银行可以做些什么来保护数据免受未来网络攻击

banks protect against cyberattacks

将我们的血汗钱存入银行是一个好主意,不是吗?您所有的现金都集中放在一个金库中。您只需使用支付卡即可进行所有所需的财务交易。方便又安全,因为它比银行更安全,对吗?好吧,您会这么认为,但是没有什么是真正真正的100%安全的,尤其是涉及大量金钱时。

银行并非无懈可击。是的,他们在数字安全性方面付出了很多努力,但它们可能会遭到黑客攻击。过去,甚至最大,最著名的银行也发生过很多次。以最近的勒索软件攻击浪潮为例。这些恶意软件攻击主要针对个人或小型企业,但可以想象他们是否组织起来并将其重点转移到更大的目标上。想象一下,一个资金雄厚的国际在线恐怖组织甚至一个对手国都在袭击一家银行,而不是寻找他们想散布混乱的钱?他们可能会破坏数据库并“抹去”我们的钱。

想一想,如果只有一家大银行以这种方式瘫痪,将会造成的破坏。混乱将压倒一切。对多家大型银行的协同罢工可能会破坏社会。幸运的是,这种情况现在仅在好莱坞电影中才能看到,但是由于美国所有货币交易中超过45%已被数字化,因此认为黑客会将注意力转移到银行并不是没有道理的。其他国家的数字化交易数量甚至更高,例如丹麦,所有货币交易中有90%以上是完全数字化的。

实际上,丹麦国家银行的代表评论说: “对系统重要性银行,抵押银行或中央基础设施公司的网络攻击严重影响了系统的可用性或数据的完整性,可能会迅速影响丹麦的整个金融系统。”

您可能认为银行几乎牢不可破,但实际上,它们与其他任何事物一样脆弱。积极技术公司发布了一份报告,该报告在《计算机周刊》上进行了详细介绍,据该报告,银行与其他任何机构一样,都遭受在线黑客攻击的风险可能更大。黑客目前的攻击地点通常是通过网络钓鱼诈骗,但将来可能会改变。

该报告显示令人担忧的统计数据。根据他们的说法, “接受审查的银行中有75%的员工点击了网上诱骗邮件中的链接,而有25%的银行的员工则以伪造的身份验证形式输入了其凭据。”

有趣的是,银行针对洪水,火灾,地震或人为失误等自然灾害开发了广泛的恢复方法,但它们还没有做好充分准备应对复杂的黑客攻击和网络攻击。

银行如何保护自己的数据和我们的资金

这个问题没有简单的答案。据卡巴斯基实验室和B2B International称,他们已经在最新的反恶意软件防御上花费了大量资金,实际上是非金融机构花费的三倍以上。
银行还确保备份其财务数据。其中一些是在特定时间间隔自动创建的,其他一些是在创建数据时自动创建的。银行还将其数据存储在本地和云存储上,以实现最大的安全性。

但是,如果一群恶意黑客要获取关键数据库的存储系统的凭据怎么办?攻击者不仅可以设法破坏或删除该信息,还可以破坏或仅删除数据的所有副本。当然,银行通常具有脱机恢复系统,例如磁带备份,但是这些系统需要一定的时间才能上传。另一个问题是,那些人可能没有最新的交易,无论是数字交易还是其他方式。这样的攻击可能使银行损失数亿甚至数十亿美元。在这种情况下,甚至一家大型银行也可能倒闭。因此,如果黑客能够像原始数据一样轻松地销毁备份,银行可以采取什么措施来阻止备份?

一种简单的解决方案是消除其破坏数据的能力。窃取存储凭证应该不足以使黑客擦除无法恢复且至关重要的系统信息。据安全专家称,在访问此类重要数据之前,需要采取额外的步骤。

April 2, 2019

发表评论

What Can Banks Do to Protect Data from Future Cyber Attacks

banks protect against cyberattacks

Putting our hard-earned money in the bank is a great idea, isn't it? All of your cash in one place, locked in a vault. You can make all the financial transactions you want with just a payment card. Convenient and also secure, because it can't get safer than a bank, right? Well, you'd think so but nothing is ever truly 100% safe, especially when it comes to large amounts of money.

Banks aren't invulnerable. Yes, they put a lot of effort into their digital security but they can be hacked. It has happened many times in the past to even the biggest and most reputable banks. Take the recent wave of ransomware attacks for example. These malware attacks target individuals or small businesses mostly but imagine if they got organized themselves and shifted their focus to something bigger. Imagine a well-funded international online terror organization or even a rival country were to attack a bank, instead of looking for money they want to spread chaos? They could destroy their databases and "erase" our money.

Think of the havoc that would come about, if just one large bank was crippled in such a way. The chaos would be overpowering. A coordinated strike against multiple major banks could cripple society. Fortunately, such scenarios are only seen in Hollywood movies right now, but with over 45% of all monetary transactions in the United States are digitized it's not unreasonable to think hackers would turn their attention to the banks. Other countries have even higher numbers of digitized transactions, like Denmark with over 90% of all monetary transactions being entirely digital.

In fact, Denmark's National Bank reps commented this saying "A cyber attack at a systemically important bank, mortgage bank or central infrastructure company that seriously affects the availability of systems or the integrity of data may rapidly impact on the entire financial system in Denmark."

You may think banks are all but impregnable, but in reality, they're just as vulnerable as anything else. Positive Technologies published a report, which was detailed in Computer Weekly and according to it, banks are just as exposed as any other institution to online hacking attempts, maybe even more so. The hackers' usual venue of attack is through phishing scams currently, but that may change in the future.

The report shows worrying statistics. According to them, "employees at 75% of banks reviewed had clicked on links in phishing messages, and those at 25% of banks entered their credentials in a fake authentication form."

Interestingly, the banks have developed extensive recovery methods in case of natural disasters like flood, fire, earthquakes, or human errors, but they're not quite prepared to deal with elaborate hacks and cyber attacks.

How can banks protect their data and our money

There's no easy answer to this question. They already spend huge amounts of money on the latest anti-malware defenses, over three times the amount non-financial institutions spend, in fact, according to Kaspersky Lab and B2B International
The banks also make sure to make backups of their financial data. Some of them are created automatically at certain intervals of time, others when the data is created. The banks also store their data both locally and on cloud storage for maximum security.

However, what if a group of malicious hackers was to gain the credentials to the storage system of a crucial database? The attackers could manage to not just corrupt or delete that information, but they might also compromise or simply delete all the copies of the data. Of course, banks usually have offline recovery systems, such as tape backups, but those take a certain amount of time to upload. Another problem is that those probably don't have the latest transactions, digital or otherwise. Attacks like that can cost banks hundreds of millions, if not billions. Even a major bank could fold under such conditions. So if hackers can destroy backups as easily as the original data what can the banks do to stop them?

One simple solution is to remove their ability to corrupt the data. Stealing storage credentials should not be enough to allow the hackers to erase irretrievable and crucial system information. There needs to be an extra step before gaining access to such vital data, according to security experts.

By Nash
November 28, 2018
November 28, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 7 ?