What Is a Zero-Day Flaw and How It Can Put Your Passwords at Risk

當您考慮網絡安全時,也許不會想到哲學。然而,今天我們將談論零日漏洞,這個概念需要一點心理體操。當我們有一種可能影響脆弱系統的特定感染時,這實際上很容易;然而,零日漏洞更像是惡意第三方可以利用目標系統的時間框架。為了緩解此漏洞,必須由軟件供應商和用戶共同努力。要了解有關此概念的更多信息,以及零日漏洞如何暴露密碼,請繼續閱讀此博客條目。

零日漏洞的概念

當你聽到這句話時,你可能會想到某種軟件故障,它允許網絡罪犯入侵系統。你實際上是對的,但我們想解釋這個概念的某些方面。

零日漏洞並未指出特定程序或特定係統。它用於描述軟件供應商不了解的假設漏洞。如果供應商不了解某些漏洞,黑客就有更多機會利用它。僅當供應商發布包含修補程序的更新時才會緩解此漏洞,該修補程序可修復漏洞。供應商發布補丁所需的天數可以在名稱中使用,而不是“零”。

例如,如果自發現漏洞後開發和發布補丁需要20天,則可以將特定漏洞稱為20天漏洞。但是,即使已經開發了此修復程序,仍然很有可能可以利用此漏洞,因為並非每個用戶都可以立即應用此修復程序。

零日漏洞的例子

為了讓您更好地了解零日漏洞概念如何在實踐中應用,讓我們來看看最新的軟件問題,這些問題在2019年成為頭條新聞。例如,在2月初, Adobe發布了一個微片 ,用於解決Adobe Reader的零日漏洞。與使用某個軟件漏洞的大多數漏洞利用程序不同,使用此漏洞的攻擊者利用了PDF文件內容嵌入功能中的漏洞。結果,這個零日漏洞暴露了密碼,因為它允許犯罪分子通過“打電話回家”竊取哈希密碼值。

Adobe發布的微量補丁並沒有立即修復漏洞。當用戶以可能被網絡犯罪分子利用的方式使用Adobe Reader時,它會通過顯示安全警告來通知用戶. 官方安全更新後來根據官方Adobe的補丁計劃發布。

另一個解決零日漏洞的知名公司的例子包括Apple在2月初修復了與iOS和macOS Mojave相關的幾個安全問題。 Apple修復了可能被利用的四個漏洞。也許普通公眾所知的最大漏洞是FaceTime錯誤 ,它允許任何人使用該應用程序竊聽用戶的對話。有這些漏洞的一點是,供應商事先並不了解它們,Apple肯定不知道它必須修復的漏洞。當消費者或第三方研究人員意外發現此類問題時,這是零日漏洞的典型示例。

如果我們回顧一下更多的例子,我們還可以提到macOS中一個舊的關鍵缺陷,它可以在PlainText中顯示密碼 。這個零日漏洞被發現並在2017年得到修復。此漏洞允許隨機應用程序以明文方式導出密碼。關鍵是,從技術上講,Apple不允許未簽名的應用程序。因此,如果程序未經Apple批准,那麼在macOS上安裝流氓程序將非常困難。然而,計算機安全專家建議,即使是已簽名的應用程序也可以利用該漏洞。因此,最重要的是,沒有人是安全的,我們總是必須採取所有可用的安全措施來保護我們的系統免受傷害。

如何保護您的系統免受零日漏洞的影響

如上所述,除非軟件供應商意識到存在漏洞,否則可能很難對此問題採取任何措施。此外,補丁發布與其實現之間存在時間框架,也可用於惡意利用。因此,為了最大限度地降低惡意利用的可能性,用戶必須立即應用軟件更新。

我們確實意識到有些用戶可能想要關閉他們設備上的自動更新功能,但這不是我們建議的。如果您允許軟件下載預定更新,您肯定會最大限度地降低惡意利用的可能性。

此外,您可能會讓網絡犯罪分子通過將密碼保存在加密的保險庫中來加密密碼。您可以通過使用密碼管理器將所有密碼保存在一個鎖定下來實現。然後,您只需要一個您必須記住的主密碼(您不能將其存儲在系統的任何位置,或者至少不建議使用它)來訪問您的所有其他密碼。無論哪種方式,都有各種方法可以提高系統的安全性,從而最大限度地減少因零日漏洞而可能面臨的潛在危害。

除此之外,您將通過建立安全的在線習慣來幫助自己. 你總會看到安全專家說需要投資一個可靠的反間諜軟件工具,但除非你真正採用安全的網頁瀏覽習慣,否則該工具可能並不意味著或做得太多。安全程序無法保護您免受可能意外啟動的迷路點擊或惡意下載。因此,使用更新和可靠的軟件很重要,但是如何與在線內容進行交互也非常重要。

March 6, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 9是什麼?

What Is a Zero-Day Flaw and How It Can Put Your Passwords at Risk

Perhaps philosophy doesn't come to mind when you think about cybersecurity. However, today we are going to talk about zero day vulnerability, and this concept requires a little bit of mental gymnastics. It is actually easy when we have one certain infection that might affect vulnerable systems; however, zero day vulnerability is more like a time frame that can be used by a malevolent third party to exploit a target system. In order to mitigate this vulnerability, joint efforts from the software vendor and users are necessary. To find out more about this concept, and how zero day vulnerability can expose passwords, continue reading this blog entry.

The Concept of Zero Day Vulnerability

When you hear this phrase, you probably imagine some sort of software glitch that allows cyber criminals to hack into a system. You are actually right, but there are some aspects to this concept that we would like to explain.

Zero day vulnerability does not point out a particular program or a particular system. It is used to describe a hypothetical vulnerability that the software vendor does not know about. If a vendor isn't aware of certain vulnerability, the hackers have more chances to exploit it. The vulnerability is mitigated only when the vendor releases an update that contains a patch, which fixes the vulnerability. The amount of days that it requires for the vendor to release a patch can be used instead of “zero” in the name.

For example, if it takes 20 days for a patch to be developed and released since the discovery of the vulnerability, the specific vulnerability can be called a 20-day vulnerability. However, even if the fix has been developed, there is still a big chance that the vulnerability can be exploited because not every single user might apply the fix immediately.

Examples of Zero Day Vulnerability

To give you a better picture of how the zero day vulnerability concepts can be applied in practice, let's take a look at the most recent software issues that made the headlines in 2019. For example, in the beginning of February, Adobe released a micropatch that was used to resolve a zero day vulnerability for Adobe Reader. Unlike most of the exploits that make use of a certain software vulnerability, the attackers who used this vulnerability exploited weaknesses found in a content embedding feature for PDF files. As a result, this zero day vulnerability exposed passwords because it allowed the criminals to steal hashed password values by “phoning home.”

The micropatch that Adobe released didn't exactly fix the vulnerability immediately. It notified users by showing a security warning whenever users used Adobe Reader in a way that could be exploited by cyber criminals. The official security updates were released later according to the official Adobe's patch schedule.

Another example of a big reputable company fixing zero day vulnerabilities includes Apple fixing several security issues related to iOS and macOS Mojave in the beginning of February. Apple fixed four vulnerabilities that could have been exploited. Perhaps the biggest vulnerability known to the general public was the FaceTime bug that allowed anyone to use the app to eavesdrop on user's conversations. The point with such vulnerabilities is that the vendor does not know about them beforehand, and Apple was certainly not aware of the vulnerabilities it had to fix. When such issues are discovered accidentally by consumers or third-party researchers, that is a classic example of a zero day vulnerability.

If we were to look back for more examples, we can also mention an old critical flaw in macOS that could reveal passwords in PlainText. This zero day vulnerability was discovered and later fixed back in 2017. This vulnerability had allowed random applications to export passwords in plaintext. The point is that, technically, Apple does not permit unsigned applications. So it would be really hard for a rogue program to be installed on macOS if the program hasn't been approved by Apple. Yet, computer security experts suggested that even signed applications could have taken use of that vulnerability. Therefore, the bottom line is that no one is ever safe, and we always have to take all the security measures available to protect our systems from harm.

How to protect your system from zero day vulnerability

As mentioned, it might be hard to do anything about this issue unless the software vendor is aware that the vulnerability exists. Also, there is this timeframe between the release of the patch and its implementation that can be used for malicious exploitation, too. Therefore, to minimize the potential of a malicious exploitation, users have to apply software updates immediately.

We do realize that some users may want to turn off the automatic update function on their devices, but that is not something we would recommend. If you allow your software to download scheduled updates, you will definitely minimize the potential of a malicious exploitation.

Also, you might make it harder for cyber criminals to steal your passwords by keeping them in an encrypted vault. You can do that by employing a password manager to keep all of your passwords under one lock. You would then need only one master password that you have to remember (you cannot store it anywhere on your system, or at least it is not recommended) to access all of your other passwords. Either way, there are various ways to improve your system's security to minimize the potential harm you might face because of zero day vulnerabilities.

Aside from that, you will do yourself a favor by establishing safe online habits. You will always see security experts say that one needs to invest in a reliable antispyware tool, but that tool may not mean or do much unless you actually employ safe web browsing habits. A security program cannot protect you from a stray click or a malicious download that you might initiate accidentally. Hence, it is important to use updated and reliable software alright, but it is also immensely important how you interact with online content.

March 4, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 8 ?