提防利用Amazon Prime Day Deals的网络钓鱼电子邮件

尽管名称如此,亚马逊Prime Day是由在线零售巨头Amazon进行的为期两天的折扣活动,于10月13日至14日举行。随着世界为不计后果的购物做好准备,安全研究人员警告说,网络犯罪分子也在加大活动力度,力图从亚马逊的活动中获得最大收益。

亚马逊Prime Day的交易量很大。在短短的两天内,该活动在2019年转移了价值超过70亿美元的产品。由于Covid-19大流行以及在线购物对砖块的偏好不断提高,今年的预测将使该交易的销售额甚至更高和砂浆商店。

但是,随着数以百万计的人在线上在亚马逊上购买商品,网络犯罪分子也正在增加他们的活动,并创建网络钓鱼网站和活动,试图滥用亚马逊的品牌和名称。 Bolster Research的安全研究人员警告说,钓鱼网站和欺诈网站的数量大量增加,试图欺骗人们以为他们正在与亚马逊官方服务进行交互。

这项研究涵盖了数百万个网页,旨在发现欺诈性的亚马逊品牌使用和恶意网站。犯罪分子的通常目标是以某种方式诱使受害者使用其登录凭据或其他敏感信息填写表格。

最近使用域名amazoncustomersupport dot net(现在似乎已被删除)的域名试图进行欺诈,该域名模仿了该接口,它是Amazon的官方网站,其设置似乎在处理与Prime Day购买相关的产品退货和订单取消。

该网站存在欺诈行为的一个巨大危险信号是,它要求用户再次输入其信用卡信息-合法的Amazon退款流程从未这样做,因为它始终将钱退款到最初使用的任何付款方式和帐户。

其他以亚马逊为中心的骗局还包括一个网站,该网站向访客承诺免费提供礼物-一种经过实践检验的社会工程形式。这里的诱饵是免费的iPhone 11 Pro,但是只有在填写了一份虚假调查然后将信用卡详细信息输入到仿冒网站的表格中(要求提供虚假的1美元运费)才能赢得。任何使用Internet已有一段时间并且看到许多类似骗局的人都应该能够从一英里之外发现问题所在。

与前一年一样,今年在亚马逊购物时保持安全没有什么大秘密。客户只需要遵循一些简单的规则即可保持安全。

  1. 切勿尝试与非Amazon.com(或取决于您所在地区的相应域,例如Amazon.ca,Amazon.co.uk,Amazon.de等)相关的任何Amazon网站进行交互。
  2. 永远不要相信随机电子邮件,它们会为您提供免费礼物和昂贵的配件,以防伪造,降低运输成本。
  3. 切勿拨打任何电话号码或通过非亚马逊官方网站的可疑电子邮件或网页链接。
  4. 切勿以非Amazon.com或您所在地区的相应页面上显示的任何形式输入您的信用卡信息。

这四个简单的规则几乎可以完全消除您的凭据或信用卡信息被盗用以及地球另一端的犯罪分子将您的帐户清空的风险。

October 9, 2020

发表评论

Watch Out for Phishing Emails Exploiting Amazon Prime Day Deals

Despite its name, Amazon Prime Day is a two-day discount campaign conducted by online retail supergiant Amazon that takes place on the 13th and 14th of October. As the world gears up for reckless shopping, security researchers warn that cybercriminals are ramping up their activity as well, aiming to make the most out of Amazon's campaign.

Amazon Prime Day is a huge deal. Within the span of just two days, the event shifted more than $7 billion worth of products in 2019. Forecasts for this year are pegging the sales to be even higher, due to the Covid-19 pandemic and the increasing preference for online shopping over brick and mortar stores.

However, with millions of people going online to buy goods on Amazon, cybercriminals are also ramping up their activity and are creating phishing websites and campaigns that attempt to abuse Amazon's brand and name. Security researchers with Bolster Research warn of a massive increase in phishing and fraudulent sites attempting to trick people thinking they are interacting with official Amazon services.

The research covers millions and millions of web pages in an attempt to find fraudulent Amazon brand name use and malicious websites. The usual goal of the criminals is to somehow lure the victim into filling out a form with their login credentials or other sensitive information.

A recent fraud was attempted using the domain amazoncustomersupport dot net (which has now been taken down, it seems) that mimicked the interface is Amazon's official site and was set up to seemingly handle products returns and order cancellations relating to Prime Day purchases.

One huge red flag that the site is a fraud is that it asked users to enter their credit card information once more - something the legitimate Amazon refund process never does, as it always refunds the money to whatever payment method and account were originally used.

Other Amazon-focused scams include a website that promises visitors free gifts - a tried and tested form of social engineering. The bait here is a free iPhone 11 Pro, but that can only be won after filling in a fake survey and then entering credit card details into a phishing form that asks for a fake $1 shipping fee. Anyone who has been using the Internet for a while and has seen dozens of similar scams should be able to smell the problems from a mile away.

There is no big secret to staying safe while shopping on Amazon this year, just like the year before. Customers just need to follow a few simple rules to stay safe.

  1. Never attempt to interact with any Amazon website that is not Amazon.com (or the respective domain depending on your territory, e.g. Amazon.ca, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc.)
  2. Never trust random e-mails promising free gifts and expensive gadgets for fake, low shipping costs.
  3. Never call any phone numbers or follow links from suspicious e-mails or web pages that are not Amazon's official website.
  4. Never enter your credit card information in any forms that appear on pages that are not Amazon.com or the respective domain of your territory.

Those four simple rules can almost completely eliminate the risk that your credentials or credit card information will get phished out and your account emptied by a criminal on the other end of the globe.

October 9, 2020

Leave a Reply