流媒体智能电视设备中发现的安全漏洞

如今,越来越多的人不再使用传统的电视,而是转向各种流媒体解决方案,这些解决方案可以提供更广泛的内容,而无需让电缆专家进入您的房屋。那些各种类型的流硬件有时被称为“流盒”。直到最近才发现一个这样的流媒体盒包含一个严重的漏洞,该漏洞使黑客能够对您的数据进行很多不良处理。

有问题的流媒体盒是Hindotech HK1,它是一种运行在Android上的媒体流媒体设备,可让您在电视机上观看在线视频和流媒体服务,例如YouTube和Netflix或Twitch。该设备还允许安装Android应用程序,因此您可以在大屏幕上从中访问各种社交媒体。

黑客可以获得特权

在国家漏洞数据库(National Vulnerability Database)运营的通用漏洞评分系统计算器上,硬件的关键问题被评为9.3(满分10)。如此之高的原因是,流传输盒中的安全漏洞允许在根级别执行任意代码。这或多或少等于完全控制设备。

通过root访问和任意代码执行,不良行为者可以窃取Wi-Fi密码,消息,社交网络帐户令牌,位置数据和联系人列表。

不良行为者首先获得root特权的原因是访问控制的问题。没有特权的本地用户可以升级到root用户。当通过其串行端口进行连接或使用Android Debug Bridge(即使是普通用户)进行连接时,设备也会遇到调试功能方面的问题。

错误的参与者可以在无需输入任何登录凭据的情况下访问shell,然后可以将其特权提升为root。

一旦获得根访问权限,一切都将成为可能。可获得有关设备常规用户的任何数据,以及嗅探同一网络上其他已连接设备的能力。

制造商无回应

Hindotech HK1由深圳Hindo Technology Co.,Ltd制造,该公司是在香港以外地区经营的实体。来自Sick.Codes的研究人员发现了流媒体盒的安全性问题,但他们尝试就此问题与制造商联系的尝试失败。在撰写本文时,该公司的官方网站仍在其所有页面上返回内部服务器错误500。硬件问题仍未解决。

这既不是家庭设备安全问题的第一个案例,也不是最后一个案例。过去,我们涉及过很多设备存在严重安全问题的情况,从诸如流设置之类的复杂问题到诸如智能插件之类的简单对象。那些过去的情况应该提醒人们,在购买任何可以连接到Internet的设备之前,总是要多做一些研究。

October 16, 2020

发表评论

Security Loophole Discovered in Media Streaming Smart TV Devices

Nowadays an increasing number of people are moving away from conventional television and are switching to various streaming solutions that deliver an even wider variety of content without the need to let the cable guy in your house. Those various types of streaming hardware are sometimes referred to as "stream boxes". One such streaming box has only recently been discovered to contain a critical flaw that allows hackers to do a lot of bad things with your data.

The streaming box in question is the Hindotech HK1 - a media streaming device that runs on Android and lets you watch online videos and streaming services like YouTube and Netflix or Twitch on your television set. The device also allows the installation of Android apps so you can access various social media from it, on the big screen.

Hackers Can Gain Elevated Privileges

The critical issue with the hardware has been rated at 9.3 out of a maximum 10 on the Common Vulnerability Scoring System Calculator operated by the National Vulnerability Database. The reason for this high rating is the fact that the security loophole in the streaming box allows for the execution of arbitrary code, at root level. This is more or less equal to full control over the device.

With root access and arbitrary code execution, bad actors can steal Wi-Fi passwords, messages, social network account tokens, location data and contact lists.

The reason the bad actors can get root privileges in the first place is an issue with access control. A local user without privileges can escalate to root. The device suffers from an issue with debugging functions when connection is made through its serial port or when using an Android Debug Bridge, even as a regular user.

A bad actor can gain access to the shell without entering any sort of login credentials and can then escalate their privileges to root.

Once root access is obtained, nothing is off limits. Any data about the regular user of the device is available, as well as the ability to sniff other connected devices on the same network.

No Response from the Manufacturer

The Hindotech HK1 is manufactured by the Shenzhen Hindo Technology Co.,Ltd - an entity operating out of the Hong Kong area. The researchers from Sick.Codes who discovered the security issue with the streaming box failed in their attempts to contact the manufacturer about the issue. The company's official website is still returning an Internal Server Error 500 on all of its pages at the time of this writing. The issue with the hardware remains unaddressed.

This is neither the first nor the last case of security issues with home devices. In the past we have covered multiple cases of devices with serious security issues, ranging from something as complex as a streaming setup to objects as simple as a smart plug. Those past cases should serve as a reminder to always do that extra bit of research before buying any device that can connect to the Internet.

October 16, 2020

Leave a Reply