Schemers Send Fake 'Temporary Password' and 'One-Time Password' IRS Emails

您是否還在紙上提交納稅申報表?如果您與時俱進,則很有可能您已經轉變為在線進行此操作。在這種情況下,您必須已經創建了一個IRS(美國國稅局)帳戶,並且您可能已經通過電子郵件與IRS中的某人聯繫。 -很方便。很快它不需要您離開家。 -不幸的是,有時我們必須為便利而付費,在這種情況下,我們要付出虛擬安全性的代價。雖然大多數使用在線IRS服務的人永遠不會陷入麻煩,但有些人可能會被IRS騙局束縛。不幸的是,策劃者甚至可能欺騙那些通常不在線處理稅務相關問題的人。幸運的是,有多種方法可以保護自己,如果繼續閱讀,您將了解IRS欺詐的跡象。

從IRS接收電子郵件是不正常的

您是否知道IRS通常不會通過電子郵件與納稅人進行通訊?實際上,您自己需要啟動通信,並且IRS不會突然發送消息。按照IRS隱私指導關於電子郵件聯繫的準則,該機構不啟動,未經同意的電子郵件聯絡。這意味著,如果您尚未通過irs.gov註冊在線服務,則代理商將永遠不會向您發送任何消息。實際上,他們建議將所有未經請求的消息報告給phishing@irs.gov 。美國國稅局還警告說,通過電子郵件發送私人和敏感信息可能很危險,因為沒人能保證不會被惡意第三方非法截獲消息。這是合理的建議,您應該始終記住它。無論您是向銀行,保險公司還是您最喜歡的在線供應商的支持團隊發送消息,都絕對不要洩露敏感信息或個人身份信息。關於IRS,該機構建議使用實際郵件將此類信息傳遞給他們。

“臨時密碼”和“一次性密碼” IRS騙局

虛擬計劃者不在乎您是否擁有irs.gov帳戶。他們累積活動的電子郵件地址(可以在數據洩露或使用網絡釣魚騙局進行記錄的情況下進行記錄),然後將相同的通用電子郵件發送給所有人。這裡的希望是至少使目標的一小部分相信他們收到的消息是真實的。有各種各樣的IRS騙局,但最新的騙局似乎是使用偽造的“臨時密碼”“一次性密碼”文件來處理的 。該消息表明收件人有資格獲得退稅,並且他們可以使用消息中包含的臨時密碼或一次性密碼來請求有關退稅的信息。騙局消息還包含指向頁面的鏈接,該頁面據稱提供了電子退貨或稅收帳戶。當然,要獲得訪問權限,必須輸入偽造的密碼,並且如果受害者打開了應該包含該密碼的文件,則他們將暴露給惡意軟件文件。

國稅局騙局的跡象

由於存在各種IRS騙局,因此並非所有騙局都起作用或外觀相同. 有些用於收集個人信息,而另一些用於使毫無戒心的受害者受到惡意感染。話雖如此,儘管存在差異,但是如果您想避免被騙,則需要仔細研究一些事情。

  • 國稅局突然發給您電子郵件。正如我們已經討論的那樣,這不會發生,因此您應該忽略所有未經請求的消息。更好的是,將其報告給phishing@irs.gov。
  • 電子郵件域不真實。如果您收到的電子郵件不是從@ irs.gov發送的,則可以確定該郵件是由其他人發送的。最有可能是懷有惡意的人。
  • 您收到的電子郵件指示您單擊鏈接,單擊按鈕或打開附件。除非您可以確認消息是真實的,否則與鏈接/按鈕/附件進行交互可能會打開安全後門,遠程攻擊者可以通過這些後門執行惡意軟件,並誘騙您訪問欺詐網站或洩露敏感信息。
  • 該電子郵件要求您標識自己或公開個人信息。美國國稅局(IRS)已經有了此信息,如果他們在您先向他們發送消息後與您聯繫,他們將不會要求它。
  • 電子郵件中包含語法錯誤 ,如果真正的IRS與您聯繫,則不會發生。話雖這麼說,也不要落入語法上的騙局消息!

如何避免國稅局詐騙?

您可能無法避免IRS詐騙,因為您不是控制向您發送消息的人。但是,通過妥善保管您的電子郵件帳戶,可以最大程度地減少接收欺詐郵件的機會。如果左右共享地址,則可以吸引各種計劃者,而不僅僅是IRS騙局背後的計劃者。因此,最好創建幾個不同的電子郵件帳戶。其中之一可能專門用於“嚴重業務”,這意味著您可以將其鏈接到IRS,保險和在線銀行帳戶。您使用的另一個電子郵件帳戶可能專用於社交網絡和在線購物。當然,您需要保護您使用的所有電子郵件帳戶,但是您必須格外謹慎,因為該電子郵件地址可能會鏈接到更敏感的帳戶。

最後,您需要使用頭部。您已經知道需要注意哪些IRS欺詐跡象,並且如果您保持謹慎,我們相信您不會被欺騙。萬一您被騙了,您需要做兩件事。首先,請下載可靠的反惡意軟件工具,以檢查操作系統中是否存在惡意軟件。 一次性密碼/臨時密碼 IRS騙局的受害者可能通過打開偽造文檔而執行了惡意軟件。其次,您需要更改IRS密碼並保護您的虛擬身份。我們建議您使用免費的Cyclonis Password Manager,以幫助您創建和保護IRS密碼或任何其他由於惡意欺詐而可能受到影響的密碼。

September 20, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 3是什麼?

Schemers Send Fake 'Temporary Password' and 'One-Time Password' IRS Emails

Do you still submit your tax return forms on paper? If you are up with the times, it is most likely that you have already shifted to doing that online. If that is the case, you must have created an IRS (Internal Revenue Service) account, and you might have already corresponded with someone from IRS via email. - It's convenient. It's quick. It does not require you to get out of your home. - Unfortunately, sometimes, we have to pay for convenience, and, in this case, we pay the price of virtual security. While most people using online IRS services will never get themselves into trouble, some could get roped in by IRS scams. Unfortunately, schemers could even trick those who do not usually deal with tax-related issues online. Luckily, there are ways to protect yourself, and if you continue reading, you will learn about the signs of IRS scams.

Receiving emails from IRS is not normal

Did you know that the IRS does not normally communicate with taxpayers via email? In fact, you yourself need to initiate the communication, and IRS does not send messages out of the blue. According to the IRS Privacy Guidance About Email Contact guidelines, the agency does NOT initiate email contact without consent. That means that if you have not signed up for online services via irs.gov, the agency will NEVER send you any messages. In fact, they suggest reporting all unsolicited messages to phishing@irs.gov. IRS also warns that sending private and sensitive information via email can be dangerous because no one can guarantee that messages would not be intercepted illegally by malicious third parties. This is sound advice, and you should remember it always. Whether you are sending a message to your bank, your insurance agency, or a support team of your favorite online vendor, you should NEVER reveal sensitive or personally-identifiable information. When it comes to the IRS, the agency suggests using physical mail to pass on such information to them.

'Temporary Password' and 'One-Time Password' IRS Scams

Virtual schemers do not care whether or not you have an irs.gov account. They accumulate active email addresses – which can be recorded during data breaches or using phishing scams – and then send the same generic email message to all of them. The hope here is to get at least a small portion of the targets to believe that the message they have received is authentic. There are all kinds of IRS scams, but the latest one appears to approach people with a fake 'temporary password' or 'one-time password' file. The message suggests that the recipient is eligible for a tax refund and that they can request information about it using a temporary password or a one-time password that is included in the message. The scam message also contains a link to a page that, allegedly, presents the electronic return or tax account. To gain access, of course, the bogus password must be entered, and if the victim opens the file that should contain this password, they are exposed to a malware file.

Signs of IRS scams

Since there are all kinds of IRS scams, not all of them work or look the same. Some are used to gather personal information, while others are used to expose unsuspecting victims to malicious infections. That being said, while differences exist, there are some things that you need to look at more closely if you want to avoid getting scammed.

  • IRS emailed you out of the blue. As we discussed already, that is not something that would happen, and so you should ignore all unsolicited messages. Better yet, report them to phishing@irs.gov.
  • The email domain is not authentic. If the email you received was not sent from @irs.gov, you can be sure that the message was sent by someone else. Most likely, someone with malicious intentions.
  • The email you received instructs you to click a link, click a button, or open an attached file. Unless you can confirm that the message is authentic, interacting with links/buttons/attachments could open security backdoors, via which remote attackers could execute malware as well as trick you into visiting scam websites or disclosing sensitive information.
  • The email message asks to identify yourself or expose personal information. IRS already has this info, and if they are contacting you after you sent them a message first, they will not request it.
  • The email message contains grammatical mistakes, which, of course, would NOT happen if you were contacted by the real IRS. That being said, do not fall for grammatically-sound scam messages either!

How to avoid IRS scams?

It might be impossible for you to avoid IRS scams, since you are not the one controlling who sends you messages. However, you can minimize the chances of receiving scam messages by taking good care of your email account. If you share your address left and right, you could attract all kinds of schemers, not just the ones behind IRS scams. Due to this, it might be best to create several different email accounts. One of them could be dedicated to “serious business,” which means that you could link it to IRS, insurance, online banking accounts. The other email account you use could be dedicated to social networking and online shopping. Of course, you need to protect all of the email accounts you use, but you have to be extra cautious about the email address that might be linked to more sensitive accounts.

Finally, you need to use your head. You already know what signs of IRS scams you need to look out for, and if you are cautious, we are sure that you will not get tricked. In case you have been fooled already, you need to do two things. First and foremost, download a reliable anti-malware tool to inspect your operating system for malware. The victims of the one-time password/temporary password IRS scam could have executed malware by opening a fake document. Second, you need to change your IRS password and secure your virtual identity. We recommend employing the free Cyclonis Password Manager to help you create and protect your IRS password, or any other password that could have been affected due to a vicious scam.

September 20, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 7 ?