注意:計劃人員使用您的LinkedIn聯繫人的帳戶向您發送網絡釣魚消息

您可能已經知道,您永遠都不應與來自未知發件人的消息進行交互,但是當聯繫人中的某人向您發送鏈接或文件並要求查看時,您會怎麼做?如果您想安全起見,最好花一點時間考慮一下您是否希望收到此類內容,以及發件人發送該內容是否正常。否則,您可能最終會打開惡意文件或訪問網絡釣魚網站。儘管您的聯繫人都不想讓您處於這種情況,但故意地,那些可能會入侵您朋友或同事的帳戶的網絡罪犯肯定會希望這樣做。如您所見,網絡安全專家收到了有關LinkedIn上網絡釣魚消息的通知,該消息是由與目標受害者關係密切的用戶的被黑帳戶發送的。如果您還沒有聽說過此類消息,歡迎您閱讀我們的完整博客文章,並了解有關此LinkedIn騙局的更多信息。

LinkedIn騙局如何運作?

裸體安全研究人員是第一個檢查LinkedIn騙局消息中的一個的人,他們的同事通知了他們。在查看之後,專家們確認該消息是由網絡犯罪分子發送的,該網絡犯罪分子冒充了被盜帳戶的所有者。文本很友好,但簡短,因為發件人只是解釋說他正在發送通過OneDrive共享的文檔。

附件鏈接的URL地址以www.businessinsight開頭,這可能會使該鏈接看起來應該鏈接到合法網站。因此,如果在LinkedIn上收到此類網絡釣魚消息的用戶沒有進一步檢查,則可能看不到任何可疑的消息。畢竟,此類消息似乎來自朋友,同事或其他人,目標用戶可能經常與之聯繫,從而使LinkedIn上的網絡釣魚消息顯得正常。

但是,對該鏈接進行的進一步檢查顯示,該鏈接不是進入business-insight.net而是一個釣魚網站。由於發送的鏈接的URL地址的最後一部分是/ office365 ,因此專家懷疑黑客的站點可能已加載Microsoft Office365登錄頁面的副本。研究人員不能百分百地確定它,因為該鏈接在測試期間被阻止,並且他們看到的只是頁面未找到錯誤。但是,我們懷疑這是網絡犯罪分子最後一次騙取LinkedIn用戶的嘗試,因此,如果您在此平台上擁有帳戶,我們建議格外小心。

如何保護自己免受LinkedIn詐騙和攻擊的侵害?

報告LinkedIn騙局的人未與LinkedIn上收到的網絡釣魚郵件進行交互的原因是,他注意到了一些不尋常的現象。沒有語法錯誤或任何其他常規跡象可以表明該郵件來自欺詐者。但是,與黑客模仿的人不同,他在簽名文本時使用了該人的全名。這種正式的簽名方式引起了人們的懷疑,目標受害者決定對其進行檢查。

如果您不想被欺騙打開通過LinkedIn或任何其他平台接收到的惡意鏈接或文件,則應始終注意即使是最小的細節。如果您收到期望從某個聯繫人獲取的文件或鏈接,則應該很安全。但是,如果您收到的郵件內容無處不在,則可能要通過電話或其他郵件系統與發件人聯繫,並詢問他是否寫了可疑郵件。

此外,如果收到可疑的文件或鏈接,則可以採取更多預防措施。如果是文件,我們強烈建議您使用合法的反惡意軟件工具對其進行掃描,然後再打開它。如果您的懷疑得到證實,則所選的反惡意軟件工具應可幫助您擺脫潛在的危險數據。至於附加鏈接,您應該始終仔細查看其URL地址。網絡釣魚網站通常包含合法網頁URL地址的一部分,以使它們看起來無害。

儘管如此,您不應檢查站點是否可靠,而應檢查整個鏈接並查找可能沒有意義的隨機部分。應該特別注意鏈接的最後一部分,因為它顯示了將您重定向到的位置。更準確地說,網絡釣魚鏈接的開頭可能包含信譽良好的公司名稱,但是其URL地址的最後一部分可能表明,該鏈接指向的網頁與所提及的公司名稱無關。

網絡罪犯如何竊取LinkedIn帳戶?

與其他任何帳戶一樣,如果您使用弱密碼或被洩露的密碼,您的LinkedIn個人資料可能會被黑。當前,強密碼是至少10-12個字符的組合,包括大寫和小寫字母,數字和符號。同樣,安全密碼必須唯一。這意味著同一組合不能用於多個帳戶。如果您的帳戶密碼不符合這些要求,則可能很弱。

洩露密碼怎麼辦?通常,此標題用於可能在例如數據洩露期間公開的密碼。密碼僅在一個平台或網站上公開都沒有關係。使用相同密碼的任何其他帳戶都有風險。因此,一旦密碼被洩露,它就會被洩露。擁有違反憑據的網絡罪犯可以在多個網站和平台上搜索使用相同登錄名和密碼的帳戶。違反密碼的情況也經常在黑暗的網絡上出售,因此,您被盜用的憑據可能比您想像的要快得多。

如何保護您的LinkedIn帳戶?

不希望將其帳戶濫用於LinkedIn騙局或類似攻擊的用戶應首先確保他們使用的複雜密碼沒有受到破壞。換句話說,您應該設置一個從未使用過的唯一密碼。如果您擔心自己會忘記一個複雜的密碼並且不想進行密碼恢復過程,建議您使用專用的密碼管理器。

例如, Cyclonis Password Manager可以生成最多32個字符的唯一密碼,並為您記住所有密碼。如果您選擇,我們的應用程序甚至可以自動將您登錄到您的帳戶,以使其更易於訪問。您也不必擔心登錄憑據的安全,因為該工具會將它們存儲在加密的保管庫中。此外,它還提供了額外的安全預防措施,例如“ 兩因素認證”和“ 自動註銷” 。我們是否提到過它是免費的並且可以在WindowsMacAndroidiOS上運行 ?您可以在此處了解有關它提供的功能的更多信息。

除了為您的LinkedIn帳戶創建強大的密碼外,我們還建議您啟用“雙重身份驗證”。這樣,知道您的登錄憑據將不再足以破解您的帳戶,因為額外的安全層將對其進行保護。 LinkedIn提供了兩種身份驗證選項供您選擇,如果在激活此功能時需要任何幫助,則應遵循此處提供的說明。

像LinkedIn騙局這樣的攻擊提醒我們,必須一眼看似無害的內容,我們必須格外小心。同樣,諸如此類的情況證明,黑客不一定需要對您的個人信息感興趣。該LinkedIn騙局背後的人利用被黑客入侵的帳戶以不會引起懷疑的方式接近受害者。我們的意思是說, 懶惰的密碼習慣沒有很好的藉口,如果您想安全上網,則應該認真對待密碼安全性。

December 6, 2019

發表評論

Attention: Schemers Use the Accounts of Your LinkedIn Contacts to Send You Phishing Messages

You probably already know that you should never interact with messages that come from unknown senders, but what do you do when someone from your contacts sends you a link or a file and asks to view it? If you want to be safe, it is best to take a moment to consider whether you were expecting to receive such content and if it is normal for the sender to send it. Otherwise, you may end up opening malicious files or visiting phishing websites. While none of your contacts might want to put you in such a situation, on purpose, cybercriminals who might hack your friends’ or colleagues’ accounts most certainly would want that. As you see, cybersecurity specialists were notified about a phishing message on LinkedIn that was sent from a hacked account of a user who was close to the targeted victim. If you have not heard about such messages yet, we invite you to read our full blog post and learn more about this LinkedIn scam.

How does this LinkedIn scam work?

The first ones to examine one of the LinkedIn scam’s messages were Naked Security researchers who were notified about it by their colleague. After having a look at it, specialists confirmed that the message was sent by a cybercriminal who was impersonating the hacked account’s owner. The text was friendly but short as the sender simply explained that he was sending a document shared via OneDrive.

The attached link’s URL address started with www.businessinsight, which might make it look like the link ought to lead to a legitimate website. Thus, if a user, who receives such a phishing message on LinkedIn, does not inspect it further, he might not see anything suspicious about it. After all, such messages appear to be coming from friends, colleagues, or other people that the targeted user might be in contact with often enough to make the phishing message on LinkedIn seem normal.

However, further inspection of the link revealed that it leads not into business-insight.net, but a phishing website. Since the last part of the sent link’s URL address was /office365, specialists suspect that the hackers’ site may have loaded a copy of the Microsoft Office365 login page. Researchers cannot be one hundred percent sure about it because the link was blocked during tests, and all they saw was the page not found error. Nonetheless, we doubt that this was the last cybercriminals' attempt to scam LinkedIn users, which is why we recommend being extra careful if you have an account on this platform.

How to protect yourself from LinkedIn scams and attacks alike?

The reason why the person who reported the LinkedIn scam did not interact with the received phishing message on LinkedIn is that he noticed something unusual. There were no grammar mistakes or any other usual signs that could indicate the message comes from scammers. Nevertheless, unlike the person the hacker was impersonating, he used the person’s full name when signing the text. Such a formal way of signing a message raised suspicion, and the targeted victim decided to have it examined.

If you do not want to be tricked into opening malicious links or files received via LinkedIn or any other platform, you should always pay attention to even the smallest details. If you received a file or a link that you were expecting to get from one of your contacts, you should be safe. However, if you receive a message with such content out of nowhere, you may want to contact the sender via phone or some other messaging system and ask whether he did write the suspicious message.

Moreover, there are more precautions you can and should take if you receive questionable files or links. In case it is a file, we highly recommend scanning it with a legitimate antimalware tool before opening it. If your suspicions are confirmed, the chosen antimalware tool should help you get rid of potentially dangerous data. As for attached links, you should always have a closer look at their URL address. Phishing websites often contain parts of legitimate web pages’ URL addresses to make them look harmless.

Still, instead of assuming the site is reliable, you should inspect the entire link and look for random parts that might make no sense. Particular attention should go to the link’s last part as it shows where you will be redirected to. To be more precise, a phishing link might contain a reputable company’s name at the start, but the last part of its URL address may reveal that it leads to a web page that has nothing to do with the mentioned company’s name.

How can cybercriminals hack LinkedIn accounts?

Same as any other account, your LinkedIn profile could be hacked if you are using a weak or a compromised password. Currently, a strong passcode is a combination of at least 10-12 characters that include both upper-case and lower-case letters, numbers, and symbols. Also, a secure password has to be unique. It means that the same combination cannot be used for multiple accounts. If your account’s password does not correspond to these requirements, it might be weak.

What about compromised passwords? Typically, this title is given to passcodes that might have been exposed, for example, during a data breach. It does not matter if a password got exposed only on one platform or a website. Any other account that uses the same password is at risk. Thus, once a password gets breached, it becomes compromised. Cybercriminals in possession of breached credentials could search for accounts that use the same login names and passcodes across multiple websites and platforms. Breached passwords are often sold on the dark web too, so your compromised credentials could be put to use faster than you think.

How to secure your LinkedIn account?

Users who do not want their accounts to be misused for the LinkedIn scam or similar attacks should firstly make sure that they are using a complex password that has not been compromised. In other words, you should set up a unique passcode that you have not used ever before. If you fear you might forget a complex password and do not want to go through the password recovery process, we recommend employing a dedicated password manager.

For example, Cyclonis Password Manager can generate unique passcodes from up to 32 characters and remember all of them for you. If you choose, our application can even log you into your accounts automatically to make it easier to access them. You do not have to worry about your login credentials’ safety either as the tool stores them in an encrypted vault. Plus, it offers extra safety precautions like Two-Factor Authentication and automatic logout. Have we mentioned yet that it is free and works on Windows, Mac, Android, and iOS? You can learn more about the features it offers here.

Besides creating a strong passcode for your LinkedIn account, we also advise turning on Two-Factor Authentication. This way, knowing your login credentials will no longer be enough to hack your account as the extra security layer will protect it. LinkedIn has a couple of authentication options to choose from, and if you need any help while activating this feature, you should follow the instructions provided here.

Attacks like the LinkedIn scam remind us how careful we have to be with content that may look harmless at a glance. Also, cases such as this prove that hackers do not necessarily need to be interested in your personal information. The ones behind this LinkedIn scam employed hacked accounts to approach their victims in a way that would not raise suspicion. What we mean to say is that there is no good excuse for lazy password habits, and if you want to be safe online, you should take password security seriously.

December 6, 2019

Leave a Reply