Windows 10安全問題畢竟不那麼安全

無論何時在任何地方設置新帳戶,您都可以創建一個安全網,以幫助您在忘記密碼時恢復密碼。任何要求您使用密碼的系統都應該配備這樣的安全網絡。 Windows操作系統還可以幫助您恢復密碼。 Windows 10附帶了安全問題功能,但最近發現Windows安全問題可能被黑客攻擊,因此引發了新的安全問題。我們將討論Windows安全問題可以被黑客入侵的方式,我們還將介紹如何禁用它們的方法。

什麼是Windows安全問題?

Windows安全問題是您在設置Windows 10帳戶時可以選擇的默認問題列表。當您忘記Windows密碼時,這些問題用於為您提供解決方案。

事實是,無論何時創建本地Windows 10帳戶,都必須創建幾個安全問題 。如果您忘記了Windows密碼,則回答您提前創建的安全問題應該可以幫助您重置或恢復它。安全問題的問題在於它們非常明顯。例如,其中一個默認問題是“你的童年暱稱是什麼?”如果有人認識你,他們可能會重置密碼並通過回答來接管你的帳戶。

Windows安全問題如何被黑客攻擊?

Illusive Networks的安全研究人員Magal Baz和Tom Sela已經發現,如果沒有在想要破解的機器上執行任何類型的代碼,就有可能破解Windows安全問題 。一切都在於默認問題的簡單性。

除了技術之外,保護Windows密碼的這些安全問題的主要問題是它們是硬編碼的。這意味著用戶無法輸入自己的問題,Microsoft只允許從下拉菜單中選擇六個默認問題。如上所述,其中一個問題是關於你的童年暱稱,另一個問題是關於你的第一個寵物的名字。

任何熟悉強密碼重要性的人都會立即告訴您使用名稱來保護這些密碼是一個壞主意。寵物名稱可能更糟糕,因為它們更容易猜到。

雖然研究人員確實指出攻擊者必須事先訪問目標網絡來破解Windows安全問題,但重點是,如果他們設法通過您的Windows密碼,犯罪分子將幾乎絕對存在於目標機。

那怎麼辦? Windows密碼和特定係統的所有其他重要密碼存儲在Windows註冊表中的LSA Secrets條目中。從技術上講,入侵該條目應該非常困難,因為它是加密的。但是,如果黑客對目標計算機上的註冊表具有完全訪問權限,並且他們知道如何收集組裝AES密鑰以解鎖LSA秘密所必需的工件,則重寫所有密碼並不困難。

最重要的是,如果有人完全控制目標系統,他們可以輕鬆繞過安全問題. 事實上,一些技術專家嚴重質疑微軟仍在向Windows操作系統添加安全問題,因為它們顯然是一種負擔。

對於個人用戶而言,與企業用戶和企業相比,問題並非如此。根據Magal Baz的說法,一旦攻擊者設法控制至少一台受到破壞的Windows 10計算機,如果該計算機是連接具有管理員權限的多台計算機的大型網絡的一部分,則攻擊者可以輕鬆地在受感染系統中更改安全問題。結果,修改後的安全問題成為系統後門,允許黑客滑入每台機器。因此,雖然這些問題應該保護用戶的Windows密碼,但實際上,它們是一個很大的弱點。

如何刪除Windows安全問題?

Magal Baz和Tom Sela創建了一個PowerShell腳本 ,可以禁用內置的Windows安全問題。另一方面,如果用戶不熟悉編程語言,他們可能無法應用此腳本。因此,他們可能需要諮詢專業程序員來調整其Windows操作系統的這一方面。

然而,當談到計算機網絡時,最好在設置新的Windows 10帳戶之前首先跳過創建安全問題。它會更容易,您不需要執行編程語言腳本。

跳過安全問題:方法1

在創建安全問題時,可能無法將安全問題與本地Windows 10帳戶相關聯。您可以在創建此PC部分的帳戶時執行此操作 。單擊Windows密碼字段時,安全問題選項也會顯示。要跳過這些問題,只需不要為此帳戶創建密碼,然後單擊“ 下一步” 。通過將這些部分留空,您將避免創建新的安全問題。至於您的帳戶密碼,您可以稍後在帳戶創建後進行設置。

跳過安全問題:方法2

除了創建本地Windows帳戶,您還可以使用Microsoft帳戶跳過Windows安全問題。因此,如果您擁有Microsoft帳戶,則可以執行以下操作:

  1. 使用Microsoft帳戶憑據登錄。
  2. 打開“設置”,然後轉到“帳戶” 。點擊“您的信息”
  3. 單擊“使用本地帳戶登錄”鏈接。
  4. 輸入您的Microsoft帳戶 密碼
  5. 設置新的本地帳戶密碼

如果您以這種方式創建新密碼,則不會出現安全問題。所描述的方法並不簡單,但只要Windows安全問題是硬編碼的,就可能需要一些努力來繞過它們。

另一方面,如果您不使用安全問題,則丟失Windows密碼的可能性會增加。因此,我們建議使用Cyclonis Password Manager將您的密碼存儲在經理的“ 個人備註”部分中。如果您在多個設備上安裝了該工具並且保管庫已同步,則即使您目前無法訪問主計算機,也可以在其他設備上查找密碼。因為某些東西是默認的,它並不意味著無論如何都必須使用它。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 7是什麼?

Windows 10 Security Questions Are Not so Secure Afterall

Whenever you set up a new account anywhere, you can create a safety net that can help you recover your password in case you forget it. Any system that requires you to use a password should come with such a safety network. The Windows operating system also has its ways to help you recover your password. Windows 10 comes with the security questions feature, but it has been recently revealed that Windows security questions can be hacked, and so it raised new safety concerns. We will discuss the ways Windows security questions can be hacked, and we will also describe methods how you can disable them.

What Are Windows Security Questions?

Windows Security Questions are a list of default questions you can choose from when you set up your Windows 10 account. These questions are used to provide you with a solution when you forget your Windows password.

The truth is that whenever you create a local Windows 10 account, it is a must to create several security questions. If you forget your Windows password, answering the security questions that you have created in advance should help you reset or restore it. The problem with the security questions is that they are quite obvious. For instance, one of the default questions is “What was your childhood nickname?” If there's anyone who knows you well enough, they might be able to reset the password and take over your account by answering them.

How Can Windows Security Questions Be Hacked?

Magal Baz and Tom Sela, security researchers at Illusive Networks, have found out how it is possible to hack Windows security questions without even executing any kind of code on the machine one wants to hack. Everything lies in the simplicity of the default questions.

Tech-speak aside, the main issue with these security questions that guard Windows password is that they are hardcoded. It means that user cannot enter their own questions, and Microsoft only allows choosing from six default questions in the drop-down menu. As mentioned, one of the questions is about your childhood nickname, and another, for instance, is about your first pet's name.

Anyone who is familiar with the importance of strong passwords would tell you immediately that using names to protect those passwords is a bad idea. A pet name might be even worse because they are far easier to guess.

Although the researchers did point out that the attacker would have to have prior access to the target network to hack Windows security questions, the point is that if they manage to get through your Windows password, the criminals would have an almost absolute presence on the target machine.

So how does that work? Windows password and all the other important passwords of a certain system are stored in the LSA Secrets entry within the Windows registry. Technically, it should be extremely hard to hack into that entry because it is encrypted. However, if the hacker has full access to the registry on the target machine and they know how to collect the artifacts that are necessary to assemble the AES key to unlock the LSA Secrets, it wouldn't be that hard to rewrite all the passwords.

The bottom line is that if someone takes full control of a target system, they can easily bypass the security questions. In fact, some technology experts seriously question Microsoft for still adding security questions to the Windows operating system because they are obviously a liability.

And it's not so much of a problem for an individual user as opposed to corporate users and businesses. According to Magal Baz, once an attacker manages to take control of at least one compromised Windows 10 machine, if that machine is part of a big network that connects multiple machines with administrator privileges, the attacker can easily change security questions across the compromised system. As a result, the modified security questions become system backdoor, allowing hackers to slither into every single machine. So although these questions are supposed to protect user's Windows password, essentially, they are quite a big weakness.

How Do I Remove Windows Security Questions?

Magal Baz and Tom Sela created a PowerShell script that can disable the built-in Windows security questions. On the other hand, if users are not familiar with programming languages, they might not be able to apply this script. Thus, they might need to address a professional programmer to tweak that aspect of their Windows operating system.

Nevertheless, when it comes to computer networks, it might be a good idea to skip creating security questions in the first place, right before setting up new Windows 10 accounts. It would be a lot easier, and you would not need to execute a programming language script.

Skip Security Questions: Method 1

It is possible to not associate security questions with a local Windows 10 account when you create one. You can do it when you are at the Create an account for this PC section. The moment you click on the Windows password field, the Security question options will show up as well. To skip the questions, simply do not create a password for this account and click Next. By leaving these sections blank, you will avoid creating new security questions. As for your account password, you can set it up later on, once the account is already created.

Skip Security Questions: Method 2

Aside from creating a local Windows account, you may also use your Microsoft account to skip Windows security questions. So if you have a Microsoft account, you can do the following:

  1. Use the Microsoft Account credentials to log in.
  2. Open "Settings" and go to "Accounts". Click "Your Info".
  3. Click a link that says "Sign in with a local account instead".
  4. Enter your Microsoft account password.
  5. Set up a new local account password.

If you create a new password this way, it will not have security questions. The methods described are not straightforward, but as long as Windows security questions are hardcoded, it might take some effort to bypass them.

On the other hand, if you do not use the security questions, the possibility of losing your Windows password rises. Thus, we would like to recommend using Cyclonis Password Manager to store your passwords in the manager's Personal Notes section. If you have the tool installed on several devices and the vault is synced, you can look up your passwords on another device even if you cannot access your main computer at the moment. So just because something is default, it doesn't mean you have to use it no matter what.

January 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 8 ?