如果您認為面部識別是無敵的,請再想一想

Facial Recognition is not Invinvible

技術進步不是一件好事嗎?幾年前,我們正在觀看詹姆斯邦德的電影,我們驚嘆於聰明的小玩意兒,我們希望有一天我們能夠使用它們。現在,幾十年後,我們可以。例如,我們現在可以通過查看它來訪問存儲在手機上的大量數據。前置攝像頭“向後看”我們,它“識別”我們,它讓我們進入。沒有惱人的PIN碼或密碼妨礙我們的詹姆斯邦德夢想。

不幸的是,事情並不那麼簡單。首先鎖定手機是有充分理由的:它充滿了無價的信息,你不希望看到落入壞人之手。因此,在開始玩Agent 007之前,你必須提出一個非常重要的問題。

面部識別是否足夠安全以保證我的數據安全,或者它只是一個噱頭?

這取決於你問誰。當Apple向iPhone X發布Face ID時,用戶甚至專家開始懷疑引入該技術的原因。對於許多人來說,似乎蘋果公司只是試圖取悅其粉絲和股東,因為他們在競爭中領先一步,他們大部分仍然將指紋識別器集成到他們的設備中。

庫比蒂諾的人很快就駁回了這些指控,稱Face ID不僅僅是一個營銷手段。他們聲稱,面對ID的概率是1,000,000分之一,相比之下Touch ID(Apple的指紋識別技術)分別為1萬分之一。換句話說,Apple大膽宣稱通過引入Face ID,它們實際上使用戶更加安全。

人們喜歡Apple的Face ID功能,Android製造商別無選擇,只能嘗試在他們的設備中引入面部識別功能。然而,與蘋果不同的是,他們將指紋識別器作為一種選擇,他們也避免聲稱用你的臉解鎖Android設備是最安全的選擇。這有很好的理由。

Android設備上的面部識別功能可以打敗

上個月,福布斯撰稿人托馬斯布魯斯特撰寫了他所進行的一項實驗。他購買了一系列智能手機(iPhone X,LG G7 ThinQ,三星Note 8,三星S9和OnePlus 6),他用自己的臉設置了所有人的面部識別,然後他打電話給他英國3D打印公司。 96台數碼單反相機生成了布魯斯特先生臉部的精確3D模型,該模型被轉換為由石膏製成的3D打印頭。

他嘗試用它解鎖所有的手機,雖然他不得不玩一些照明和其中一些設置,所有Android設備最終讓他進入。

最近,荷蘭消費者協會在其國際合作夥伴的幫助下進行了一項更簡單的實驗。這次共測試了110部智能手機(最近的iPhone中有9部以及一系列Android設備)。然而,他們沒有經歷3D打印頭的麻煩,而是使用了高質量的人像照片。 結果 (荷蘭語鏈接)很有趣。來自阿爾卡特,華碩,黑莓,HTC,華為,聯想,LG,摩托羅拉,諾基亞,三星,索尼和小米等製造商的42款手機很容易上當受騙。六個設備,包括來自托馬斯布魯斯特測試的LG G7 thinQ,確實把這張照片誤認為是一個真正的人類,但荷蘭專家說他們有一個“更嚴格”的設置,表現更好. 在這兩個實驗中,iPhone都保持牢固鎖定。

結果非常清楚:如果您有Android設備,您應該知道您提供的面部識別可能不如您想像的那麼安全。

你有多擔心?

托馬斯布魯斯特指出,他頭部的掃描和3D打印花費了他300英鎊(約合380美元),這似乎並不是很多。然後,他又在一個特別準備的房間裡自願掃描了他的臉,然後他靜止不動,直到技術完成了它的工作。在沒有他們知道的情況下獲得別人臉部的精確3D模型可能會相當昂貴。

照片足以愚弄某些智能手機的面部識別這一事實讓人感到非常不安。然而,即使在這種情況下,我們也在談論一個積極主動的攻擊者。

如果您認為可能存在針對您的高度激勵的攻擊者,那麼您最好完全放棄生物識別身份驗證選項。即使您使用指紋解鎖手機(在Android的情況下,這似乎是一個更安全的選項),一個足夠複雜的犯罪分子可以復制它們而不會有太多麻煩。對於高價值目標,堅持使用舊密碼是最佳選擇。

然而,對於大多數普通用戶來說,威脅並不是那麼高。即使是更簡單的攻擊也需要資源,如果支出不是很大,那麼這些資源很容易使它們在經濟上不可行。您可能不太可能成為攻擊者命中列表的頂部,但您完全有權知道風險。值得慶幸的是,製造商非常友好地向您透露它們。

Android製造商知道他們的面部識別技術遠非完美

Thomas Brewster和荷蘭消費者協會都指出,他們測試的大部分Android手機都顯示警告,稱面部識別系統不一定是最安全的身份驗證選項。該發言人稍後重申,該文件表示,為了更好的安全性,用戶應依賴指紋認證或密碼,PIN碼或模式。用他們自己的話說,這個系統遠沒有達到應有的水平。

鑑於這一切,有一個問題不斷湧現:如果技術不是很好,為什麼要提供呢?

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 9是什麼?

If You Think Facial Recognition Is Invincible, Think Again

Facial Recognition is not Invinvible

Isn't technological progress a brilliant thing? Some years ago, we were watching James Bond movies, we were marveling at the clever gadgetry, and we were hoping that we'll get to use them one day. And now, a few short decades later, we can. We can, for example, now get access to tons of data stored on our phones just by looking at it. The front facing camera "looks back" at us, it "recognizes" us, and it lets us in. No annoying PIN codes or passwords to get in the way of living our James Bond dreams.

Unfortunately, things aren't as simple as that. There's a good reason for locking your phone in the first place: it's full of priceless information that you don't want to see falling into the wrong hands. Hence, before you start playing Agent 007, you have to ask a very important question.

Is facial recognition secure enough to keep my data safe, or is it just a gimmick?

It depends on who you ask. When Apple revealed Face ID with the iPhone X, users and even experts started doubting the reasons for the introduction of the technology. For many, it seemed like Apple is just trying to please its fans and shareholders by appearing one step ahead of the competition who were, for the most part, still integrating fingerprint readers into their devices.

Cupertino's people were quick to dismiss these allegations, saying that Face ID is a lot more than a marketing trick. They claimed that the probability of beating Face ID is 1 in 1,000,000 compared to 1 in 50,000 for Touch ID (Apple's fingerprint reading technology). In other words, Apple boldly claimed that by introducing Face ID, they are actually making users more secure.

People liked Apple's Face ID functionality, and Android manufacturers had no other choice but to try and introduce facial recognition in their devices as well. Unlike Apple, however, they left the fingerprint reader as an option, and they also refrained themselves from claiming that unlocking an Android device with your face is the most secure option. There's a very good reason for this.

Facial recognition on Android devices can be beaten

Last month, Forbes contributor Thomas Brewster wrote about an experiment he conducted. He bought a collection of smartphones (an iPhone X, an LG G7 ThinQ, a Samsung Note 8, a Samsung S9, and a OnePlus 6), he set up facial recognition on all of them with his own face, and he then phoned a UK 3D printing company. 96 DSLR cameras produced an accurate 3D model of Mr. Brewster's face which was converted into a 3D printed head made out of gypsum.

He tried unlocking all the phones with it, and although he had to play around with the lighting and the settings on some of them, all Android devices eventually let him in.

More recently, the Dutch Consumer Association, with the help of its international partners carried out a simpler experiment. This time, a total of 110 smartphones were tested (9 of the most recent iPhones as well as a range of Android devices). Instead of going through the trouble of 3D printing a head, however, they used a high-quality portrait photograph. The results (link in Dutch) are interesting. A total of 42 phones from manufacturers like Alcatel, Asus, BlackBerry, HTC, Huawei, Lenovo, LG, Motorola, Nokia, Samsung, Sony, and Xiaomi were fooled pretty easily. Six devices, including the LG G7 thinQ from Thomas Brewster's test, did mistake the photo for a real human, but the Dutch experts said that they had a "stricter" setting which performed better. In both experiments, the iPhones remained securely locked.

The upshot is pretty clear: if you have an Android device, you should probably know that the facial recognition you've been offered might not be as secure as you might think.

How worried should you be?

Thomas Brewster noted that the scanning and 3D printing of his head cost him £300 (about $380) which doesn't seem like a whole lot. Then again, he voluntarily had his face scanned in a specially prepared room where he stood still until the technology did its job. Obtaining an accurate 3D model of someone else's face without them knowing would probably be quite a bit more expensive.

The fact that photos are enough to fool the facial recognition of some smartphones is a lot more disconcerting. Even in such a scenario, however, we are talking about a highly motivated attacker.

If you think that there might be a highly motivated attacker targeting you, you're better off ditching the biometric authentication option altogether. Even if you use your fingerprints to unlock your phone (which, in the case of Android, appears to be a much safer option), a sophisticated enough criminal can replicate them without too much hassle. For high-value targets, sticking to the old password is the best option.

For most regular users, however, the threat isn't nearly as high. Even the simpler attacks require resources that could easily render them economically unviable if the payout isn't that great. You might not be very likely to be at the top of the attacker's hit list, but you have every right to know the risks. Thankfully, the manufacturers are kind enough to reveal them to you.

Android manufacturers know that their facial recognition technology is far from perfect

Both Thomas Brewster and the Dutch Consumer Association pointed out that most of the Android phones they tested displayed warnings, saying that the facial recognition system isn't necessarily the most secure authentication option. The text, later reiterated by spokespeople, said that for better security, users should rely on either fingerprint authentication or passwords, PIN codes, or patterns. In their own words, the system is nowhere near as good as it should be.

In light of all this, there is one question that keeps popping up: If the technology isn't that great, why is it offered at all?

By Duran
January 4, 2019
January 4, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 7 + 5 ?