新发现的Lte漏洞使假冒移动设备及其所有者成为可能

如今,IT安全专家和研究人员的主要作用不仅在于制定针对现有威胁和攻击的对策,还在于发现基本IT系统中的弱点,并采取措施防止不良行为者利用上述漏洞。这正是波鸿鲁尔大学和阿布扎比纽约大学的研究人员最近对IMP4GT所做的工作。

这种攻击方法被称为IMP4GT(4G网络中的模拟攻击),是由IT安全专家设计的,用于模拟4G和5G移动网络上的移动设备。
本质上,IMP4GT是“中间人”类型的攻击,其中,攻击者将自己注入作为移动设备基站之间的中间链接,并在与基地人员通话时继续模拟移动设备。站,反之亦然。

IMP4GT以LTE网络为目标,利用其与连接的移动设备进行通信和验证的方式利用漏洞。从事该项目的研究人员找到了一种模拟移动设备的方法,这种方法使他们只能以有限的能力注册他人的名字或在进行非法活动时冒充他人。

幸运的是,即使攻击者将自己置于受害者和移动网络之间,他们仍然无法自由支配受害者的设备。举例来说,无法进入受害者的Gmail,因为他们仍然需要以正常方式访问该服务。
鲁尔大学波鸿分校系统安全性主席David Rupprecht保证,以这种方式可以可靠地提取的数据并非微不足道,但不可能完全损害受害者的安全和隐私。

此外,由于这是一个可能同时影响4G和5G网络的漏洞,因此也存在在较新形式的网络上进行IMP4GT攻击的可能性。

好消息

IMP4GT和其他类似攻击不会在不久的将来(如果有的话)威胁到公众。从事该项目的安全研究人员发现了该漏洞,并且已经采取措施防止该漏洞成为攻击的载体。但是,即使在4G的当前状态下,也很难进行这种攻击。攻击者需要具有非常强大的专业设备才能做到这一点-包括软件和硬件工具。此外,他们需要与他们想模拟的设备非常接近,以劫持该连接。所有这些都远远超出了大多数网络犯罪分子的能力,即使他们倾向于使用这种攻击。但是,与此同时,仍然可能假冒高价值目标。

March 31, 2020

A Newly Discovered LTE Vulnerability Makes It Possible to Impersonate Mobile Devices and Their Owners

Onе of the key roles of IT security specialists and researchers nowadays is not only to develop countermeasures to existing threats and attacks but to discover weaknesses in essential IT systems and to take measures to prevent bad actors from exploiting said vulnerabilities. This is exactly what the researchers from the Ruhr Universität Bochum and New York University Abu Dhabi have done recently with IMP4GT.

Dubbed IMP4GT (Impersonation Attacks in 4G Networks), this method of attack was devised by IT security specialists as a way to impersonate mobile devices on 4G and 5G mobile networks.
In its essence, IMP4GT is a “man-in-the-middle” type of attack, in which the attacker injects themselves as the middle link between the base station the mobile device, and proceeds to impersonates the mobile device when talking to the base station and vise versa.

IMP4GT targets LTE networks, exploiting a vulnerability in the way that they communicate with and authenticate mobile devices connected to them. Researchers who worked on the project found a way to impersonate a mobile device, which gave them a limited ability to, for instance, register for services in someone else’s name or impersonate someone else when carrying out illegal activities.

Fortunately, even if an attacker were to interpose themselves between their victim and the mobile network, they still wouldn’t have free reign over the victim’s device. The couldn’t, for instance, just break into the victim’s Gmail, because they’d still need to access the service in the normal manner.

David Rupprecht, Ruhr-Uni­ver­si­ty Bo­chum Chair for Sys­tems Se­cu­ri­ty assures that the data one could reliably extract in this manner is not negligible, but is unlikely to compromise the victim’s security and privacy completely.

Additionally, since this is a vulnerability that can affect both 4G and 5G networks, the potential of IMP4GT attacks carried out on the newer form of network also exists.

The Good News

IMP4GT and other similar attacks are not something that will likely threaten the general public any time soon, if ever. The security researchers that worked on the project discovered the vulnerability, and already steps have been taken to prevent it from becoming a vector of attack. However, even in 4G’s current state, this type of attack is very difficult to carry out. The attacker would need to have very powerful and specialized equipment to do so - and this includes both software and hardware tools. Additionally, they would need to be in close proximity to the device they wish to impersonate in order to hijack the connection. All of these are well beyond the means of most cyber-criminals, even if they had the inclination to use this sort of attack. However, the possibility of high-value targets being impersonated in the meantime is still out there.

March 31, 2020

Leave a Reply