本並成功繞過身份驗證系統。當一個看起來很可怕的3-D印刷面具在它被引入後不久就擊敗了 Face ID時,或多或少發生了同樣的事情。有傳言說製造商正在研究可能遭受同樣命運的虹膜掃描技術,儘管更廣泛宣傳的攻擊通常針對Apple設備,但Android用戶同樣容易受到攻擊。但你有多脆弱?

除了某些Android設備中較舊或不太複雜的面部識別功能外,在這個時代繞過生物識別身份驗證需要相當多的技能,努力和運氣。如果最終的利潤不值得,攻擊者不准備經歷所有麻煩。幸運的是,在大多數情況下,事實並非如此。

我們很高興地說,製造商已經盡其所能確保沒有簡單的方法來攻擊生物識別身份驗證系統。生物識別數據永遠不會離開您的設備,它的存儲方式不允許黑客從中重建您的臉部或指紋。

所有這一切意味著雖然生理認證可以在理論上被黑客入侵,但對於大多數人來說,這並不意味著你應該停止使用它,無論你喜歡iOS還是Android。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

Apple iOS vs Android: What Are the Differences in Biometric Authentication?

iOS vs. Android: Biometric Authentication

If anyone tries to persuade you that biometric authentication has killed the traditional password, don't believe them. Although we use fingerprint readers and facial recognition multiple times a day, we still have passwords, and this is unlikely to change any time soon.

Fundamentally, biometrics has revolutionized the way we think about the security of our mobile devices. Before fingerprint readers became mainstream, quite a few people had smartphones that weren't protected in any way. Users just couldn't be bothered to enter passwords or draw patterns every time they wanted to check on their Facebook feed, and so, they disabled all the security mechanisms, and in the process, they left some extremely sensitive information exposed. After biometrics arrived, these users were finally presented with an easy-to-use, lightning fast authentication system that, as an added bonus, made people feel like James Bond.

Setting the trend and following it

Knowing full well that we might upset some people, we're going to credit Apple with making this revolution possible. Indeed, some Windows phones were fitted with fingerprint readers long before the iPhone 5S, and Android gadgets have had some form of facial recognition since the early versions of Google's mobile operating system. There's no denying the fact, however, that Apple was the company that brought biometric authentication to the masses.

With that said, you don't need to own an Apple device to have biometric authentication. Shortly after Touch ID made its debut, many Android smartphones and tablets got fitted with fingerprint readers. At first, this type of technology was only available on expensive, flagship devices, but gradually it found its way to cheaper phones. Last year, when iPhone X came out, many Android fans suddenly found themselves wanting to unlock their phones just by looking at them, and manufacturers had no choice but to improve and re-introduce the facial recognition feature in their higher-end devices. Soon, it will probably be more widely available.

All in all, when it comes to biometrics, owners of iDevices tend to get the technology first, but Android users receive it at a lower cost. Does this mean that the features they have aren't as good? Let's take a closer look.

Fingerprint readers in iOS and Android

Apple introduced Face ID because it wanted to produce a phone that had an edge-to-edge screen and no bezels. As a side effect, the fingerprint reader embedded in the Home button was removed. Android manufacturers, however, aren't ready to let it go that easily. They too want to minimize the size of the bezels, but they also want to keep the fingerprint authentication feature which is why they are moving the reader under the screen.

In-screen fingerprint authentication is still a new concept, and although it's available on a few production devices, reports suggest that compared to the more traditional hardware, it is somewhat slow. Then again, if you are old enough to remember the first generation of touch screens, you'd know that if there's a demand for it, the technology will be developed quickly.

When it comes to older fingerprint readers, both Android fans and owners of older iDevices have nothing to complain about. Even the first generation of Touch ID is reliable enough, and more recent implementations on both Android and iOS unlock the devices in milliseconds.

Many Android devices have their fingerprint readers on the back which, according to some, is an ergonomic nightmare, though this is more likely due to them being used to one layout, and not the other. In short, while in-screen readers have some catching up to do, the physical fingerprint scanners are reliable and fast enough regardless of whether you choose Android or iOS. The same can't be said about face recognition, though.

Face recognition in iOS and Android

As we mentioned already, facial recognition in smartphones isn't exactly a new feature, but it must be said that although it is available on older Android devices, it can't be considered a viable authentication system. Apple's Face ID is a much more secure implementation of the technology, and it's fair to say that the Cupertino-based giant is rather proud of it.

They even say that it's much better than Touch ID which is quite a claim. When you're trying to unlock your device, Face ID projects no less than 30 thousand infrared dots on your face. A sensor "sees" where they are, and if they match the correct location, the system unlocks the device. According to Apple, 1 in 1,000,000 faces might be able to fool Face ID. By comparison, the odds of bypassing Touch ID sit at just 1 to 50,000.

As we mentioned already, Face ID made facial recognition technology relevant, and for the last year or so, Android device manufacturers have been trying to implement it into their new products with mixed success. Some of the phones and tablets do come with clever technology, but with others, bypassing the facial recognition feature requires nothing more than a photograph. Some of the manufacturers themselves realize that what they have isn't secure enough, and they don't let you authorize payments through facial recognition alone. If that's the case, make sure you don't put too much trust in this particular feature of your device. This, by the way, brings us neatly into a question many people are asking.

Is biometrics' security bulletproof?

No, it's not. Mere weeks after Touch ID's debut, security professionals showed that if you collect the fingerprint of the device's owner, you can create an accurate replica and successfully bypass the authentication system. More or less the same thing happened when a scary-looking 3-D printed mask defeated Face ID shortly after it was introduced. Rumor has it that manufacturers are now working on iris-scanning technology which will probably suffer the same fate, and although the more widely publicized attacks are usually aimed at Apple devices, Android users are just as vulnerable. But just how vulnerable are you?

With the exception of older or less sophisticated face recognition features in some Android devices, bypassing a biometric authentication in this day and age requires quite a lot of skills, effort, and luck. Attackers aren't prepared to go through all that trouble if the profit in the end isn't worth it. And fortunately, in most cases, it isn't.

We're happy to say that the manufacturers have done what they can to ensure that there is no easy way of attacking biometric authentication systems. The biometric data never leaves your device, and the way it's stored doesn't allow hackers to reconstruct your face or fingerprint from it.

What all this means is that while biometric authentication can be hacked in theory, for most of you, this doesn't mean that you should stop using it, regardless of whether you prefer iOS or Android.

By Duran
November 7, 2018
November 7, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 2 ?