數百萬的LabCorp客戶可能受到大規模數據洩露的打擊

LabCorp Customers Affected By The AMCA Data Breach

當美國實驗室公司控股公司(更名為LabCorp) 宣布其於2018年7月16日遭受網絡攻擊時,很多人感到擔憂。這並不令人驚訝。畢竟,我們所討論的是一個在數十個國家/地區進行各種臨床測試的全球性組織,這意味著該組織負責數百萬患者的健康相關信息。

幾天后,當這些患者的數據沒有被洩露時,他們鬆了一口氣。事實證明,實驗室鏈已成為對不希望竊取任何信息感興趣的勒索軟件運營商的目標。相當多的系統受到影響,但LabCorp最終設法重建了其基礎架構,一切恢復了正常。在星期二,LabCorp宣布它的名字已經捲入另一次網絡攻擊中,不幸的是,這一次,人們的數據遭到了破壞。

LabCorp客戶遭受LabCorp從未發生的數據洩露事件的打擊

當LabCorp向美國證券交易委員會提交8-K表格時,這一消息傳開了, 該表格稱一家被稱為American Medical Collection Agency(AMCA)的醫療收集公司遭到了黑客的襲擊。與許多其他組織一樣,LabCorp已與AMCA簽約,以收取欠款,並提供了屬於LabCorp客戶的代理商信息。不幸的是,在2018年8月1日左右,黑客設法破壞了AMCA的付款頁面,並開始竊取人們的數據。在2019年3月30日,該系統終於得到保護,攻擊結束了。

被盜信息的本質是什麼?

攻擊過程中洩露了很多細節。 LabCorp承認數據包括姓名,地址,出生日期,電話號碼和所欠金額的信息。值得慶幸的是,LabCorp尚未與AMCA共享任何醫療信息,該機構本身堅持認為它沒有LabCorp患者的社會安全號碼或保險標識信息。不幸的是,AMCA承認“可能已訪問了某些付款詳細信息”。

有多少LabCorp客戶受到影響?

LabCorp說,它已經向AMCA推薦了大約770萬客戶,但是該文件對於暴露了部分或全部數據的確切人數尚不清楚。 AMCA正在向即將在接下來的24個月內接受身份盜竊保護和信用監控服務的20萬LabCorp客戶發送通知,但是似乎沒有人確定這些人是否都受到了LabCorp的打擊AMCA數據洩露。可以肯定的是,使用LabCorp服務的人並不是唯一受AMCA數據洩露影響的人。

LabCorp可能只是冰山一角

正如我們已經提到的那樣,LabCorp只是AMCA的客戶之一,這意味著LabCorp的用戶只是受此違規影響的所有人中的一部分。從外觀上看,它也不是很大的一部分。

在6月3日,也就是LabCorp提交其8-K歸檔文件的前一天,另一家醫學測試公司Quest Diagnostic 宣布 ,由於AMCA漏洞,其近1200萬患者的財務和個人信息被暴露。在這種情況下,區別在於Quest的客戶還擁有其社會安全號碼,並且某些醫療數據也遭到了破壞。最糟糕的是,對於某些人來說,這並不是真正的新聞。

2月下旬,來自Gemini Advisory的安全研究人員在暗網上發現了一些被盜記錄,對它們進行了分析之後,他們非常確定它們是從AMCA的系統中竊取的。專家們試圖與收集機構保持聯繫,但是他們沒有得到回應。幾個月後,DataBreaches.net也報告了這一事件 ,他們也試圖從AMCA抓人,但再次,Gemini Advisory形容為2019年最大醫療違規事件的受害者仍然保持沉默。

這隻貓現在已經很好地了,但即使如此,AMCA仍不太交流。您實際上並不想從遭受如此大規模數據洩露打擊的公司那裡看到這種反應。

尚不知道還有多少其他公司會受到AMCA事件的影響,更難預測暴露了多少人的數據。可以公平地說,但是,如果您在2018年8月至2019年3月之間與AMCA有任何業務往來,那麼您可能想對任何可疑事物保持警惕。

July 16, 2019

發表評論

7.7 Million LabCorp Customers Were Potentially Hit by a Massive Data Breach

LabCorp Customers Affected By The AMCA Data Breach

Quite a few people were worried when Laboratory Corporation of America Holdings (better known as LabCorp) announced that it had suffered a cyberattack on July 16, 2018. This is not terribly surprising. After all, we're talking about a worldwide organization that performs a variety of clinical tests in dozens of countries, which means that it's responsible for the health-related information of millions of patients.

A couple of days later, those patients breathed a sigh of relief when it became apparent that their data had not been exposed. It turned out that the laboratory chain had been targeted by ransomware operators who were not interested in stealing any information. Quite a few systems were affected, but LabCorp eventually managed to rebuild its infrastructure, and everything went back to normal. On Tuesday, LabCorp announced that its name has been involved in another cyberattack, and unfortunately, this time, people's data was compromised.

LabCorp customers hit by a data breach that didn't happen at LabCorp

The news broke when LabCorp filed an 8-K form with the US Securities and Exchange Commission which said that a medical collection company known as American Medical Collection Agency (AMCA) had been hit by hackers. LabCorp, like many other organizations, had contracted AMCA to collect some of the money that is owed to it and had given the agency information that belonged to LabCorp customers. Unfortunately, around August 1, 2018, hackers managed to compromise AMCA's payment page, and they started stealing people's data. On March 30, 2019, the system was finally secured, and the attack was brought to an end.

What was the nature of the information that got stolen?

Quite a lot of details were leaked during the attack. LabCorp admitted that the data included names, addresses, dates of birth, phone numbers, and information on the amount owed. Thankfully, LabCorp has not shared any medical information with AMCA, and the agency itself insists that it has no Social Security Numbers or insurance identification information on LabCorp patients. Unfortunately, AMCA has admitted that some payment details "may have been accessed".

How many LabCorp clients were affected?

LabCorp says that it has referred around 7.7 million customers to AMCA, but the filing isn't very clear on the exact number of people who have had some or all of their data exposed. AMCA is in the process of sending notices to around 200 thousand LabCorp customers who are about to receive identity theft protection and credit monitoring services for the next 24 months, but nobody seems to be sure whether these are all the LabCorp patients that got hit by the AMCA data breach. One thing that is certain is that the people who used LabCorp's services weren't the only ones affected by the AMCA data breach.

LabCorp might be just the tip of the iceberg

As we mentioned already, LabCorp is just one of AMCA's customers, which means that LabCorp's users are just a portion of all the people affected by the breach. By the looks of things, it's not a very big portion, either.

On June 3, just a day before LabCorp filed its 8-K filing, Quest Diagnostic, another medical testing company, announced that thanks to the AMCA breach, very close to 12 million of its patients had had their financial and personal information exposed. The difference, in that case, was that Quest's customers also had their Social Security Numbers and some medical data compromised. Worst of all, for some people, this was not really news.

In late-February, security researchers from Gemini Advisory discovered some stolen records on the dark web, and after analyzing them, they were pretty sure that they had been pilfered from AMCA's systems. The experts tried to get in touch with the collection agency, but they received no response. A couple of months later, DataBreaches.net also reported on the incident, and they too tried to get hold of someone from AMCA, but once again, the victim of what Gemini Advisory describes as the biggest medical breach of 2019 remained silent.

The cat is well and truly out of the bag now, but even so, AMCA is still not very communicative. This is not really the sort of reaction you want to see from a company that has been hit by such a massive data breach.

It's still unknown how many other companies might be affected by the AMCA incident, and it's even more difficult to predict how many people have had their data exposed. It's fair to say that if you have had any business interactions with AMCA between August 2018 and March 2019, however, you might want to keep your eyes peeled for anything suspicious.

June 7, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 7 ?