您是否正在考虑从亚马逊购买网络摄像头?三思而后行

许多用户在家中安装网络摄像头,以感到更安全或照顾孩子。但是,最近的发现是由哪个? (位于英国的消费者协会 )透露,在亚马逊上出售的许多网络摄像头可能存在诸如弱密码之类的缺陷,可能使用户及其隐私受到威胁。这似乎是一个可靠的卖方,并且成千上万的正面评论并不一定保证所提供的产品将安全使用。如果您想知道哪些网络摄像头可能危害您的安全以及如何危害您的安全,我们邀请您阅读我们的完整博客文章。如果您发现购买的网络摄像头可能存在严重的安全漏洞怎么办?如果您正在考虑的话,则不必将其丢弃。相反,我们建议使用本文提供的提示。

多少个网络摄像头可能有缺陷?

哪一个?报告称,他们经过测试的六个摄像头存在安全问题,可能会使用户的安全及其家庭网络设备面临风险。经过测试的网络摄像头具有以下标题: Victure 1080pVstarcam C7837WIP ,即Geek 1080pElite SecurityAccfly Camhi APP户外安全摄像头1080PSricam 720p 。所有这些相机都获得了数千条好评,并被推荐为亚马逊的选择。进一步的研究表明, 仅在英国 ,已发现的漏洞就可能影响约5万台相机,而在全球范围内,则将影响近200万台。

网络摄像头缺陷如何使您的家庭网络设备面临风险?

发现的缺陷之一是无法加密通过Internet发送的数据,例如用户可能需要提交的Wi-Fi登录凭据才能设置网络摄像头。您的Wi-Fi密码可能使黑客能够访问您的家庭网络。结果,他们不仅可以控制您的网络摄像头,而且还可以控制连接到家庭网络的所有其他设备。

此外,一些经过测试的网络摄像头具有默认的弱密码。只花了一点点在线研究,消费者协会的专家就能够找到登录凭据,使他们能够连接到购买的Vstarcam C7837WIP摄像机。当然,用安全密码替换默认的弱密码将消除此缺陷。问题在于某些用户保留默认密码是因为他们担心忘记密码或因为他们不知道密码的危险性。

另据报道,某些相机存在安全问题,可能使攻击者获得对此类设备的完全访问权限。例如,黑客可能能够通过被入侵的相机进行间谍。最糟糕的部分是,某个特定客户在2019年5月写给亚马逊的评论中提到了此缺陷,但制造商没有采取任何措施加以修复,该产品仍在销售中。

如果您的网络摄像头存在安全问题,该怎么办?

如果您拥有经过测试的网络摄像头之一,但有缺陷并且不想让您的隐私或其他家庭网络设备受到威胁,我们建议立即采取所列的安全预防措施。

更改您的摄像头密码

无论您使用的是弱密码还是默认组合,将其替换为强密码都是明智的。另外,为安全起见,您可能需要更改Wi-Fi密码以及连接到同一网络的其他设备的弱密码。您可能已经听说,网络安全专家建议同时使用大小写字母,符号和数字创建密码。另外,建议至少使用10至12个字符,并且不包括任何容易猜到的短语或单词,包括您的姓名或生日。这样的建议可能会让您想知道任何人如何能够为他们的所有帐户创建如此长的密码并记住它们。

事实是,不再需要自己生成或存储密码,因为有专用的密码管理器可以为您执行此操作。如果您感兴趣并希望尝试使用这种工具,我们可以提供Cyclonis Password Manager ,它不仅免费,而且易于使用。它的密码生成器可以创建复杂和随机的组合。根据您要为在线平台/网站还是程序/设备创建密码,Cyclonis允许在“ 网站”部分或“ 私人注释”中保存密码。您也不必担心登录凭据的安全性,因为应用程序将它们存储在由主密码保护的加密保管库中。如果将所有密码存储在Cyclonis上,则主密码将是唯一需要记住的密码。有关此密码管理器的更多信息,请继续阅读此处

返回最近购买的摄像头

如果您担心新购买的相机可能存在安全问题,并且认为更改弱密码不足以确保安全,则应尝试退款。无论是在网上还是在商店购买,卖方都可以允许您退还并退还您的钱。但是,请记住,退货期限可能会因购买商品的位置而异,因此,如果您完全确定要退回网络摄像头,最好不要浪费任何时间。如果您是很久以前购买的相机,无法再退回,则应查明是否可以将其视为有故障并退回。哪一个?提供什么,可有缺陷的产品进行一个完整的指南在这里

从私人区域删除存在安全问题的网络摄像头

万一您无法退回一台可能使您的家庭网络设备处于危险之中的相机,并且在更改其弱密码后仍想使用它,则至少应从孩子的房间,卧室或任何其他私人区域中拿起相机。网络安全专家表示,使用此类摄像头监视您的车道或其他非私人场所是最安全的。当然,如果您仍然对可能存在安全问题的相机不满意,也许是时候关闭它们了。但是,您不必将它们扔掉。即使发现问题的研究人员与制造商联系后,他们都没有采取任何措施来消除已发现的缺陷,但将来仍有可能这样做。因此,如果您有足够的空间来存储不需要的相机,则可以等待更长的时间,看看设备的制造商是否发布了任何安全更新。

总之,在购买网络摄像头之类的产品之前,务必先进行研究。例如,发现有缺陷的设备是由中国鲜为人知的开发商开发的。消费者协会了解到,他们的相机是批量生产的,几乎没有或完全没有质量控制。因此,如果您珍视自己的隐私,则应购买来自关心其产品质量的知名开发商的产品。如前所述,即使成千上万的良好用户评论也无法保证产品将安全使用。相反,我们建议从负面的用户评论开始,因为它们可以帮助您发现大多数用户忽略或尚未注意到的缺陷。

December 9, 2019

发表评论

Are You Thinking About Purchasing a Webcam from Amazon? Think Twice

Many users install webcams in their homes to feel safer or to watch over their kids. However, recent discoveries by Which? (Consumer’s Association based in the United Kingdom) have revealed that many webcams sold on Amazon might have flaws like weak passwords that could put users and their privacy at risk. It would seem a reliable seller, and thousands of positive reviews do not necessarily guarantee that the offered products will be safe to use. If you want to know which webcams might endanger your security and how they could do so, we invite you to read our full blog post. What if you find that your purchased web camera could have serious security flaws? You do not have to throw it out if that was what you were thinking. Instead, we recommend using the tips provided in this article.

How many webcams might have flaws?

Which? reports that six of their tested webcams had security issues that could put a user’s safety and his home network devices at risk. The tested webcams had the following titles: Victure 1080p, Vstarcam C7837WIP, ieGeek 1080p, Elite Security, Accfly Camhi APP Outdoor Security Camera 1080P, and Sricam 720p. All of these cameras had thousands of good reviews and were recommended as Amazon’s Choices. Further research revealed that the identified flaws could affect around 50 thousand cameras in the UK alone and nearly 2 million worldwide.

How could webcam flaws put your home network devices at risk?

One of the discovered flaws was the inability to encrypt data sent over the Internet, such as a user’s Wi-Fi login credentials that he might need to submit to set up a webcam. Your Wi-Fi password could allow hackers to gain access to your home network. As a result, they could take control not only over your web camera but also all other devices connected to your home network.

Moreover, some of the tested webcams had default weak passwords. It took just a bit of researching online, and the Consumer Association’s specialists were able to find the login credentials that allowed them to connect to their purchased camera called Vstarcam C7837WIP. Of course, replacing the default weak password with a secure passcode would eliminate this flaw. The problem is that some users leave default passwords because they fear they would forget their combination or because they do not understand how dangerous it could be.

It was also reported that some cameras had security issues that could allow attackers to gain full access to such devices. For example, hackers could be able to spy through the hacked camera. The worst part is that a particular customer's review on Amazon that was written back in May 2019 mentioned this flaw, but the manufacturer did nothing to fix it, and the product was left on sale.

What to do if you have a webcam with security issues?

If you have one of the tested webcams that have flaws and do not want to put your privacy or other home network devices at risk, we suggest taking the listed safety precautions right away.

Change your webcam’s password

Whether you were using a weak password or a default combination, it would be smart to replace it with a strong password. Also, as a safety precaution, you might want to change your Wi-Fi passcode as well as weak passwords of other devices connected to the same network. You may have already heard that cybersecurity experts recommend creating passwords from both lower-case and upper-case letters, symbols, and numbers. Plus, it is advisable to use at least 10-12 characters and not include any easily guessable phrases or words, including your name or date of birth. Such recommendations might make you wonder how can anyone be able to create such long passwords for all of their accounts and memorize them too.

The truth is that it is no longer necessary to generate or memorize passwords on your own, as there are dedicated password managers that can do it for you. If you feel intrigued and wish to try such a tool, we can offer Cyclonis Password Manager, which is not only free, but also easy to use. Its Password Generator can create complex and random combinations. Depending on whether you want to create a password for an online platform/website or program/device, Cyclonis allows saving passwords either in the Websites section or in Private Notes. You do not have to worry about the safety of your login credentials either, as the application stores them in an encrypted vault that is guarded by a master password. If you store all of your passwords on Cyclonis, your master password will be the only passcode you need to remember. For more about this password manager, you should continue reading here.

Return a recently purchased webcam

If you worry that your newly purchased camera could have security issues and you do not think that changing its weak password is enough to ensure security, you should try to get a refund. Whether it was bought online or in a store, the seller may allow you to return it and give your money back. However, keep in mind that the returns period could vary depending on where the item was purchased, so it is best not to waste any time if you are entirely sure you wish to return your webcam. If you bought your camera a long time ago and can no longer return it, you should find out whether it could be considered faulty and returned because of it. Which? provides a complete guide on what can be done about a defective product here.

Remove webcams with security issues from private areas

In case you cannot return a camera that could put your home network devices at risk and still want to make use of it after changing its weak password, you should at least take it from your child’s room, your bedroom, or any other private area. Cybersecurity specialists say it is safest to use such cameras to monitor your driveway or other places that are not private. Of course, if you still do not feel comfortable with cameras that could have security issues, perhaps it is time to turn them off. Nevertheless, you do not have to throw them out yet. Even though none of the manufacturers did anything to remove the detected flaws after they were contacted by researchers who discovered them, it is still possible they could do so in the future. Thus, if you have any space to store the unwanted camera, you could wait a bit longer and see if the device’s manufacturer releases any security updates.

To conclude, it is important to research products like webcams before purchasing them. For instance, the devices that were discovered to have flaws were created by little known developers based in China. The Consumer Association learned that their cameras are mass-produced and undergo either little or no quality control at all. Therefore, if you value your privacy, you should purchase products that come from reputable developers that care about their products' quality. As mentioned earlier, even thousands of good user reviews cannot guarantee a product will be safe to use. Instead, we advise starting with negative user reviews as they can help you discover flaws that most users overlooked or have not noticed yet.

December 9, 2019

Leave a Reply