“用Twitter登錄”按鈕:它與Facebook對手的比較如何?

Sign In with Twitter vs. Log In with Facebook

上週,我們談到了“使用Facebook登錄”按鈕。今天,我們想看看使用另一個大型社交網絡 - Twitter上的帳戶登錄網站和應用程序的便利性和潛在後果。我們將看到這兩個選項是如何疊加的,我們將討論一些技術細節,我們還會看到當您使用“使用Twitter登錄”按鈕時會發生什麼情況,哪些情況不會發生。

OpenID和OAuth

使用名為OpenID的開源協議可以選擇使用您的社交媒體帳戶登錄第三方網站和應用程序。有了它,Facebook和Twitter會檢查你是否有他們的帳戶,並且他們“告訴”第三方應用程序你說你是誰。

但這並不是全部。正如我們上周建立的那樣,一些應用程序和網站不滿足於知道您擁有社交媒體帳戶。他們還希望獲得有關您的更多信息,在Twitter的情況下,它可能會在很短的時間內學到很多東西。另一個名為OAuth的協議會詢問您是否允許將此數據移交給第三方應用程序,如果您同意,則會促進轉移。

換句話說,正如協議的名稱所暗示的那樣,OpenID是關於身份識別的,OAuth是關於授權的。 Facebook和Twitter都使用這兩種協議的組合。那有什麼區別呢?

使用Facebook登錄與使用Twitter登錄

使用Facebook,第三方應用可以要求訪問40種不同類別的信息,包括您的姓名,電子郵件地址,朋友列表,照片,帖子,活動等。

看起來Twitter更加開放,第三方應用訪問用戶的帳戶。根據Twitter 自己的文檔 ,有三種權限模型:

  • 只讀 :有了這個,應用程序或網站可以閱讀您的推文,轉發和您的個人資料信息。
  • 讀寫 :除了閱讀您的家庭時間線之外,這組權限還使應用程序能夠代表您發送推文,關注其他用戶,甚至更改您的個人資料信息元素。
  • 讀取,寫入和訪問直接消息 :這可能是最令人震驚的。除了代表您閱讀您的數據和發布推文之外,具有這組權限的應用還可以代表您閱讀發送直接消息。

此外,某些應用和網站可能會要求您提供電子郵件地址。

Facebook和Twitter如何監控不同應用程序的功能?

從理論上講,Facebook有嚴格的政策。如果您是應用程序開發人員,並且希望通過“使用Facebook登錄”按鈕收集用戶的姓名和電子郵件以外的內容,那麼Mark Zuckerberg的人員首先需要在您獲得數據之前查看您的應用程序。然而,在劍橋分析公司的數據挖掘操作期間收集信息的數千萬用戶可以證明,審查過程可能並不像應有的那樣徹底。

Twitter的審查是一個灰色地帶. 他們自己的文檔中沒有太多信息,但我們已經看到人們說有超過100萬用戶的應用程序受到密切監控。有一篇幫助文章說您應該小心使用與您的帳戶相關聯的第三方應用。換句話說,Twitter非常信任用戶的勤奮。

你可以做些什麼來控制應用程序及其權限?

Facebook和Twitter都為用戶提供了一種相對簡單的方式來管理與其個人資料相關的應用和網站。如果你知道在哪裡看,那就是。

Facebook用戶需要打開他們的設置並轉到應用和網站標籤 。在那裡,他們可以看到連接到他們的個人資料的所有應用,他們還可以看到這些應用可以訪問哪些類型的信息。也有一定程度的控制。例如,如果他們不想再與某個網站共享他們的電子郵件,他們就可以撤銷對這一特定信息的訪問權限。當然,他們也可以完全刪除應用程序。

Twitter用戶可以通過“ 設置”和“隱私”菜單中的 應用”選項卡查看和撤消與其帳戶關聯的第三方產品。與Facebook不同,Twitter不允許您刪除特定權限。如果您覺得與某個網站或應用程序共享信息感覺不舒服,可以將其刪除。實際上,您必須刪除它,對於不再使用的應用程序也是如此。

當事情出錯時會發生什麼?

2017年3月,有人設法破解了一個名為Twitter Counter的應用程序,該應用程序顯然擁有對數千名粉絲的許多知名帳戶的讀寫權限。結果, 一波納粹垃圾郵件的推文來自BBC北美,大赦國際,福布斯,歐洲議會等的Twitter推特。

你知道最糟糕的部分是什麼嗎?這是Twitter Counter在幾個月內的第二次黑客攻擊

使用第三方應用從您的社交媒體配置文件共享信息時還存在其他潛在問題。 Twitter和Facebook將交出上述信息,但第三方網站或應用程序需要以某種方式存儲它。在大多數情況下,它的存儲方式和人們對它的訪問級別是未知的。

結論

沒有太多證據表明“使用Twitter登錄”按鈕比“登錄Facebook”更好。便利因素仍然存在。在不花費寶貴時間填寫註冊表的情況下,開始使用服務或網站會更容易。然而,正如我們上週所指出的那樣,填寫此表格可能需要幾秒鐘。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 10是什麼?

The 'Sign In with Twitter' Button: How Does It Compare to Its Facebook Counterpart?

Sign In with Twitter vs. Log In with Facebook

Last week, we talked about the 'Log In with Facebook' button. Today, we'd like to take a look at the convenience and potential consequences of signing in to websites and apps using accounts at another big social network – Twitter. We'll see how the two options stack up, we'll discuss a few technical details, and we'll also see what can and can't happen when you use the 'Sign In with Twitter' button.

OpenID and OAuth

The option of logging into third-party websites and apps with your social media accounts is made possible by an open source protocol called OpenID. With it, Facebook and Twitter check whether you have an account with them, and they "tell" the third-party app that you are who you say you are.

That's not all, though. As we established last week, some apps and websites aren't satisfied with knowing that you have a social media account. They also want access to more information about you, and in the case of Twitter, it could be quite a lot as we'll learn in a minute. Another protocol called OAuth asks you whether you'll allow this data to be handed over to the third-party app, and if you agree, it facilitates the transfer.

In other words, as the names of the protocols would suggest, OpenID is about identification, and OAuth is about authorization. Both Facebook and Twitter use a combination of the two protocols. What's the difference, then?

Signing in with Facebook vs. signing in with Twitter

With Facebook, third-party apps can ask for access to 40 different classes of information, including your name, email address, friends list, photos, posts, events, etc.

Twitter, it seems, is even more open-minded with the access third-party apps get to users' accounts. According to Twitter's own documentation, there are three permission models:

  • Read only: With this, the app or website can read your tweets, retweets, and your profile information.
  • Read and write: In addition to reading your home timeline, this set of permissions gives apps the ability to tweet on your behalf, follow other users, and even change elements of your profile information.
  • Read, write and access Direct Messages: This one is perhaps the most shocking. In addition to reading your data and posting tweets on your behalf, apps with this set of permissions can also read and send direct messages on your behalf.

Additionally, some apps and websites may ask for your email address.

How do Facebook and Twitter monitor what different apps do?

In theory, Facebook has a strict policy. If you're an app developer and you want to collect more than the name and the email of a user through the "Login with Facebook" button, Mark Zuckerberg's people will first need to review your app before you're allowed to get the data. As the tens of millions of users whose information was harvested during Cambridge Analytica's data mining operation can testify, however, the reviewing process might not be as thorough as it should be.

Twitter's scrutiny is a bit of a gray area. There's not much information in their own documentation, though we have seen people saying that apps with over 1 million users are monitored closely. There's a Help article saying that you should be careful with the third-party apps connected to your account. In other words, Twitter is putting a lot of trust in the users' diligence.

What can you do to control the apps and their permissions?

Both Facebook and Twitter provide users with a relatively easy way of managing the apps and websites connected to their profiles. If you know where to look, that is.

Facebook users need to open their settings and go to the Apps and Websites tab. In there, they can see all the apps connected to their profiles, and they can also see what sort of information these apps can access. There is a certain level of control as well. If they no longer want to share their email with a certain website, for example, they can revoke access to this particular piece of information. They can, of course, remove the app altogether as well.

Twitter users can view and revoke the third-party products connected to their accounts through the Apps tab in the Settings and Privacy menu. Unlike Facebook, Twitter doesn't allow you to remove specific permissions. If you don't feel comfortable sharing information with a certain website or app, you can remove it. In fact, you must remove it, and the same goes for apps you no longer use.

What happens when things go wrong?

In March 2017, someone managed to hack an application called Twitter Counter which apparently had Read and Write permissions on a number of prominent accounts with thousands of followers. As a result, a wave of Nazi spam tweets came out of the Twitter feeds of BBC North America, Amnesty International, Forbes, The European Parliament, and many more.

And you know what the worst part is? This was Twitter Counter's second hack in the span of a few months.

There are other potential problems with sharing the information from your social media profile with a third-party app. Twitter and Facebook will hand over the said information, but the third-party website or app needs to store it in some way. The way it's stored and the level of access people have to it is unknown in most cases.

Conclusion

There's not much evidence to suggest that the "Sign In with Twitter" button is any better than its "Log in With Facebook" counterpart. The convenience factor still stands. It is easier to start using a service or a website without spending precious minutes filling out a registration form. As we noted last week, however, filling out this form could take seconds.

April 26, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 4 ?