5個錯誤WordPress用戶允許網絡攻擊

在最大的WordPress攻擊之一中,有150萬個網頁被黑客入侵。這發生在2017年,當時內容注入漏洞被惡意網絡攻擊者發現並利用。據midgard.co.uk稱,雖然該公司的安全公司Sucuri警告WordPress,但該漏洞已被修補,但有40,000個獨特網站遭到成功攻擊 ,這使得犯罪分子可以修改這150萬頁的內容。當然,這一事件的責任落在WordPress的肩上,WordPress未能自行發現漏洞,並及時警告WP網站開發人員和管理員。不幸的是,這些開發人員和管理員自己做了一些錯誤,允許成功的網絡攻擊。在某些情況下,這是由於過時的軟件而發生的,而在其他情況下 - 由於Wordpress密碼較弱。無論情況如何,總有一些事情可以加強保護。

1.您的託管環境有什麼問題?

如果WordPress網站託管在未受到可靠保護的服務器上,則可能會被黑客入侵。這裡的問題是你無法真正控制服務器的安全性。這就是為什麼您可以做的最重要的事情是在設置新的WordPress站點之前選擇可靠的託管服務。服務的成本和支持與安全級別各不相同,因此,如果您希望使用WordPress網站創建業務或支持業務,則應考慮投資您可信賴的服務。如果您現在選擇節省您的美元,您可能會在遇到網絡攻擊後花錢在安全和損害控制上。如果您認為自己已經準備好自己處理這個問題,那麼您可能會支持自託管,但如果想到處理惡意軟件並修復損壞的內容會讓您頭疼,那麼您將需要選擇正確的託管服務。 WordPress推薦的一些網絡主機包括Bluehost,DreamHost和SiteGround。

2.您最後一次安裝更新是什麼時候?

是的是的。我們都討厭更新,因為它們似乎總是在最糟糕的時候進入。但是如果你考慮一下,花一些時間來更新WordPress真的不是那麼大的交易。另一方面,如果您沒有安裝更新並且現有漏洞被網絡攻擊者利用,那麼您可能面臨的安全問題可能構成巨大的交易。如果您的網站管理系統已過時,則可能存在安全後門,因此我們建議您立即安裝最新版本 。你有沒有讓你的網站適合移動設備?如果有,您也不能忘記移動更新。所有已安裝的插件和主題也是如此。如果您沒有安裝適當的更新,那麼漏洞和安全漏洞也可能被利用。

你不研究你的插件嗎?好吧,你應該

到目前為止,只有WordPress才能使用插件。他們為您的網站添加了功能,可以幫助您進入下一個級別。如果您希望創建一個看起來很專業的網站,您將無法逃避插件。不幸的是,確實存在惡意插件. 例如,一個名為Display Widgets的插件在2017年默默地在200,000個網站上安裝後門時引發了嚴重的問題。使用後門,它背後的攻擊者可以在受影響的網站上發布任何內容。關於這個插件的一個有趣的細節是它在銷售之前是無害的。這意味著您不僅需要謹慎處理您安裝的新插件,還要謹慎處理您過去信任的舊插件。然後有一些插件是出於好意而創建的,但是對於惡意軟件攻擊來說太弱了。當然,你不需要害怕所有的插件。您當然應該使用可靠的安全插件來掃描惡意軟件並為您的WordPress網站添加防火牆。

4.如果你的WordPress密碼很弱,你就會遇到麻煩

你知道蠻力攻擊是什麼嗎?這是一次網絡攻擊,在此期間,網絡攻擊者可以使用非法行為訪問帳戶。如果你的WordPress密碼很弱並且容易破解,那麼這項工作就容易多了。我們不應該告訴你如何選擇一個強大的Wordpress密碼,但如果你需要復習,它必須很長,而且必須很複雜。一致認為WordPress密碼長度至少應為14個字符,應包含符號,數字,小寫和大寫字母,並且不應包含整個單詞。幸運的是,WordPress不允許添加“密碼”作為你的密碼,但這不是唯一可以猜到的密碼。但你怎麼能記住一個複雜的WordPress密碼呢?如果您使用密碼管理器,這不是問題。您甚至可以使用它來幫助您生成超過WordPress所需的6個字符的強密碼。當談到用戶名時,為了愛你所珍惜的一切 - 不要使用管理員管理員或網站的名稱。

5.是時候備份你的WordPress網站了嗎?

如果無法阻止網絡攻擊怎麼辦?正如我們從經驗中所知,即使採取所有安全措施來保護網站,也會發生不好的事情,甚至WordPress也會不時搞砸。這就是您希望備份到您的網站的原因。這樣,您就可以輕鬆地恢復網站並立即啟動並運行。請注意,如果您使用的是可靠的託管服務,則可能會自動創建備份,但您不希望在備份時依賴任何人,強烈建議您找到自己的方式來備份您的網站。 。

快速提醒

  • 選擇合適的Web主機,可以在發生網絡攻擊時提供安全性和支持。
  • 一旦進入,請立即安裝所有與WordPress相關的更新。
  • 明智地選擇你的插件和主題。謹防插件中隱藏的惡意軟件,但不要錯過通過實施可靠的安全插件來增強安全性的機會。
  • 創建一個無法猜到的強大而復雜的WordPress密碼. 如果您不知道如何選擇強大的Wordpress密碼,請使用帶有集成密碼生成器的密碼管理器。
  • 使用可靠的密碼管理器來保證您的登錄信息安全。
  • 確保您的用戶名不是通用的,以防止未經授權訪問該網站。
  • 備份您的網站,以確保即使發生網絡攻擊也能啟動並運行。

April 30, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 7是什麼?

5 Mistakes WordPress Users Make That Permit Cyber Attacks

During one of the biggest WordPress attacks, 1.5 million web pages were hacked. This happened in 2017 when a content-injection vulnerability was discovered and exploited by malicious cyber attackers. Although the vulnerability was patched as soon as Sucuri, a US-based security firm, warned WordPress, according to midgard.co.uk, 40,000 unique websites were attacked successfully, which allowed criminals to modify the content on those 1.5 million pages. The responsibility of this incident, of course, fell onto the shoulders of WordPress, who failed to uncover the vulnerability themselves, as well as to warn WP website developers and administrators in time. Unfortunately, there are some mistakes that these developers and administrators do themselves that permit successful cyber attacks. In some cases, that happens due to outdated software, and in others – due to weak WordPress passwords. Whatever the case might be, there's always something that can be done to strengthen protection.

1. What's the deal with your hosting environment?

WordPress websites can be hacked if they are hosted on servers that are not protected reliably. The problem here is that you cannot really control the security of the server. This is why the most important thing you can do is choose a reliable hosting service before you set up a new WordPress site. The services vary in cost and level of support and security, and so if you are looking to create a business or support a business using your WordPress website, you should consider investing in services you can trust. If you choose to save your dollar now, you are likely to be spending money on security and damage control in the future after you experience a cyber attack. If you think you are ready to handle this on your own, you might be favoring self-hosting, but if the thought of dealing with malware and fixing corrupted content gives you a headache, you will want to choose the right hosting service. Some of the web hosts recommended by WordPress include Bluehost, DreamHost, and SiteGround.

2. When was the last time you installed updates?

Yes, yes. We all hate updates because they always seem to come in at the worst possible time. But if you think about it, spending several moments out of your day to update WordPress really is not that big of a deal. On the other hand, if you do not install updates and existing vulnerabilities are exploited by cyber attackers, the security issues you might face could amount to a HUGE deal. If your website's management system is outdated, security backdoors might exist, and so we suggest that you install the latest version immediately. Have you made your website mobile-friendly? If you have, you must not forget about mobile updates as well. The same goes for all installed plugins and themes. If you are not installing appropriate updates, vulnerabilities and security loopholes could be exploited as well.

3. You don't research your plugins? Well, you should

There's only so far you can go without plugins when it comes to WordPress. They add functions to your website and can help go to the next level, so to speak. If you are looking to create a professional-looking site, you will not be able to evade plugins. Unfortunately, malicious plugins do exist. For example, a plugin called Display Widgets caused serious problems in 2017 when it silently installed backdoors on 200,000 websites. Using the backdoor, the attacker behind it could publish anything on the affected website. An interesting detail about this plugin is that it was harmless until it was sold. That means that you need to be cautious not only about new plugins you install but also the old ones you have trusted in the past. Then there are plugins that are created with good intentions but are simply too weak against malware attacks. Of course, you don't need to be afraid of all plugins. You certainly should make use of reliable security plugins that can scan for malware and add firewall to your WordPress website.

4. If your WordPress password is weak, you are asking for trouble

Do you know what a brute force attack is? It is a cyber attack during which cyber attackers gain access to an account using illegal practices. The job is much easier if your WordPress password is weak and easy to crack. We should not be telling you how to choose a strong WordPress password, but if you need a refresher, it MUST be long and it must be complex. The consensus is that the WordPress password should be at least 14 characters long, should contain symbols, numbers, lower and upper-case letters, and should not include whole words. Luckily, WordPress does not allow adding "password" as your… well, password, but that is not the only passcode that can be guessed. But how are you supposed to remember a complicated WordPress password? That is not a problem if you use a password manager. You can even use it to help you generate a strong passcode that goes beyond 6 characters that are required by WordPress. When it comes to usernames, for the love of everything that you cherish – do NOT use admin, administrator, or the name of your website.

5. Is it time to backup your WordPress website?

What if a cyber attack cannot be prevented? As we know from experience, even if all security measures are taken to protect the website, bad things happen, and even WordPress messes up from time to time. This is why you want to have a backup to your website. That way, you can easily restore the site and get it up and running in no time. Note that if you are using a reliable hosting service, backups might be created automatically, but you do not want to rely on anyone when it comes to backups, and it is strongly suggested that you find your own way to back up your website as well.

A quick reminder

  • Choose the right web host that can provide security and support in the event of a cyber attack.
  • Install ALL WordPress-related updates as soon as they come in.
  • Choose your plugins and themes wisely. Beware of malware hidden within plugins, but do not miss out on the opportunity to strengthen your security by implementing reliable security plugins.
  • Create a strong and complicated WordPress password that cannot be guessed. If you do not know how to choose strong WordPress passwords, employ a password manager with an integrated password generator.
  • Use a reliable password manager to keep your login information safe.
  • Make sure your username is not generic to prevent unauthorized access to the website.
  • Back up your website to ensure that it is up and running even if a cyber attack occurs.

August 20, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 8 ?