什么是密码规则以及如何安全遵循它们?

有许多准则和良好做法可以帮助您创建更好的密码。但是,由Lorrie Cranor教授领导的卡内基梅隆大学研究团队正在挑战并重新定义其中的一些。

Cranor女士的团队开发了一种密码安全性计量器,类似于当今许多网站所采用的密码安全性计量器。但是,Cranor认为,这些当前的实现都有适当的规则,但是并没有以有意义的方式执行它们。例如,可能需要密码长度以及字母,数字和符号的混合。但是,像“ $ chrys4nth3mum $”这样的密码可能会选中当前密码检查器上的所有必需框,但仍然非常弱。

仪表做什么?

Cranor的仪表配备了建议算法,可以在用户键入密码并尝试教他们时提供密码的替代方案,并帮助他们理解为什么简单地在用作密码的常规单词末尾加“ 1”不是一个好习惯理念。同样,在同一字符串中混合使用大写字母和常规大小写字母,不仅仅需要将密码中使用的单词的首字母大写。

该大学的安全实验室在Cranor的监督下,对许多参与者进行了测试,这些参与者使用安全仪表提供的建议创建了自己的密码。为用户提供了一条固定的规则-创建密码,密码长度至少为10个字符。从那时起,电表的算法开始提供动态建议,以动态地改进键入的密码。

您可以从电表中学到什么?

尽管Cranor团队开发的电表尚未在任何实时服务中实现,但仍有很多常规用户可以从中学习。重要的是要记住,使用任何常规词典词作为密码,并仅在字符串的前面加一个字母,在字符串的后面加一个符号并不是一个好主意。

密码暴力破解通常严重依赖于预设词典,而当前的计算能力使暴力破解工具每秒可以进行大量荒唐的暴力破解尝试。

此外,将符号和数字散布在密码字符串之间,而不仅仅是将它们分组在字符串的一端非常重要。

November 17, 2020

发表评论

What Are Password Rules and How to Follow Them Safely?

There are a lot of guidelines and good practices that can help you create a better password. However, a research team the Carnegie Mellon University, led by professor Lorrie Cranor, is challenging and redefining some of them.

Ms. Cranor's team has developed a password security meter, similar to those employed by a great number of websites today. However, Cranor argues that those current implementations have rules in place but don't enforce them in a meaningful way. For example, password length and a mix of letters, numbers and symbols might be a requirement. However, a password like '$chrys4nth3mum$' may check all the required boxes on a current password checker and still be pretty weak.

What does the meter do?

Cranor's meter is equipped with a suggestions algorithm that can offer alternatives to passwords as users type them and attempts to teach them and help them understand why simply shoving a '1' at the end of a regular word you use as a password is not a good idea. Similarly, mixing upper case and regular case letters in the same string should be more than simply capitalizing the first letter of a word you use in your password.

The university's security lab, under Cranor's supervision, conducted tests using a number of participants who created their own passwords using suggestions provided by the security meter. Users were given one single fixed rule - to create a password that is at least 10 characters in length. From this point on, the meter's algorithm started offering dynamic suggestions to improve typed passwords dynamically.

What can you learn from the meter?

While the meter developed by Cranor's team has not been implemented in any live services just yet, there is a lot regular users can learn from it. It's important to remember that using any regular dictionary word as your password and simply putting a letter in front and a symbol at the back of the string is not a great idea.

Password brute forcing often relies heavily on preset dictionaries and current computational power allows a brute-force tool to go through absurdly high amounts of brute-force attempts each second.

Additionally, it's important to intersperse symbols and numbers in-between the password string and not just group them in one end of the string.

November 17, 2020

Leave a Reply